We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaine GB visits Amman, Jordan”
Review of By The Lemon Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
By The Lemon Tree
Ranked #6 of 109 Amman B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at this guest house for over 12 weeks and it is truely a home from home. Situated in one of the lovliest areas of the city, it is the perfect base for either business or tourist visitors. Located within a two minute walk from Paris Square where you can find good local shops, a decent bar with good food, a varied selection of small restaurants and the "grog shop" where you will find a reasonable selection of beers, wines and spirits - all at extortionate prices!!

Operating as a B&B, the &B bit is exceptional - every day except Friday - eggs to order - always perfect - plus a buffet table with cereals, juices and fresh fruit.

One of the most exceptional guest houses I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: I've stayed in three different rooms and all are comfortable - some more spacious than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Protraveller5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having lived/worked in Amman and experienced recent subsequent travels through Amman it is a pleasure to stay at such a friendly, welcoming place. Guido and his wonderful wife, Rula, made our stay extremely comfortable, their hospitality is overly generous and are ever so keen to share their wealth of local knowledge. Rooms and common areas are the most modern and well pointed that I have experienced in Jordan. Dining areas have there own unique and friendly atmosphere that need to be experienced. Loved it!
Martin Wilson, Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Wonderful, calm and quite beautiful house to stay in and a contrast to the organised chaos of greater Amman.
We stayed only for a couple of days as most guests tend to be more longer term. Guido, his family and staff were excellent hosts. Breakfast was more than enough of a meal to cover lunch as well and the location is close enough to enable walking to major sites. We walked to the citadel and Rainbow St from the B&B with an 18 month old so anyone can do it! If you've got any questions ask Guido as he's a font of knowledge.
So, look at all the cheap and (probably) nasty 'hotels' a couple of minutes closer to town then come to your senses and stay at By The Lemon Tree B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTIcedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

After communicating by Facebook with clear dates that I wanted to stay with them, we had some prompt conversations about the room arrangements that delayed my booking through airbnb. I wrote with a final question about how to book my reservation, and more than 24 hours later received a reply that "there have been some changes yesterday. We are now fully booked for the dates you requested. Apologies for the inconvenience." I consider this rather unprofessional.

Also, the issue we had that delayed the reservation confirmation was that we are two friend travelers and were requesting a room with two twin beds instead of a shared bed. When I requested, I was told "we cannot guarantee a room with twin beds", without an explanation (if a room with twin beds was available at the time I asked, why couldn't I reserve it? If it was not available, why not just say it wasn't available?) Because I had to confer with my fellow traveler about whether we were comfortable sharing a bed, I delayed making the reservation.

Overall, I guess both issues relate to the idea of "first come, first served", which this establishment doesn't seem to honor.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RJS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guidoamm, Owner at By The Lemon Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

What RJS17 says is all true.
Her post also confirms the hunch I had throughout our email exchange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This review is from my daughter who stayed at By the LemonTree and I think it's worth sharing since she doesn't have an account:
"I stayed at By The Lemon Tree for 2 nights and it felt just like home :). Guido and his wife are super friendly and its their hospitality that gives the place such a cozy feel. The room was very comfortable and the location of the b&b is perfect (very quiet and peaceful environment). Breakfast by the lemon tree was a great way to start the day and the food was beyond delicious! Everyone was so helpful and there is really not one negative thing I can say about the place; I wouldn't think twice about staying there again :)"

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanaa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amman hotels
1.0 km away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 150 in Amman
934 reviews
0.5 km away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#27 of 150 in Amman
223 reviews
1.3 km away
InterContinental Jordan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 150 in Amman
811 reviews
6.7 km away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#3 of 150 in Amman
301 reviews
1.0 km away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#19 of 150 in Amman
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Lemon Tree

Address: Hafeth Ibrahim Street 1 | Jabel Webdeh, Amman 11191, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Amman
Price Range: RM266 - RM579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner occupied B&B in the traditional style. We live downstairs whilst guest accommodation along with a lounge and kitchen are on the upper floors accessible through a separate entrance. By The Lemon Tree is not a hotel. There is no reception, no telephone operator nor is there a reservations department nor indeed, are there Bell Boys to greet you upon your arrival. Effectively, this means that your bed will not be turned down at sunset so that you won't get a chocolate on your pillow either. By the Lemon Tree is our home. We live on the ground floor whilst guest accommodation is arranged on the upper floors accessible through a separate entrance. By The Lemon Tree is ideally suited to independent professionals that require a functional short term base in Amman but that do not require hand holding on a daily basis. ATTENTION! When making your way to our house, remember that despite the existence of street names, in Jordan nobody uses addresses. Also, not only are taxi drivers thoroughly unfamiliar with addresses but more often than not, they are not familiar with any areas of town other than major venues. In order to facilitate your transfer By The Lemon Tree, contact us prior to starting your trip so we can direct you to the best way to get here ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your By The Lemon Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing