We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The essance of Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #35 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“The essance of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

From the moment my friends and i stepped into this charming little hotel we felt instantly welcomed. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to ensure that we were able to make the most of our five nights in Istanbul. Nothing was too much trouble and we had many great meals and experiences based on their recommendations. The hotel was perfectly located, just a 5-10 minute walk to all the main attractions as well as resturaunts and markets. Rooms were all beautifully adorned and very clean. Cannot recommend Esans hotel enough, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceci_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    155
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
160
379
77
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I am sure there are many fine places to stay in Istanbul, and the Esans Hotel is certainly one of them. From the moment we walked in without a booking, it was clear that the staff here really look after their guests and give them exceptional help and service. It was a pity we could only stay here for two nights.
We were given a lovely 'superior' room 302 facing south towards the Sea of Mamara and loved every minute of our short stay. The room was beautifully decorated with a quirky style (and wallpaper), and had some lovely personal touches which only an exceptional hotelier would think of. As a newcomer to the Istanbul Hotel scene, the Esans Hotel seems to be making a fantastic effort to impress - the rooms have been carefully and tastefully decorated
The location is pretty good, on the quiet side of Sultanahmet and near the mean sights as well as some fine places to eat, drink and sit around. The hotel is on a quiet corner down the hill from the Ayasofia. Occasionally you can hear the sound of the big ship horns heading into the Straits, and of course the call to prayer, that reminds you where you are, though these should certainly not an obstacle to a wonderful night's sleep.
It is clear that this relative newcomer to the Istanbul Hotel scene are very keen to build a good reputation and all their staff share this vision. being more than helpful when required, and friendly throughout. You will be unlikely to get such personal and kind service in a bigger hotel - this place clearly deserves the fine ratings it receives, and will do everything to make sure that it keeps the fine reputation it seems to have already.
If you appreciate the good things in life, this must represent very good value for money, and I would happily recommend this place to anyone as a base for exploring the Sultanahmet district and beyond.

Room Tip: The superior room 302 is worth the extra few euros, being higher up and benefiting from a bit more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have experienced few hotels in the world where you can truly arrive as a traveler and leave as a friend. But the amazing hotel staff at Hotel Esans helped achieve this within 4 days, and i look forward to our return visit some day. Each of the rooms are beautifully decorated and uniquely scented, meaning we were always comfortable. The location was so convenient. But most importantly, the Hotel staff went to their very ends to ensure we loved every moment in Istanbul - from recommendations on where to eat, to where to enjoy a true Turkish bath. A special thankyou to Mahir - we hope to see you again soon friend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Esans Hotel is a delightfully whimsical and quirky boutique hotel in the heart of Istanbul’s old city, Sultanahmet. We stayed at the hotel for two separate visits during our trip to Turkey. The hotel is ten-minute walk from the main attractions of the area, including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia. The hotel staff is very hospitable and welcoming and is willing to accommodate any need. Every time we entered the Esans we were offered a steaming cup of tea, served in Turkish tulip-shaped glasses. The apple tea is highly recommended. The hotel rooms are each uniquely decorated and named after a theme from Turkish history. Breakfast was a delicious treat with a spread of local fare that included olives, yogurt, salty cheeses, and pastries, as well as typical continental breakfast options. We would highly recommend the Esans for first-time travelers to Turkey and anyone looking for a boutique hotel in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed for 4 nights and the room was ready as soon as I arrived. The room was beautiful and the lobby made you feel like you were at home. The staff were very helpful and friendly and willing to give you as much information about Istanbul as you needed. The location is very good and a short walk from all major attractions. The hotel is family run and makes you feel very welcome and my stay was very enjoyable. The breakfast is made fresh every morning and there is a large selection to choose from and everything tasted lovely. The hotel is in a nice quiet location and you are able to sleep very well without any noise disturbances. Also there is no traffic outside so it is a safe location for walking. I would definately recommend this hotel to other people and will stay here again when I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#20 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): RM113 - RM251
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing