We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets, but does not exceed, expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Meets, but does not exceed, expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

It is difficult to love your run-of-the-mill chain business hotel: an industrial tower, carpeted halls, generic rooms, non-descript service. But maybe you don't have to. The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Jerusalem provides you with adequate accommodations and a working internet connection, and if you are in town for a business meeting that is, essentially, all you need. The hotel offers no charm, no personalised service and no tempting options for dining or drinking.

The only quirk is the number of ultra-orthodox young couples who seem to have their first, parentially supervised dates in the hotel bar.

On the plus side, the gym was very nice, but pls. note that access to it is not included in the hotel price. I hassled the receptionist until she gave me a free pass.

If on business, the Crowne Plaza covers the basics and is conveniently located close to several government agencies. If you are in Jerusalem for pleasure, I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swixpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    343
    230
    155
    125
See reviews for
336
294
83
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have stayed at several CP hotels and this one was on the low end. It really needs an overhaul. It is not well kept, very old style, fixtures coming apart, poor sound proofing.
Breakfast is really bad for a 4 star establishment.
On the upside, we had a spacious room with a great view from the 18th floor. The location is OK if you have a car.
Bottom line: we will seek alternatives next time...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level Contributor
303 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Overall impression is very good, but still few comments: there is not enough parkind place so in bad weather its quite frustrating. The heated swimming pool was not heated enough. The blankets were on the small size and the walls just too thin so you can hear your neighbours. Food was good and staff friendly and accomdating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stayed here for 12 days, the check in experience was OK but when we got to our room we discovered it was small and pretty basic, there was very little room around the bed. I returned to reception and asked for a bigger room as I was there on business for 12 days, I was given a family room which meant I got a 2 seater sofa and coffee table. Not exactly much use for a family but there you go!
The hotel reception area is large but very dated, it really needs a make over. I stayed on the 13th floor, again this floor would need updating. The walls are badly marked by trolleys and luggage cases. The walls are paper thin and I was able to hear the TV from rooms either side of me.
I found most of the waiting and housekeeping staff to be very helpful and pleasant however I found the supervisors / management to be full of there own importance and not particularly nice to deal with.
The breakfast selection was poor. As part of an international hotel chain I was surprised that there was not a better selection of food for international travelers who are not accustomed to the dietary requirements of that area.
I found many pieces of the glassware to be at the least badly water stained and in some cases dirty, the cutlery was often dirty. I set aside a dirty spoon only to witness one of the staff clean it with his thumb and reinsert back into the cutlery available for selection.
I used the swimming pool on one occasion, the water was clean but the tiling was old and dirty.
Another thing which I found strange was the "unofficial" relationship that the taxi drivers had with the hotel. It always appeared to be the same taxi drivers sitting outside the hotel, these drivers would not use their meters for journeys and would charge extortionate rates. I think the hotel should be assisting their residents by ensuring they are treated with respect when using a taxis picked up inside the hotel grounds. I know it is not the hotels responsibility to regulate taxis, but when its the same drivers every day who wait at the door and who often stand in reception talking to staff I feel that they should be looking out for the welfare of there residents.

I would not recommend this hotel to any traveller, its location is not great for tourists. For a business traveller working in the area I would recommend looking elsewhere, I feel you would get better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuduexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is ok , however the hotel management is very bad.
Bar staff are all kind but no customer service expierience at all,
Reception is accurate, but handles to the hotel management idea that this hotel is the best around, believe me, now way!
Rooms can be OK but you very quickly end up in a shabby old firnished room.
Breakfast is ok, i mean if the guy wants to make you an omelete, eggs are made just as they staff wish!
For a two night visit this hotel is okay, if you look for a "home away from home" feeling, stay away.
PS: priority club members, stay away!!!

Room Tip: David hotel is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 355leebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#25 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Grand Court Hotel
#38 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): RM426 - RM995
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing