We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,941)
Filter reviews
1,941 results
Traveller rating
1,501
284
74
46
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,501
284
74
46
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsq loungeal nahhamazraq restaurantsurf poolvilla hostprivate pooltwo bedroom villakids clubspecial thanksarabic restaurantamazing experiencetaking carenice servicebig thankssea viewno alcoholhouse keeping
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 1,941 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I had family visiting Doha for a special birthday.
I thought would be really nice to spend the day on the island. (It faces the airport & my brother loves watching plans)
For 350 qar each you get the return boat ride, 200 qar towards food, 50 towards a recreational activity.
Day started of really we. There’s valet parking & the port building is beautifully designed to make you feel special.

Once on the island you are greeted by a group playing drums.

All very nice until you are asked if you are staying or a day guest.
At the point you inform them you are a day guest the attitude changes & you are frog marched up to the area to wait in the heat with no seating, for a buggy to take you to the day guest check in area. (This is not a one off experience I have been once before & put the rudeness down to lack of training)
At the guest Checkin you have to pay a 100 qar (£20) deposit for a locker.
The lockers are inadequate for storing your things.
Showers had broken dispensers.
My husband said the male changing rooms smelt strongly of urine. (We did report this & were informed house keeping would look into the matter)
We decided to take our things with us & get our money back.
The changing rooms were also far away from the pool area.

The pool itself although not large was enjoyable & there are 2 jacuzzi’s

We ate lunch in the buffet restaurant which was the best value when you have 3 men to feed.
I did feel that the place seemed a little grubby & tired.

Food was good with a wide selection to choose from, but despite having a phone call & promise of a birthday cake non arrived even though they was a booking made & we had decorated the table.

I did really enjoy the recreation activities. We choose kayaking & mini golf.

Would I go back, possibly. I like that there’s a lot to do there not just lay by a pool. Would I stay unlikely it’s a dry island & expensive would rather stay on land or go to the Maldives.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Doha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantara_Doha, General Manager at Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Doha2012,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your comments about our resort.

It is upsetting to know that your visit was less than perfect.It will be investigated thoroughly and we will take necessary actions to improve your experience for the next time.

For the best rates, offers and packages, please, book through Anantara website. Also, you can follow our Facebook page to be aware of flash sales and special rates for our Facebook friends!

With thanks once again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Thomas Fehlbier | Area Area General Manager
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This island is amazing, it is so easy to forget that you’re in Qatar as you swim in the cool sea and stare up at the blue clear skies. We stayed in a premier room, which was huge and very comfortable. The staff were amazingly attentive and friendly. I had a brilliant massage and pedicure in the spa. found it soooo difficult to leave the island :(

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Minimo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantara_Doha, General Manager at Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Minimo127,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your comments about our resort.

We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time here with us and we thank you for sharing your kind comments and honest feedback regarding your experience. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service offered by our team members. Personalised service is of great importance to Anantara, and we invest heavily into training to ensure every guest feels special. Thank you for taking the time to appreciate this service. Your feedback has been shared across the whole team, who are equally delighted to have received such positive comments.

Thank you one more time for an overall so positive feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Thomas Fehlbier | Area Area General Manager
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This was a very nice short vacation for us, the rooms were very clean and well maintained.

The customer service staff (receptionists) were fanatic! I would like to thank especially (Nezha) and (Ameen) they tried to do their very best to make sure our stay was comfortable and Nezha bent over backwards for us. We were blown away by her service.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank aldana360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantara_Doha, General Manager at Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Aldana360,

Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you chose to visit us and it is a pleasure to know that you very much enjoyed our paradise island.

I appreciate you taking the time to share compliments also about our team members.

For the best rates, offers and packages, please, book through Anantara website. Also, you can follow our Facebook page to be aware of flash sales and special rates for our Facebook friends!

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Thomas Fehlbier | Area General Manager
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The resort is so beautiful and nice. For lunch we went to Al Nahham restaurant. First impression was amazing. We was welcomed by hostess which make us feel warm welcomed. We had delicious arabic food with personalized service. Staff was treat us as a VIP. For sure we back for this place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank zozo12b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantara_Doha, General Manager at Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Zozo12b,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and services met with your expectations.

We are really pleased to hear that the service provided by our associates had a very positive impact during your stay and please be assured that your compliments will be shared with the team. Your words continue to give credence to the hard work and effort, motivating us to keep striving for the best in what we do.

For the best rates, offers and packages, please, book through Anantara website. Also, you can follow our Facebook page to be aware of flash sales and special rates for our Facebook friends!

It is really great that your overall stay was so enjoyable and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara in a near future.

Sincerely,
Thomas Fehlbier | Area General Manager
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

If you want an ultimate experience of doha you need to visit this place, the staff at the azraq restaurant were all great.Its a 1 stop shop for all your holiday needs.The staff make you feel so special and the cleanliness is great too

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ishfaq f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantara_Doha, General Manager at Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Ishfaq f,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Banana Island.

We have a new offer for pool & beach access! Why to fly five hours to reach a pure sandy private beach, blue turquoise water, great food and fantastic weather and you can have it all in 25 minutes? Package includes: Pool & Beach access | Credit of QAR 200 per person to enjoy a meal at any of our restaurants | Credit of QAR 50 per person for your choice of any recreational activities | Luxury boat transportation. Price: QAR 350 per person on weekdays (Kids 0-4 y.o. QAR 50 for boat transportation) and QAR 500 on weekends.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future for another break on the beaches of Banana Island.

Sincerely,
Thomas Fehlbier | Area General Manager
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews