We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The hotel is the oldest hotel in Srilanka and boasts of its glorious past.It's located in a high security area being close to the port and near the president's residence. We booked the hotel through an agent at the airport, of course in expectation of more business in from of srilanka tour, which we eventually obliged. I'd strongly recommend the agent 'Zahran' of Lanka tours at the colombo airport. We got the hotel much cheaper (USD 50) than what we would have had to pay directly. (about $65) The entrance and reception areas are good, The rooms are slightly musty with a tinge of smell. The bugffet breakfast is great.
The dining area upstairs has bar offers a good view of the harbour, but photography is not allowed.
all in all your experience would largely depends on how much you've paid for it. anything below USD 70 is VFM.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galvanizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 394 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

I was mislead with the name " Grand Oriental Hotel ". The only thing which is convincing is te location other than nothing is worth your penny. Reception service was pathetic. They promised free internet while booking online but once i reached there they said some technical error in free service so use other internet service which cost around US $6 per hour.

The room, the furnitures, the A/C, TV etc were at worst condition. Everything were broken. Seperate hot water for each room so if you need hot water, you need to wake up early and switch on the heater.

They say it is a 3 star hotel but it is worst than a ordinary road side motel or lodge.

I would never recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The reception staff were very unfriendly and they recycle the food, we had food poisoning very badly, my colleague is from India and regularly eats street food, even his system could not stand up this VERY DANGEROUS TRIAL!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Grand old structure, right next to the docks. Needs a bit of livening up though. Once barracks, it's rooms though cozy still retain acertain dinginess.
Great breakfast spread.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Old hotel built in the 1920;s with 4 poster beds but has not be maintained well. I was on the 3rd floor and during the night I heard what I think was rat in the roof space. When complained to the hotel desk I was asked if the rat had come to see me when I said it had not they said that is good then

The breakfast is very standard but kettles are not provided would not go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelfinderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 km away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 54 in Colombo
329 reviews
5.4 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#27 of 54 in Colombo
263 reviews
8.0 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#20 of 54 in Colombo
252 reviews
8.2 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#26 of 54 in Colombo
153 reviews
6.9 km away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Address: 2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: RM203 - RM335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic building at the heart of Colombo, located overlooking the busy harbor; gifted with history, it is where comfort blends with affordability for the most discerning traveler. This fine piece of architecture speaks of the country's colonial times and with a spectacular view of Colombo Harbour. The splendidly decorated 80 rooms are fully air-conditioned while Anton Chekhov and Joze Rizal, are the luxury suites overlooking the Colombo harbor, offering a fantastic view for their guests. It is more than just a hotel. It is home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oriental Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing