We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$83
View deal
Booking.com
US$75
View deal
Traveluro
US$67
View deal
PricelineUS$75
TravelocityUS$83
otelz.comUS$98
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveller rating
384
504
200
91
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
504
200
91
97
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 1,276 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I found this a very friendly hotel with the staff bending over backwards to help and provide information. The only downside was I could not get my air conditioning working on the first night, seemingly a problem in the hotel, rather than with me. Hotel has good system of shuttle taxis to the airport. Sultanahmet roads are not tarmac, but cobbles and stones and not so easy for trolley bags. Tram is not far away. I ate in the hotel one evening - much better than expected and the new waiter was helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review about Avicenna Hotel. We do appreciate it!

Our apologies for your first night, but I hope you enjoyed your stay in general.

We will be happy to see you again for your next stay in Istanbul, and please consider Avicenna your second home!

King regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very good service, polite and friendly staff. Guest relation staff was excellent and gave us all the information we needed.The only problem we had was some of the staff (night) did not speak proper English and there was no bins in the bedrooms only a small one in the bathroom, we had to make our own bin.

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAHussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review about our Hotel. And it is my pleasure to be helpful to every single guest staying with us!

Really sorry about the lack of bin in your room, but the one that is in the bathroom is being cleaned every day so we believed this should be enough. But of course, we will consider your both concerns, too.

Looking forward to hosting you again whenever you'll be back to Istanbul and please consider Avicenna your second home!

King Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in this very pleasant & friendly hotel. It is very well situated for the sights on a quiet little street so an oasis to go back to. The staff were all extremely helpful in particular when we had to go to the police station to report my husbands stolen wallet. Umit came with us to translate & was such a support.
All the public areas were very clean & well cared for. We had one meal in the restaurant which was fine & the breakfast was simple but more than adequate.
We booked this hotel through British Airways & would certainly use & recommend this place again.

Room tip: We had a room with a view over the Bosphorus, it was stunning. Imm We had a room with a view of the Bosphorus, stunning.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

Although we did all we could to help you, it was such a pity that your husband got his wollet stolen in the tram.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location both for the historical sites and for a variety of cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel is attractive and well maintained but by far its best feature is the friendliness, helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff who were available to provide an excellent service without being overbearing. We were very pleasantly surprised that despite the close proximity to busy areas the hotel had a calm and tranquil feel. The inner courtyard for breakfast and the roof top terrace and restaurant were both delightful and a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. Highly recommended for location, service and value. We will hopefully be returning soon!!

Room tip: Very happy with our room on the first floor
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 241carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Carol E,

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our Hotel. You made very important points about the location of the hotel and it's quietness. And we are also happy for your comment about the staff, it really motivates us.

Looking forward to hosting you again for your next stay, here in your home in Istanbul!!

King Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We havejust returned from an 8 night stay in Istanbul, at Avicenna Hotel which we booked through British Airways. Our room, was on the ground floor not far from Reception but was not at all noisy. The Reception Staff were helpful and able to assist us with taxi's, directions and information on the local transportation. The Breakfast Room was lovely and cool with access onto a lovely shaded courtyard. Breakfast itself was adequate, fresh coffee and fruit squash, though you could get fresh orange juice for an additional 2 euros. There was fresh fruit, vegetables, cheese and sliced meats,as well as cereals,biscuits & bread. There were usually two hot plates which contained a selection of pastries, hot foods and boiled eggs.

Our room (111) had two beds with bedside cabinets and lamps. A wall mounted flat screen tv, minibar, tea/coffee making facilities. A small ensuite shower room. Unfortunately the wardrobe was very short and I had to hang skirts and maxi dresses on the door as they were too long to go in. We also had 5 hangers (not much for 2 women over 8 nights) .. however I did purchase 10 wooden hangers in the bazaar for 15 TL, and was going to leave them but decided they were really nice so I brought them home.

Our room was cleaned and tidied every day, there was no waste bin so we left any rubbish, empty water bottles etc in a carrier bag hanging from a door handle which were then removed. Our coffee cups didn't get replaced one day, and were left dirty in the room, but this was a very minor issue.

On our final evening we requested a late check-out as our flight wasn't until late afternoon. We were given an additional 2 hours use of the room which allowed us to shower and freshen up before travelling. We then sat in the Reception area waiting for our pre-booked transfer to collect us. When this failed to arrive at the scheduled time we found the Reception and Management staff to be extremely helpful in contacting the company to chase up our transport.

Overall I would most definitely recommend this Hotel. It is perfectly placed for the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and trams. A great selection of shops and restaurants in the immediate area, yet still in a quiet street and i would defintely hope to return at some point.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Jules,

I would like to thank you for the time spent to write this beautiful review about our Hotel and your stay in Istanbul. I am sure it will very helpful to people planning to come here. And we do appreciate it.

Our apologies though for the hangers, wardrobe and coffee cups. I wish to make your stay even better for the next time.

And thank you for the nice photos, too.

We will be happy to host you again for your next stay in Istanbul!

King Regads,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews