We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makkah Hilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A very good hotel but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

A very good hotel with excellent location close proximity to the grand mosque in Makkah. Very clean with very good housekeeping well decorated. Amazingly excellent breakfast. Tea and coffee making facility in the room. However the front desk reception staff need to be trained how to deal with problems when evolve and take action which suit individual guests. We had a bitter experience upon checking in and out. Upon aarival we were told we had no booking despite showing the re ception desk the voucher. After an argument, the manager decided to be accommodated. Upon checking out we were forced to pay an extra amount claiming that we had underpaid upon booking disregarding the voucher we had from the booking agent. This action by the reception staff put us in distress and anxiety ruining our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiphip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbrahimAtwa, Director of Business Development at Makkah Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your constructive and salient comments. While we are glad to know that you have appreciated the hotel and its location and services, we are concerned to hear about the unfavorable experience you had countered while arriving and departing. I appreciate hearing from you with more details about the over-charge for immediate investigation and rectification.

Once more, thank you for your comments and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. Until we hear from you, please accept our regards.

Ibrahim Atwa,
Director of Business Development,
Makkah Hilton & Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    205
    53
    19
    31
See reviews for
520
116
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Worst hotel experience i have ever had!!! I booked in for three nights at this hotel. Check-in took over half an hour due to arrogant, rude and incompetent reception clerks and managers who lacked basic customer service skills. In the room the wash facilities were not properly clean, the toilet was actually dirty. Booked three nights in Medinah (Darul Hijra inter-continental) very family friendly Hotel with excellent Hotel staff. Our last day in Makkah was spoilt by Hilton as they messed up dates for our check in on return from Medinah so were left waiting in the reception area for almost two hours. we were given yet another room which was not very clean, and a phone which did not work. when we complained about the phone it took them about three hours before they came to fix it.

Although this hotel is rated as 5 star i would say it is more of a 3 star.

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel as it doesn't live up to the "Hilton Group" and you will pay extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nashima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbrahimAtwa, Director of Business Development at Makkah Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments regarding Makkah Hilton & Towers. We are alarmed to read such comments that do not reflect the high level service we are known for. We apologize for these unfavorable incidents. I appreciate receining an email from you with more details of what you have countered during your stauy with us, or maybe email me your phone number to call you for more information. I am sure you would allow us an opportunity to make-up for this inconveninece.

Until I hear from you, please accept our regards.

Ibrahim Atwa,
Director of Business Development,
Makkah Hilton & Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
232 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Salam to you dear reader, well this was our first time at this Hilton, it was really a great experience. The things to keep in mind about a hotel especially when going for Umrah is the location and access to the Haram. Access is complicated, let me explain, just because the hotel is close does not mean you will to get to the Haram quickly, you first need to get out of the hotel. This means the lobby size, lift access and location of exit from hotel and entrance to the Haram are all important factors. Well we were actually staying in tower 2, there were 3 lifts and depending on the time of day, waiting time for the lift was between 1 to 5 minutes. The lift opened into the shopping area and from the lift to the exit it only took 30 seconds. As soon as we came out it took another 30 seconds and we were in the Haram boundary, another minute and we were at the Abdulaziz gate. So you see it was just wonderful. We could make it to the Haram after hearing the azan in the room, that is really cool!
Also another issue can be food, groceries, etc, the most popular grocery outlet BinDawood is in the shopping centre I mentioned earlier which is where the lifts bring you. And there is a food court with all the outlets you will find in the Zamzam tower. Of course all this does not come cheap but compared to the other hotels this is good value. Also the rooms are huge with three beds and two sofa-beds, plus there is a kitchenette. It was a great room and we loved it. We also ordered room service and it was excellent, pricey as one would accept in a Hilton but very nice and quick. By the way the hotel was full so the facts mentioned should be valid throughout the year.
All in all it was a wonderful stay Alhamdulilah. May ALLAH accept our Umrah and give us another chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbuHammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbrahimAtwa, Director of Business Development at Makkah Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Makkah Hilton & Towers. I have taken the liberty of passing your comments to all team members concerned. Yes, while it is location, locaton, and location, I am sure that you have also enjoyed your stay in total including our services and facilities.

May Allah accept your umrah. We pray that we see you soon again at Makkah Hilton & Towers. Until then, please accept our regards.

Ibrahim Atwa,
Director of Business Development,
Makkah Hilton & Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Well you don't have to go on with the negative reviews.. yes the hotel is not perfect but I would highly recommend it because of lots of pros.
First before I checked in I sent them a mail asking for Air Port pick up and they recommend that I talk a taxi directly which I discover is much more convenient.
I was recognized and treated as Hilton Hhonors member even I didn't book through the Hilton.
The rooms are tidy, clean and really space-able comparing to a hotel with few feet from the Haram.
Check in was fine and easy .. yes I waited a little before going to the room but still this could be expected.

Food is tasty in the breakfast and I ordered room service as well.
The thing that everybody should recognize and appreciate that the hotel is dealing everyday with hundred and thousands of guests from all around the world checking in and out everyday.. its not an easy thing to manage... yet things can little bit improved.

The cons:

The noise either from inside due to the maintenance or from outside due to the construction in Omar mountain.
The room service is really slow.

Rather than this I was happy with my whole stay and definitely I would do it again.
I would like to make special thanks to Islam from the front desk team, and Mr. Sayed the guest service Manager.

and for all at Hilton Makkah.. thanks for making our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: The higher the better.. Rooms facing haram are little bit smaller than the rooms with the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egyptian-Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbrahimAtwa, Diretor of Business Development at Makkah Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your understanding. We appreciate your positive comments. Please rest assured that I will pass your comments to all the team member who will feel proud with such salient and profound comments.

On a separate note, we are working on eliminating the noise challenge within hotel. This noise will be cut once we finalize the renovations we are in the middle of. Room service elevators challenge will also be solved once we have all our new elevators running efficiently.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again to Makkah Hilton & Towers. Untl then, please accept our regards.

Ibrahim Atwa,
Director of Business Development,
Makkah Hilton & Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

we stayed here for umrah in makkah tower hilton and had a very bad experience with customer services.first of all no wifi in this day of age and with hilton brand.the rooms were ok but wouldn't say 5star.checking out was a nightmare.after we checked out we were waiting for our car and one of the managers dumped our luggage on the floor from a trolley and said we don't have enough trolleys.would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shery06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbrahimAtwa, Director of Business Development at Makkah Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Makkah Hilton & Towers. We are concerned with your comments and we wouild like to extend our sincerest apologies for any incoinvenience caused. Please rest assured that we have analyzed your comments and we have taken corrective measures to avoid these mis-happenings from re-occuring.

We look forward for another opportunity at Makkah Hilton & Towers when we can extend you with our excellents levels of service we are known for. Please address your coming booking to my attention to allow me to take personal care of you and your party. Until then, please accept our regards.

Ibrahim Atwa,
Director of Business Development,
Makkah Hilton & Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 km away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 344 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.1 km away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 344 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 km away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 344 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 344 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
0.2 km away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Hilton Hotel

Property: Makkah Hilton Hotel
Address: Ibrahim Al Khalil Street, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mecca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price range (per night): RM588 - RM4,311
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Hilton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular entrance to this grand complex adds opulent style, along with seven panoramic elevators and five elegant restaurants. Main Makkah attractions are on your doorstep including the Kaaba and the ZamZam Well, with other important Islamic holy sites less than five miles away. Find a refreshing range of on-site recreational activities, entertainment, amazing restaurants and business facilities. Located in the center of Makkah, our hotel is close to many holy sites, among which is the largest mosque in the world, the Holy Haram, and the Kaaba, the most sacred place in Islam. Pray amongst the deep Islamic history, or climb the 600 steps up the nearby Mountain of Jabal Al-Nūr to reach the Cave of Hiraa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makkah Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Makkah Hotel Mecca
Hilton Hotel Mecca
Hilton Hotel Makkah
Hilton Mecca
Mecca Hilton
Makkah Hilton Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing