We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$221
US$137
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Basileus Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$512
US$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osmanhan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Pera Suite Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$483
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
952
380
51
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
380
51
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restauranthagia sophiagrand bazaarblue mosquepanoramic viewperfect locationold citybasilica cisterngolden horntop floorwithin walking distancecorner roomfantastic hotelspice marketmain attractionsstreet noisemajor sites
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It is besides the Basilica cistern, only 50 m from (Santa) Hagia Sophia and the tram stop, and 100 m from the Blue Mosque.
You can walk from the hotel to most touristic attractions in the old Istanbul.
Its panorama terrace offers great views all over the Golden Horn and its surroundings. From this point of view, much better than Hotel Crowne just beside.
The hotel has been renovated recently. Crowne aside, the most modern hotel in the area.
Free wi-fi, but you have to reconnect whenever you return to your room.
The breakfast buffet offers more than enough to keep you active over the day.
The rooms and bathrooms are quite small, and the walls are paper thin, this meaning you will hear your neighbors.
Staff are just average, not extremely helpful (maybe because of their limited English skills).
They do not offer shuttle or "private" transport to the airport, only the hotel car, at prices higher than other alternatives. Beware if you book a taxi through the reception, as the taxi driver may misbehave and try to overcharge you (as happened to us on the way to the airport).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We spent 3 days in Istanbul before a cruise and one day upon our return 12 days later. We booked the Adamar based on Tripadvisor reviews and were pleased that it was even better than we expected. Took advantage of the airport pickup that is complementary with a 3-night stay. Ataturk Airport has one of the best arrangements I have seen for being met by a driver; the driver was stationed with probably a hundred other drivers behind a cordon directly outside the baggage collection area, but with a good-sized sign bearing our name, he was easy to spot immediately. The drive to the hotel in early evening rush-hour traffic took about an hour. Check-in was quick, and assistance with any sort of tourist request was offered. We'd been traveling for 16 hours, so all we wanted to do was have dinner and get to bed, but first we went up to the roof to take in the view. Unbelievable! It's everything other reviewers have said and more! As one of the tallest buildings in the Sultanahmet section, the Adamar roof terrace has a 360 degree view...Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, New Mosque, Suleymaniye Mosque, Sea of Marmara, Bosphorus, Golden Horn, the "new" city, the cruise port, and more. Typically each night we would start with drinks and mezes on the roof terrace and then move to the restaurant one floor down for dinner, where we found an excellent menu, great presentation, and equally magnificant view. I have several pesky food issues, including gluten intolerance. Our server went to great lengths to ensure that my issues would be accommodated, and took care to see that my husband would love his meal as well. I especially enjoyed the lamb skewer with eggplant ganoush. Food allergies can be hard to manage when traveling abroad, so it was a great relief to find a server and chef so knowledgeable. Consequently, we ate at the Adamar every morning and all but one evening, and found this attention to detail to be the case regardless of who served us. The Turkish wines recommended by the servers were always excellent. Loved the tiny star-like lights in the deep blue ceiling after dark, and the light show on the Bosphorus bridge. The major tourist sites are beautifully spotlighted for a magical evening tableau. And, oh yes, about our room (#501)... It may have been the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in but was more than adequate: bright-hued Euro-modern decor with a comfy queen-size bed, free wi-fi, mini-fridge, safe, and a great bathroom with good bath amenities (as with all European hotels, if you want a washcloth, you need to bring your own). The drawer space was minimal but the closet was ample. We found the operation of the AC unit rather tricky but eventually got the hang of it. The -01 room on each floor is the smallest, -02 has a little more space, but we were fine where we were. The complementary breakfast in the dining room was superb: fresh and dried fruits, cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, spreads, juices, coffee, tea. Kudos to Selda who kept our cups full and encouraged us to try new and interesting Turkish delicacies each morning. Absolutely everything you want to see on the historic side of the city is within easy walking distance, including the Yerebatan Cistern, Hippodrome, Sirkeci Train Station, Grand Bazaar and Egyptian/Spice Bazaar. One block down at the bottom of the hill you can catch the tram (buy your token for 2 TL at the machine on the platform for each one-way trip) to go virtually anywhere. We took it a couple of times but walked almost everywhere, including over the Galata Bridge to the new city, where we also took the funicular for 2 TL up to the Galata Tower and Istiklal Street, and then took the other funicular down to the Kabatas stop and walked back along the Bosphorus. FYI, the Dolmahbace Palace is just beyond the Kabatas stop. We also used the city bus from the central bus stop near the Spice Market to go to the Chora Church and walked back through historic neighborhoods along the city walls, and along the Golden Horn. The hotel clerk would be happy to book tours for guests, but we found the city very easy to tour on our own with guide books and map in hand. Many street signs are missing, but residents are quick to offer help. The location of the Adamar really cannot be beat, but the best thing was the exceptional customer service attitude of the staff. From the desk personnel to the dining room staff to the housekeeping staff, there was no limit to how far they would go to satisfy our needs.
Because our return flight was at 6:30 a.m. on the day following the return of the cruise ship, we had booked for the last night in Istanbul at an airport hotel. Would have preferred to stay in the city at the Adamar but the flight was just too darn early to be that far from the airport. We thought we had an all-day tour for the day of our return, but during the cruise we learned via email that those plans had fallen through. The ship's concierge communicated with the Adamar to arrange to make the hotel our base for the last day in the city. The hotel stored our luggage while we finished up our touring, let us use the lobby computer to do our airline check-in, reserved a table at their restaurant for dinner, and arranged transportation to the airport at a very reasonable price. They did all that because they "remembered" us from our initial 3 day stay. In our opinion, they went way beyond what would normally be done for people who were not staying the night.
I just can't say enough about what a terrific experience we had at the Adamar. If you are going to be in Istanbul,do yourself a favor and stay there!

Room Tip: They are all good, but the -01 rooms are a little smaller than the others. Ask the bellman to explain the operation of the AC remote control unit. The high floors have very little street noise, but the early morning call to prayer is impossible to sleep through no matter where you are!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel in fantastic position, near all the places to visit. Rooftop terrace is a must, we spent hours up there just takimg in the atmosphere and the view. Food is very good as well. Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms lovely, clean and spacious (we had 3 people in a room and it was ample). Plenty of restaurants to walk to nearby - and felt very safe. One of the best hotels I have stayed in for the money!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_TravelBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

had a super time hotel was great room was wonderful and staffwere super!
right in the middle of everything . Easy to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: front rooms where great perhaps abit more noise
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehoeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We were in Istanbul on our own before joining a tour. We had picked the Adamar because of the good communication with the manager, great location and price. Transportation was provided from the airport with a three night stay and it was good and on time. One of the rooms I booked was small but much like large cities over the world. I would highly recommend the hotel. I used recommendations from Tripadvisor and was certainly not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the 02 or o3 rooms....they are larger.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews