We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$260
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$174
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sephardic House(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Court Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Tree Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jerusalem Little Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$74
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$255
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Golden Walls Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

New Imperial Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$257
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$502
US$485
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
1,225
237
99
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,225
237
99
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla regenceold cityworld leadershistoric hotelkind davidpool area isdairy restaurantbreakfast buffetroom facingguest relationsdan hotelsdining rooman upgradeshabbat dinnerfive star hotelwonderful hotelwaldorf astoria
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This hotel is a slice of history. Beautifully appointed lobby, restaurants, and rooms. Rooms are spacious, with gorgeous views of the Old City. Service is outstanding. We really enjoyed the comfortable beds, the dual sink in the bathroom, and the sweets and treats housekeeping would leave daily. The pool was AMAZING. It is very deep (about 6') on one side, clean, and has a great shallow area for kiddies.

As you know, all Israeli-owned hotels most observe Shabbat, so starting on Friday eve and throughout Saturday, there is a very limited menu of cold food available.

Breakfast buffet was good - but sometimes not so clean. We were often invited to tables that hadn't been cleared and dishes appropriately swapped out, plates were not cleaned thoroughly, and one time we had a bug in the milk on our table.

All in all though - a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UrbanMusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and friends for a "Destination Celebration ". Although there are now quite a few Luxury hotels in Jerusalem nothing else is in the same league(IMHO).although some of the rooms need a bit freshening, and there may be some hotels a bit more technologically updated; itching quite matches the elegance and Old World Charm of the King David". The entire staff was wonderful and extremely efficient. The grounds and pool area are unmatched!
No me there's no other Hotel like it in Jerusalem

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Hotel has great history, great location and everyone very friendly. Terrace is beautiful but service is consistently poor. Comfortable room but if you turn your lights off using the convenient switches on the side of the bed you also turn off power sockets. Oh NO, iPhone, cameras & all batteries for your first day fabulous tours Not charged! Hotel history deserves a first time in Jerusalem stay but not again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gordoncrofoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

First and foremost, the King David is a destination unto itself. Even if one does not stay here, one must stop by to take in the majesty and history of the place. A brief walk through the lobby, with its long list of signatures of the heads of state and celebrities that have stayed there through the years, is worth a visit.

Built by the British to house its dignitaries during its rule from 1918-1948, the hotel commands a presence on the other side of the valley (the valley to which Adam and Eve were reportedly banished) from the outer walls of the Old City. The views from this side of the hotel are spectacular.

We stayed on the renovated 5th floor, with one room facing the Old City, the other, the newer part of the city and the historic YMCA building. The rooms easily sleep 3 and are luxurious for a couple, with hardwood floors, 5 fixture bathrooms, super comfortable beds and remote controls for the blinds (which we loved, given the eastern view).

As others have stated, the service is definitely below what one would associate with this hotel. Although the stay started with a personal escort from the assistant manager, service was below par. (During this entire introductory tour of our rooms, all I was thinking was "Where are our bags?... I'd like to get changed and get out for dinner." I also thought that the tour was unfair, as it almost solicited a tip to the senior staff, while the bags was delivered when we were out). We were also disappointed that the shampoo/soap were not replenished properly each day. Also, one of the phones was filthy upon our arrival, and it took a couple of calls and some waiting to get it remediated.

The concierge desk can also definitely use improvement. The one dinner reservation they made for us was to an empty restaurant (we did not go in), that was nearby other, obviously popular places, that had availability. Not sure what was up there. Overall, they should be more knowledgeable and, candidly, have more "pull" as the KD concierge. We also had more confusion getting taxis than was warranted. Every trip seemed to entail some long conversation between one of the valets and multiple cab drivers (with one trip ending up being taken for a bit of a ride). Better off hailing from the street.

Pool was beautiful and the staff there very nice. I was able to get lounges both times, but I went pretty late in the day. Pool needs to be heated (or, if heated, heated more) as the chilly evenings make it too cold, even during warm days. Even my girls, who will swim in anything, did not enjoy it, which was disappointing to me as the pool seems to be fairly well known.

Finally, a big shout out to HANY, who made our breakfasts a highlight of each day. We were fortunate to meet him the first morning (a crowded and limited menu Shabbat) and stick with him for our 5 mornings there. He anticipated our needs and made sure we left with water everyday. A great guy.

I did not get a chance to visit the other, new luxury hotels nearby, and I may try one on a future trip, but my wife and daughters may not allow me. They are in the (valid) camp that there is only one King David... I just hope management does not take this treasure, and its important place in history, for granted.

Room Tip: From what I am reading, seems like it is imperative to stay in a renovated room on 5 or 6.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We planned to stay in King David, for our wedding day. We booked three suits room with early c/i in order to prepare ourselves for my wedding.
We arrived at the hotel and the rooms where not ready, but nobody at the front desk got responsibilities for it, we were waiting until 1 pm from 10am to get only one standard room were we were supposed to get dressed all of us (6 people). We never got any apology.
I consider important to mention that we are loyal clients in King David as we have stayed in the hotel more than ten times, but it was not important for them.
Room service was poor and always something missed, front desk is awful and unbelievable that a hotel as King David can have staff so impolite and unprofessional.
We have been coming many times to King David as we needed for professional reasons... we will not be back anymore.
It was not a pleasant stay at all, it was the opposite of what we could expect from a hotel that charges 600 $ for one standard room.
Thank you.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Sofia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingDavidHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The King David, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Sofia V,

Thank you for choosing the King David Hotel for your special celebration. We sincerely apologize, as we did at the time, for the delay in you receiving your reserved suites.

As you are aware, the standard check in time is 2pm, and while every effort is made in order to accommodate requests for early check ins, it is sometimes impossible to guarantee due to the occupancy of the hotel. In the case of your wedding day, the hotel had been almost fully occupied on the night prior to arrival, and as soon as each of the rooms that you had reserved checked out we immediately sent in our Housekeeping team to turn the rooms around as quickly as possible. Another complimentary room, additional to your reservation and close to the suite, was prepared and ready at your arrival in order for your party to begin your preparations.

We take customer loyalty and satisfaction very seriously and are sorry that on this occasion we were unable to accommodate your early check in request, but did everything in our power to provide you with an alternative and to minimize the delay.

Your comments regarding Room Service and Front Desk have been passed on to our Departmental managers for further attention; thank you for highlighting these areas of concern.

As loyal guests, we do hope that you will return to us again, to experience a stress-free and pleasant stay, more in keeping with the experiences that you have had in the past. Please do be in touch with me directly so that I may offer personal attention and assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Jeremy Sheldon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews