We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
342
67
8
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
67
8
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalata towershared bathroomby footevery morningtriple roomair conditioningno elevatorsmall hotelsultanahmet areahostelneighborhoodsupermarkettaksimferriesbosphorus
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Without falling into the trap to repeat the many very positive reviews of this hotel, I would just like to mention that Lutfi is a excellent host. The hotel is very centrally located in a very hip neighborhood which lots of bars and restaurants. Despite this, nights are quiet. Rooms are clean with a/c and a simple all day breakfast is served in a small common area. Excellent value for money. Some rooms have bathroom in the room others have a shared bathroom. Those with shared bathrooms have no TV (who needs one anyway?)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thung673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Portus house feels like a cosy little place. They have some rooms that are hostel-like (with shared bathroom etc), however we stayed in the normal room w attached bathroom and our stay was perfect. Room was clean and cosy. They have a little pantry area where they serve breakfast and snacks all day and where you can just hang out.

The hotel is located very centrally. We walked Everyday to the other side of the bridge (Sultan Ahmet area + spice markets) and it's a 20 minutes leisurely walk. The view of the Bosphorus is breathtaking so walking there is highly recommended.

The hotel is also close to other 'fun areas' like the Galata Tower and Taksim.

There's a bunch off really hip and cool restaurants and cafe on the same lane as the Portus House so finding food is not an issue.

The Staff at the Portus house were friendly and helpful. We would like to thank Lutfi for being so accommodating to our needs to for being extremely helpful.

We'd highly recommend Portus House and would definitely come back and they here again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank veronicaa3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Superb location with very reasonable prices and excellent, attentive staff. It is a small hotel with high standards, very nicely decorated rooms and immaculately clean. As it has steep stairs and no elevator, like many hotels in Amsterdam, if you have much luggage request a room on the first or second floors. Some rooms have private bathrooms and in some you have to share the bathroom & shower with one other room on the same floor. I chose that option and never had to wait in line. Every morning you are treated to freshly brewed coffee or tea, cornflakes and tasty sandwiches. There is a market acrosss the street and you are welcome to buy eggs, cheese etc.. and make your own breakfast or other meal of the day. An excellent soup vendor, with over a dozen fresh and delicious soups is less than 50 feet away and is open 24/7. All the staff were friendly, cared to make you feel welcome and very efficient. Mr. Lütfi is a delight to meet and made sure my three day stay with my 10 year old son was pleasant. Great area and very close to public transportation and ferries. A wide variety of popular restaurants and hipster clubs in the area and the Modern Art Museum is less that 15 minutes by foot. Highly recommended small hotel that is sure to please and be easy on your wallet. A great find!

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose 1st or 2nd floor if you have much to carry.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindThrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We felt at our home and the housekeeping lady cleaned our rooms everyday. She was always smiling and seems to love her work. The hotel is located very central and easy to reach all sightseeings and public transport. Around the hotel you will find the local restaurants and bars. Friday and Saturday, get ready for street parties till early mornings. The manager is always available even on whatsapp :)) so don't hesitate to contact to him. He is very professional and really knows how to save your time. Grab your free tea&coffee from the 24hours open kitchen and ask for the best advice. When we back to hotel every night, we felt at our home.

Thanks for all, we will be back soon:-)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AllenF1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Each time I visit this hotel I like my stay.
Good service : since my arrival I get all information and help I needed.
location is nice : many pubs and restaurant are around, lively place around hotel.
Excellent place.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gtrotter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews