We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good apartment near blue mosque”
Review of Aura Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aura Apart Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Blue mosque (approx 5 min by foot). I stayed with my girlfriend in a standard double room.
The transportation from airport to hotel was included in the stay cost. (only for the arrival)
The room was very clean, and with all the necessary accessories:
- Satellite TV, with a lot of international channel;
- refrigerator;
- high speed WIFI connection (free);
- safety deposit box.

The only drawback is the presence of a very small wardrobe.

The bathroom was very clean and modern.

The breakfast was adequate,

The personnel was very kind.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was very curious about this apartment because my friends were talking about this apartment and the other one (Ekim Apartment) after their short trip to Istanbul. They said that it is the best apartment ever with great hosts. So, I followed my curiosity and went there for it was my chance to visit Istanbul.

The owner of the apartments, Mr. Saban Olcer is really a great companion and host. His hospitality is really great like my Filipino friends here. Sometimes I watched him while serving the other guests and he looks very happy to fill their contentments. The other staffs are like him, too. They are pleased whenever they see their customers' happy and contented with their service. They are really great, patient, helpful and hospitable to their guests.

The apartment is really awesome. From the floorings to the ceilings, from the interior design to the furnitures---- it is a "whoa" to me. It is the best inspiration for architectures or interior designers like me. (Credits to them. :))

The services, the views etc. are amazing. The train stuff did not affect my overall stay there. I think that train part is one of the things I missed the most including the staffs, the host and the apartment. (Or should I just say, "I missed that place and the host' company?")

If anybody plans or wants to visit Istanbul, I will highly recommend Mr. Olcer's apartments. They are really great and awesome. I'm sure you'll never regret staying there. And I guarantee that you'll miss that place when your stay is over. :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

So I was actually trying to book a room at a partner property, and when I inquired about availability the owner helpfully sent me photos and descriptions of all the rooms available across 3 properties (Ekim, Aura, Turquoise). He was incredibly helpful and flexible with my requests for information. We stayed for a total of 4 nights with Aura Apart.

The apartment building is 10-15 minute walk to the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Arasta Bazaar, Hagia Sofia, and the Sultanahmet tram stop. However, to get to these places you have to walk up a bit of a hill. It's nothing worse than climbing a few flights of stairs (as though you were taking the stairs to the 3rd floor or 4th floor of an apartment building), but if you plan on carrying luggage up the hill (for example, to get to the tram stop) it is a bit of a hike. It is a bit of a working class neighborhood, with small children playing on the side streets and laundry hanging out to dry (I ended up doing the same thing with my own laundry). However, it is also a busy and active neighborhood with tour buses coming through the main street every day and restaurants and shops and other small hotels all over the place. It's an interesting mix. It's like living on a quiet street in a busy neighborhood: everything is conveniently close by without interrupting the calm, residential life.

The owner will arrange for an airport transfer upon request. Although there was a mis-booking with the room I originally requested, the owner was able to put us in another room with a sea view (3rd floor) and a small terrace (with clothesline). It was a bright, sunny room with southern exposure; it was large enough for us and very clean. Soap and shampoo are provided, as are a hot plate, mini fridge, microwave, electric water kettle, and other assorted kitchenware. The owner was kind enough to bring up a second bed for the room and it was actually the most comfortable thing I slept on throughout my entire 12 days in Turkey. If I lived in Istanbul, this would be the kind of efficiency apartment I'd want.

As others have said, there is a train that runs right behind the building and it is very close to a few mosques. The trains and call to prayer happen multiple times daily, but are not constant. I'm a relatively sensitive sleeper and it took me one day to get used to the sounds, but after that I was fine and slept through the night (with the aid of some earplugs).

Breakfast is served every morning on the top floor with a lovely view of the sea. It is a tasty Turkish breakfast served by a lovely, kind, warm and wonderful woman of whom I cannot say enough great things. I believe she is also the person who clean the rooms and she does a fantastic job.

As others have mentioned, it's a spiral staircase to get up and down. The owner is very helpful with getting the luggage up and down the staircase if necessary. He was also very thoughtful and helpful with giving directions and holding our bags in the office in between checkout and flight departure.

Wifi was free and reliable throughout our stay. The small television had tons of channels.

It felt like home away from home, and I would definitely stay again. Just make sure you know how to get back to the hotel as it can be difficult to find in the dark (eventually every restaurant looks like every other restaurant, and every little büfe looks like every other little büfe).

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, tell the owner this information when you book. Specifically ask if h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lngwlksnbdwthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Everything about the place is great, its super clean with great hosts. The 2 down sides were the noise in iur room since we were at the first floor and anyone opening and closing the hotel door was 2 meters away from us. And the other problem was the street connecting to sultan ahmet was a steep uphill and i was with my parents so it was quite tiring for them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the ground floor are very noisynso avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReemNagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our most memorable place in our life..everything was perfect,did not expect a great hospitality with affordable price like Aura apartment. The owners and staff will surely make your stay possible and memorable. From clean Apartment, rooms,breakfast, anything you need inside the room,were great.We'll love to go back soon

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leejandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#786 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#455 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Apart Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Fenerlikapi Sok. No:17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: RM192 - RM673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aura Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Apart Hotel has four storeys with 4 apart rooms, one superior room and two standard rooms. From two apart rooms and the superior room you have the marvelous view of Marmara Sea. The apartments have one sleeping room, a fully equipped kitchen, a living room with satellite TV, a bathroom, which has 24 hour hot water, hair-dryer.You can have your breakfast or a drink on the outside terrace. From here, you can see the magnificent view of the Marmara Sea, the old town and the Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing