We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Hotel, nice people”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #65 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights at adamar and we loved the service, the location, the people, and the room. people in the hotel are so helpful, generous in giving information.
the location of the hotel was excellent close to Aya Sophia and the tram, so it was so convient. the prices are very good. and it is very clean. for sure we will go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
There are newer reviews for Adamar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 570 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

It is besides the Basilica cistern, only 50 m from (Santa) Hagia Sophia and the tram stop, and 100 m from the Blue Mosque.
You can walk from the hotel to most touristic attractions in the old Istanbul.
Its panorama terrace offers great views all over the Golden Horn and its surroundings. From this point of view, much better than Hotel Crowne just beside.
The hotel has been renovated recently. Crowne aside, the most modern hotel in the area.
Free wi-fi, but you have to reconnect whenever you return to your room.
The breakfast buffet offers more than enough to keep you active over the day.
The rooms and bathrooms are quite small, and the walls are paper thin, this meaning you will hear your neighbors.
Staff are just average, not extremely helpful (maybe because of their limited English skills).
They do not offer shuttle or "private" transport to the airport, only the hotel car, at prices higher than other alternatives. Beware if you book a taxi through the reception, as the taxi driver may misbehave and try to overcharge you (as happened to us on the way to the airport).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We spent 3 days in Istanbul before a cruise and one day upon our return 12 days later. We booked the Adamar based on Tripadvisor reviews and were pleased that it was even better than we expected. Took advantage of the airport pickup that is complementary with a 3-night stay. Ataturk Airport has one of the best arrangements I have seen for being met by a driver; the driver was stationed with probably a hundred other drivers behind a cordon directly outside the baggage collection area, but with a good-sized sign bearing our name, he was easy to spot immediately. The drive to the hotel in early evening rush-hour traffic took about an hour. Check-in was quick, and assistance with any sort of tourist request was offered. We'd been traveling for 16 hours, so all we wanted to do was have dinner and get to bed, but first we went up to the roof to take in the view. Unbelievable! It's everything other reviewers have said and more! As one of the tallest buildings in the Sultanahmet section, the Adamar roof terrace has a 360 degree view...Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, New Mosque, Suleymaniye Mosque, Sea of Marmara, Bosphorus, Golden Horn, the "new" city, the cruise port, and more. Typically each night we would start with drinks and mezes on the roof terrace and then move to the restaurant one floor down for dinner, where we found an excellent menu, great presentation, and equally magnificant view. I have several pesky food issues, including gluten intolerance. Our server went to great lengths to ensure that my issues would be accommodated, and took care to see that my husband would love his meal as well. I especially enjoyed the lamb skewer with eggplant ganoush. Food allergies can be hard to manage when traveling abroad, so it was a great relief to find a server and chef so knowledgeable. Consequently, we ate at the Adamar every morning and all but one evening, and found this attention to detail to be the case regardless of who served us. The Turkish wines recommended by the servers were always excellent. Loved the tiny star-like lights in the deep blue ceiling after dark, and the light show on the Bosphorus bridge. The major tourist sites are beautifully spotlighted for a magical evening tableau. And, oh yes, about our room (#501)... It may have been the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in but was more than adequate: bright-hued Euro-modern decor with a comfy queen-size bed, free wi-fi, mini-fridge, safe, and a great bathroom with good bath amenities (as with all European hotels, if you want a washcloth, you need to bring your own). The drawer space was minimal but the closet was ample. We found the operation of the AC unit rather tricky but eventually got the hang of it. The -01 room on each floor is the smallest, -02 has a little more space, but we were fine where we were. The complementary breakfast in the dining room was superb: fresh and dried fruits, cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, spreads, juices, coffee, tea. Kudos to Selda who kept our cups full and encouraged us to try new and interesting Turkish delicacies each morning. Absolutely everything you want to see on the historic side of the city is within easy walking distance, including the Yerebatan Cistern, Hippodrome, Sirkeci Train Station, Grand Bazaar and Egyptian/Spice Bazaar. One block down at the bottom of the hill you can catch the tram (buy your token for 2 TL at the machine on the platform for each one-way trip) to go virtually anywhere. We took it a couple of times but walked almost everywhere, including over the Galata Bridge to the new city, where we also took the funicular for 2 TL up to the Galata Tower and Istiklal Street, and then took the other funicular down to the Kabatas stop and walked back along the Bosphorus. FYI, the Dolmahbace Palace is just beyond the Kabatas stop. We also used the city bus from the central bus stop near the Spice Market to go to the Chora Church and walked back through historic neighborhoods along the city walls, and along the Golden Horn. The hotel clerk would be happy to book tours for guests, but we found the city very easy to tour on our own with guide books and map in hand. Many street signs are missing, but residents are quick to offer help. The location of the Adamar really cannot be beat, but the best thing was the exceptional customer service attitude of the staff. From the desk personnel to the dining room staff to the housekeeping staff, there was no limit to how far they would go to satisfy our needs.
Because our return flight was at 6:30 a.m. on the day following the return of the cruise ship, we had booked for the last night in Istanbul at an airport hotel. Would have preferred to stay in the city at the Adamar but the flight was just too darn early to be that far from the airport. We thought we had an all-day tour for the day of our return, but during the cruise we learned via email that those plans had fallen through. The ship's concierge communicated with the Adamar to arrange to make the hotel our base for the last day in the city. The hotel stored our luggage while we finished up our touring, let us use the lobby computer to do our airline check-in, reserved a table at their restaurant for dinner, and arranged transportation to the airport at a very reasonable price. They did all that because they "remembered" us from our initial 3 day stay. In our opinion, they went way beyond what would normally be done for people who were not staying the night.
I just can't say enough about what a terrific experience we had at the Adamar. If you are going to be in Istanbul,do yourself a favor and stay there!

Room Tip: They are all good, but the -01 rooms are a little smaller than the others. Ask the bellman to expla...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel in fantastic position, near all the places to visit. Rooftop terrace is a must, we spent hours up there just takimg in the atmosphere and the view. Food is very good as well. Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms lovely, clean and spacious (we had 3 people in a room and it was ample). Plenty of restaurants to walk to nearby - and felt very safe. One of the best hotels I have stayed in for the money!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_TravelBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

had a super time hotel was great room was wonderful and staffwere super!
right in the middle of everything . Easy to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: front rooms where great perhaps abit more noise
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehoeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#75 of 1,161 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#51 of 1,161 in Istanbul
984 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#25 of 1,161 in Istanbul
303 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,530 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#105 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: RM240 - RM415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing