We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but falls just a little short of the mark!!”
Review of Erten Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erten Konak
Ranked #258 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Our Istanbul experience was a positive one so the hotel did not impede on our holiday in any way and there were little quirks we enjoyed and appreciated but if I was to give a balanced view I would say the hotel fell just a little short of our expectation which is a shame as I think it could be a little gem.

While the location/hotel exterior may look a little dreary upon arrival, the hotel actually is centrally placed to everything and it is nicely furnished inside especially the higher up the floors you go.
There is no need to catch buses or cabs from the hotel, you can walk to almost all of the major attractions from here and the neighbourhood feels quite safe.
The basic standard rooms appear to be on the bottom floor and they are exceedingly small with a shower cubicle which would definitely not fit all (tiny)!! The bed was quite comfortable and the rooms are spotlessly clean if a bit tired in places.
Again probably because we only had a standard room and we were on the bottom floor, you can hear every movement from the floor above as the floorboards don't just squeak, they screech!! so take some earplugs unless you plan to treat yourself to a more decadent and peaceful room on the higher floors.
This hotel is a family run hotel who don't all speak fluent English (we are in Turkey after all!) so this can be difficult at times but generally depending upon who is on reception they can be courteous and helpful even though things can take a while to be sorted (i.e. a safe that doesn't work). I think because of the language barrier staff responses can appear a little blunt sometimes but we tried to look past it and we did like Ahmed who always had a smile.
The breakfast is a little disappointing, it is served in a charming room but we found it to be quite limited in choice for us, also wifi was non existent in our room but it seemed to be ok everywhere else!!
We booked our hotel transfers through the hotel which was fine, just be mindful to re-confirm the return booking with reception the day before leaving.
Overall not a bad little place, a few little tweaks here and there and a bigger bedroom/breakfast and I would happily return.

Room Tip: Basic standard rooms appear to be on the ground floor which are quite noisy. Upgrade if your budget...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Erten Konak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here with my mother and when we arrived there was a minor issue with the room.. However, the GM of the hotel rectified it straight away and upgraded us to one of their nicer rooms 2 floors up. This was great as we did not need to explain anything, they took care of it straight away. The staff is also very very nice and helpful!! Always smiling and ready to help with anything - whether it be on how to get around to where to find wedding dresses :) A tip would be to renew the flooring as it makes a lot of noise outside the room and from above, which can be disturbing while you sleep. Everything else was very nice and we left with a smile on our faces :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far up as possible to avoid noises from stairs and floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NinaChitnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although our room felt a bit small at first, it had everything we needed and it was very clean. The staff were fun and very helpful. We will recommend to family and friends.

The location is very good but hard to find first time as Google Maps is inaccurate. It's best to ask a local as the hotel is very close to the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina-Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Situated in a quiet street in the middle of sultanahmet. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the room and bathroom was clean. The room however a little bit small and the floors were very creaky but it looked very lovely! Also the breakfast was very okay: enough choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin_vH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is such a delightful place to stay, lovely rooms, view of the Blue mosque roof, under ground exposed flooring where you can see centuries old structures, breadfast food was perfect, and the nuts/almonds on the wee tables on each landing was such a nice touch, the staff were very personable and I would warmly recommend this as great place to stay close to so much and within easy walking distance to eating/transport/shopping.

Room Tip: As there are stairs to some of the rooms, best to ask for a ground floor room if your not keen on a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyprusophielouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#333 of 1,159 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#312 of 1,159 in Istanbul
344 reviews
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#226 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,095 reviews
Sultanahmet
Albatros Premier Hotel
Albatros Premier Hotel
#441 of 1,159 in Istanbul
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erten Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erten Konak

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sk. 8-10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#227 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#229 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: RM139 - RM1,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erten Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erten konak is in istanbul historical peninsula, in sultanahmet akbiyik avenue and on the roman and byzantine wall towers. It is a wooden esidence having split aubergine model, composed of 2 houses. Constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, and registered as 2nd class historical building under protection and composed of main residence building and 1 house with identity of sultanahmet erten konak rooms are decorated with antique articles and objects subject to the cencept, which reflects ottoman and turkish life style in the best manner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Erten Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erten Konak Istanbul
Erten Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing