We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I usually stay at the Cinnamon Lakeside however they are refurbishing so I came here as an exception. I have been to this hotel often on business dinners with customers.
To criticize this hotel would mean you would be sitting on a very high perch and I am not  so I won’t
Still, it is not my kind of hotel, it is simply too busy and too big. The lobby of the hotel is simply throbbing in the evening, I really don’t know where they all come from but it is really unnerving. I came back from a very long business day and looked for a quiet place to sit down, relax and drink a cold beer, it wasn’t possible. Everywhere was packed meaning back to room and a warm beer from the mini bar.
In future back the Cinnamon lakeside for me.
To the hotel, there is nothing to complain about.
The rooms are good
Internet very good
Breakfast very good
Pool great
Value for money great
There is a shopping mall adjacent to the hotel where you can get all the things you need.
Sorry Cinnamon Grand……. But not for me

Room Tip: at the top of the Hotel as far away from the Lobby in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review. We are sorry to note that you are just not a fan of the Grand however; we quite understand that you prefer the Lakeside and we are fine with that.

Thank you for your compliments though, on our rooms and facilities as well as on our location and food offerings and we wish you a pleasant stay at the refurbished Cinnamon Lakeside on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,664 of 3,803 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

Outstanding lobby, great interior, Chutney Restaurant is over the top ! The bar open in the lobby with a local "Frank Sinatra" singing amazingly ! But.... Despite all this I spent the night in a smelly room : humidity, carpet, strong smell which stick on the clothes, etc...
Was exhausted and didn't had energy to "fight" for better but for sure I will not sleep again in the room which are not at the level of a 5 stars.The second night, air freshner had been put, it was better, but too late... i left the room at 2 am.

I want to mention also the great buffet for the breakfast which was perfect.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Mayiaukuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Thank you for choosing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo for your stay. However, I regret to read that your stay in the hotel has not been typical of guests’ experiences.

Whilst we are pleased to note your compliments on our lobby, restaurants and food offerings, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced with your room. Upon reviewing the situation, we are taking steps to ensure that there will be no repetition of the same.

We deeply value your relationship with Cinnamon Grand and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service. As such, we hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We book this hotel through booking.com..in the hotel we had a early check inn..the room was specious and in room toilet the bath tub is big.. There are different type of restaurant.. The pool is cool.. The staff are friendly and they welcome us with a big smile

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Abdulla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Thank you for your kind review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are glad you liked your room, amenities, and appreciate your kind words of praise; and look forward to welcome you to yet another enjoyable stay at the Grand.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

i had my doubts about the place but was very pleasantly surprised how nice, comfortable and clean everything was. My room had a great view and I enjoyed the live band at night and the nice range of breakfast foods (international and local) offered. Staff are nice and friendly. Location is very central. Walkable to Galle Green.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singaporeaneats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disappointed with your choice. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to your continued patronage to enjoy more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Best business hotel, the stay is really nice, excellent staff and good ambiance....I stay here regularly for business and the executive floor is great for stay, quick check in and check out.....The rooms are quite and comfy.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Thank you for your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted to note that you are a loyal patron and also that you enjoy your stays with us. We are glad you find the Executive Floor rooms comfortable and convenient and appreciate your kind comments. We trust you will continue to stay with us during your visits to Sri Lanka, to experience more of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.2 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.4 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#11 of 54 in Colombo
2,117 reviews
0.5 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,260 reviews
2.4 km away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: RM621 - RM823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing