We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room and big noise”
Review of Aura Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aura Apart Hotel
Ranked #344 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had reserved a room in a different building but owned by the same owner. He double-booked the one we had reserved, and put us up in this room for three nights. What a disappointment!

Trains, barking dogs, and constant noise of people going up and down the stairs, plus the beeping from the door keypad at the entry and the slamming of the doors meant really not much sleep for three nights. Earplugs and a white noise app did not help.

Yes, there's a peekaboo view of the sea, but the balcony is not really conducive to sitting outside. The room is large and clean enough, but this room was not on par with the one we had reserved. Nor, were we offered a discount for being put in a much lesser quality room. Other reviewers mentioned the breakfast, but we were not offered a breakfast.

Once we were moved to the room in the building we had reserved, it was all good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road, away from the barking dogs and train tracks, and up a few floors, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlissedDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Due to health issues we had to cancel our hotel stay. We called 3 days in advance and were told we would be charged the FULL AMOUNT for 4 nights stay! After trying to reason with them over the phone they COWARDLY never returned the call but rather sent a lousy email and then charged us the 4 nights BEFORE the first nights stay. This place is run by uneducated, arrogant, disrespectful men who ONLY care about money. SHAME on you for having the stomach to do that to traveling tourists. I am going to make sure to write on EVERY possible travel blog, site I can get my hands on. I hope you choke on that money you low piece of crap. UTANIN UTANIN!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank warmswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

i stayed here in a family of four for several nights while visiting Istanbul.
comfortable beds,quick WiFi and very helpful with the airport transfers.
A great base for exploring Istanbul.Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet, tastefully done. We had Rm 201 for 3 nights, my wife and myself. Has a cool little balcony looking out over the ancient wall, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, EXCELLENT breakfast included, with stunning views.

My only complaint has to do with the area rather than the accommodations. It is SO touristy on the Sultanahmet side. Wow, hard to go to a restaurant or cafe that is not mostly occupied with tourists. Having said that, it is centrally located to many of the famous sites and this place is on the edge of the most touristy stuff.

One thing we did that I would recommend is walk to the closest waterfront to the apt, turn left and walk the seaside promenade all the way around to Galata Bridge and over to Karakoy. Looks like a huge walk on the map, but only takes an hour and so interesting.

Be aware there is a train line right below the apts, but they are seriously the quietest trains I have ever heard and not a problem.

Saban is a great host and helpful with airport transfers, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

The location of Aura Apart hotel is very very central, close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.
We had airport pick up included in our stay (only one way).
The hotel is reasonable, looks nothing like a hotel from the outside, more like a house door on a side street of Sultanehmet.The room was very very clean but a bit too small. We had a double bedroom on the ground floor, while booking we thought we were booking an apartment but by mistake it turned out to be a double room only, so be careful while booking. The breakfast room is also very small but the views are majestic across the sea of marmara. Not much to choose from if you're vegetarian. The best thing about the hotel was the location, else we either go for an apartment or a different hotel, never a double room here, specially with a toddler.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#788 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#75 of 1,163 in Istanbul
591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#14 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#453 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Apart Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Fenerlikapi Sok. No:17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: RM193 - RM675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aura Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Apart Hotel has four storeys with 4 apart rooms, one superior room and two standard rooms. From two apart rooms and the superior room you have the marvelous view of Marmara Sea. The apartments have one sleeping room, a fully equipped kitchen, a living room with satellite TV, a bathroom, which has 24 hour hot water, hair-dryer.You can have your breakfast or a drink on the outside terrace. From here, you can see the magnificent view of the Marmara Sea, the old town and the Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing