We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #100 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August as part of a wedding party, with the wedding dinner hotel held on the roof of the hotel. This is a very popular hotel for locals and travellers from within turkey along with budget travellers from Arab countries. The predominant language of the staff is Turkish and communication may be a problem for English speakers over the room phone, but face to face it isn't much of a challenge.

Located in the sultanahmet area, it is ideal for tourists who want to be near and around the major tourist spots in istanbul without having to worry about traffic. However, sultanahmet is the original golden horn area and is conservative in terms of local population as well as dated in terms of infrastructure. Hotels here are mostly basic, where even the four seasons on this side of the bosphorus doesn't have a pool. But
This is the kind of hotel where they let you eat your breakfast in the morning before casually asking some of you whether you are guests at the hotel just to make sure they don't need to bill you.

Great breakfast on the roof with a view of the blue mosque, comfortable air conditioned basic room. Friendly waiter staff and housekeeping, counter staff was quite inflexible but that was expected because the hotel was completely full. We were in a standard room and our view wasn't great and there wasn't too much privacy using the bathroom that was separated from the room with a thin frosted glass partition. But the price was 55 dollars a night, for which it was fantastic.

The restaurant is pricey when compared to the hotel and does not hold a candle to other better restaurants a short walk away.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaferii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKISTANBUL, Front Office Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

I would like to thank you for choosing Armada Otel based on the reviews of our former guests on TripAdvisor. I also appreciate your kind review which will now give guidance to other travelers considering a trip to Istanbul. It is very precious for us to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you at Armada Otel again soon!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights started August 5th in our return to the State after long vacation in Middle East. The hotel location is walking distance near all major attractions: Hagia Sofia Blue Mosque Topkapi Place Basilica Cistern Grand Bazaar & Spice Bazaar. For sure The location, staff, room cleanliness, breakfast, room view are excellent but wifi access was really slow. The view from the Restaurant Terrance is fantastic as one side looks at Marmara sea and other side, blue mosque & Hagia Sofia. The room size is reasonable with sea view and bathroom is noticeably clean well lit but shower is perhaps a bit perplexing, it is missing a door or curtain and taking a shower without spraying the whole bathroom is a bit challenging. We enjoyed our 3 nights in Istanbul very much, It is a great nice clean city all around tourist historical attraction. The hotel was very convenient and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Sabry M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKISTANBUL, Front Office Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

I would like to thank you for choosing Armada Otel based on the reviews of our former guests on TripAdvisor. I also appreciate your kind review which will now give guidance to other travelers considering a trip to Istanbul. It is very precious for us to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards ,
hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 4 days. At the check out, they tried to steal us and manipulate the prices. Room service is very bad. Luggage carrying service is awful. No body can speak English. They yell at you asking for a tip. An very awful experience to be honest. I wish I had enough time to charge or report them to the police or government.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yousef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKISTANBUL, Front Office Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest,
As you wrote here this unacceptable, underestimating and libelous review under a nick, we are not able to investigate whether there are any neglect or illegal demand assignable to our personnel.
PS: We also would like the TripAdvisor editors to be more careful when approving this sort of defamatory texts before publishing.
Thank you.
Front Office Manager
İlkay Sinem Altay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Good:You should chose the room with sea view. More quiet and you can see the sunrise in the room. The breakfast is good and you can sit in the Terrance to see the view of ocean or Mosque.
Bad:The wall is not thick so, you can easily hear voice from next room. The room is not too big.
Anyway, It's a old hotel but has been renovated so you still can see some old furniture which is still well kept. The price is reasonable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank TravelYingke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKISTANBUL, Front Office Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you very much for posting a review about Armada Otel following your stay here! Your comments are highly appreciated.
Hope to see you at Armada Otel again soon!
hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in 2016 and it's really quite very clean staff are very very friendly and they are very keen to help your stay very comfortable. I asked for 2 rooms as it was me and my daughter I asked for the rooms to be as close together as possible (it was next door). It also has a ATM machine outside the hotel and it's just a min from the sea and very central to everything.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank RoadRunnerTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKISTANBUL, Front Office Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We sincerely thank you for your kind remarks and appreciation for our Hotel and team.
Hope to see you at Armada Otel again soon!
hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#191 of 1,163 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,163 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#302 of 1,163 in Istanbul
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,110 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,163 in Istanbul
789 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: RM206 - RM373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing