We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect "home away from home"”
other travellers have booked this property
living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
living room kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
living room
living room
kitchen and dining area
dining area
towards the bedroom from kitchen
bedroom from the hall
bedroom
bathroom
shower unit
bedroom
outside paved area
view to Mount Zion
entrance to Nahon street from parking
view to David's Tower and the Old City
map of Yemin Moshe Quarter and its surroundings
location of Sultan's Refuge on Nahon st.
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bruce A
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect "home away from home"”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We used Sultan’s Refuge as a ‘pied à terre’ while in Israel for 10 days in April 2016. The location is perfect to explore the Old City and is truly an oasis and refuge after a hard day’s walking while seeing the city. The apartment is clean, light and airy and well maintained with everything needed for preparing breakfasts and other meals. The thick walls kept the unit cool in afternoon sun and four small glass-block skylights provide daylight as you walk deeper into the bedroom and bathroom area. Some useful amenities were the washing machine and dryer, although clothes dry so fast in the desert-like climate when placed on the drying rack. A built-in hotel-sized safe keeps any valuables safe. The TV has a wide offering and a comfortable seating arrangement. We appreciated the WiFi that kept us connected while away. The apartment opens onto a pedestrian walkway which is quite private and the view of the wall of Old Jerusalem and Mount Zion is quite wonderful at night. The Mamila Mall is a 10 minute or less walk through the park away and opposite the Mamila Hotel is a small supermarket where one can stock up on food and other essentials.
Salme is more than welcoming and is especially solicitous about your privacy on cleaning day which is Thursday. She is only an email or phone call away.
We would recommend Sultan’s Refuge very highly for anyone visiting Jerusalem and wanting a place to call home while touring the area. We did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment and warm reception exceeded our expectations.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
dear Bruce,
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review.
It was a great pleasure to have you as my guests.
You are always welcome again.
kindest
salme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah S
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved our Second Annual Passover Trip to Israel, at Sultan's Refuge!”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was like coming home again, to our gorgeous home away from home, with Salme's warm greeting and welcome hugs. She once drove us to the Central Bus Station when we were traveling to visit family in Arad, as she saw us struggling up the hill with our luggage. We were able to me meet her warm husband, who invited us to share a glass of wine, which we hope to do if we come again next year. I wish I were still at Sultan's Refuge, which is better than any other place I could imagine. The bed so comfortable, the kitchen so easy to use and well stocked with everything you could ever need, the great large comfortable bath room, with great easy to use washer and dryer. The living and dining room, and the entire apartment are beyond gorgeous and so comfortable. The view of the Old City is exceptional. I would not want to stay anywhere else. I hope we return next year for another visit. The only thing I wish is that the price were a bit lower that I could afford to stay longer. It is well worth the price, but is not affordable for everyone that is staying on a longer term basis. I know the owner needs to cover her expenses, I just wish I could afford to stay my entire trip this time in Sultan's Refuge, as there is no place I'd rather be! Thanks so much for everything, Salme! Next Year in Jerusalem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah S
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sultan's Refuge is truly fit for a king (and his queen!)”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is even more gorgeous than the photos!

When we (Devorah and Elliot Silver) first laid eyes on our beautiful furnished apartment overlooking Sultan's Pool and the Old City we were overcome with the elegance and loveliness of our accomodations. We couldn't be happier with our stay here and hope to make an annual trip to Israel and Sultan's Refuge during future Passover holidays. Want to add photos to our review soon, showing Elliot enjoying the lovely living room and kitchen, sitting at the dining room table, and in the bedroom.

The front of the home has gorgeous blue and red flowers and a lovely palm tree, we were thrilled with the beauty of this landscaping and were privileged to enjoy this apartment for the Passover holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice...
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lot our staying at Sultan's Refuge. It's exactly what we 'd expected, perfectly located, in a beautiful historical quarter just in front of the Old City walls. The owner is very kind and helpful. The apartment is very well equipped, and you will find everything you could need. Really a splendid address, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing