We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
28
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housedamascus gateplace to staystayed hereold city
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

In a January search for reasonably-priced, well-rated church house accommodations in Jerusalem for an April visit, the Franciscaines was about the only one left. The room, while frills free except for in-room wifi, was a good size with a decent shower bathroom and was cleaned every day. Breakfast is very generous. It was excellent to be able to reach the Old City almost immediately by entering Damascus Gate. Also, we had only a 10-minute walk up Nablus Road to dine at the historic American Colony Hotel and browse its outstanding book store. However, my husband had to fend off a robbery attempt by the food market near the Franciscaines at midday. A man came up to him, brandishing a string of postcards. He tried to grab my husband's mobile from his chest pocket and, when rebuffed, snaked his hand to the wallet in a front pocket. My husband shouted at the top of his voice (loads of people around, but no intervention offered) and drew back his fist. The guy gave up and took off in search of a more pliant victim. When walking Nablus Road, I did notice that people look over their shoulders to see who's behind them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuieKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very simple, but good spacy rooms with Wi-Fi, good and rich breakfast, very nice franciscaine sisters and personel. We were there alone and felt like being part of the community.
Great to visit Old City and take buses wherever you want to go: two minutes walk! Space for car parking! Very sweet memories!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, and it was very pleasant. Sisters are very kind and helpful, I will be missing them. Room is simple but clean, wi-fi available, water machine available. No TV though.
The location is 5 star, since it is just 2 minutes walking from Damascus Gate, and also close to but terminals.

Room Tip: Be careful not to skip it when you try to find it, there is paper with name on it on the iron gate, it's easy to be neglected especially in the evening.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy_Li47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Sisters could not be more accommodating to their guests. Sweet, lovely and helpful. We stayed here because of the proximity to the old city. Everything was walkable. Light rail is one block away, the Damascus gate is one block away, the bus station is half a block. We could pop into the old city for Mass at 6:30am in the church of the Holy Sepulcher and be back at the Convent for Breakfast. The rooms were very clean, quiet and had great hot water. The Sisters have added Wi-Fi which was a nice surprise and had a very strong signal throughout the building. I could not speak more highly of the Convent and the accommodations provided. Worth the effort to stay here, it was very special experience.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. It was very quiet. I never heard the large group of French visitors who were on our same floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a guest house run with love and dedication. We missed it when we moved on after 1 week.
It is very well located near the Damascus Gate and near public transport such as the Jerusalem Light Rail and the Arab bus stations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalterBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews