We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaut food good wine”
Review of Bord Eau

Bord Eau
Ranked #130 of 2,172 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$100 - US$250
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bord Eau is the ultimate restaurant for French fine dining in Abu Dhabi. In the setting of a chic dining room that boasts opulent fabrics and furniture, the chef de cuisine prepares seasonal fresh produce flown in from France and serves each dish as an artistic expression. Bord Eau offers a superb a la carte menu and for the ultimate Bord Eau experience, the blind tasting menu is a must. Quiet instrumentals and a warm ambiance complement the rich gastronomy to create an intimate dining experience. To maintain a peaceful environment, children under 12 years old are not permitted in the restaurant.
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and went to the restaurant. Initially though it was quite formal but was in keeping in traditional french style. Free champagne on arrival, free starter for my wife, food was really good. I had the lamb which was very soft. Great wine too, we like fiano which is Italian but was very nice! Highly recommended!!!!

Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Neil C,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

This is one of my hard-to-do reviews. But due to the outcome. I have to give the place a One.
We signed up for the Special Bubbly Dinner. We had eaten at the other Shangri-La hotel restaurants and we excited about the set 3 course meal and Champagne pairing.

Unfortunately, we will be sadly disappointed. This was more of a Wine/Food Tasting and Not a dinner.
First: There was a dress code which we did not have a problem with. We started at 7pm for the Welcome Reception. The Sommelier Eric was very personable and nice. He visited with each of the guests and answered any questions we had. The Canapés were nice and paired perfectly with our first champagne.
Around 8pm (ish) we were seated. Over the next two hours we were served three courses that fell off the mark. The champagne and food were delicious. The problem was the amount. Two asparagus for the appetizer and a finger of veal for the main. There was more in the strawberry dessert. We were not the only ones complaining. But that night was a set meal. No other food was offered.
Unfortunately, we pay more for this package that if we had done the hotel's buffet. We left and walked across the lobby to the bar and ordered food to eat. After four glasses of champagne. I needed food. Lesson learned.
When we checked out of the hotel, the receptionist gave us a 20% off the meal. But it still does not change, the food and wine were not worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank comst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

When deciding to look for restaurants to propose to my wife I came across this one. It has an amazing view overlooking the Grand Mosque. The atmosphere was perfect and the staff was friendly and assisted the whole evening. The chef even came out and talked to us and gave us a complimentary appetizer. Highly recommended when seeking a fine dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jodaca9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear jodaca,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

The meal and wine pairings were exquisite. There were ten courses. All sized to enjoy the taste while not filling you up. This made for a long enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Jose O,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

5 course blind tasting menu with wine pairing highly recommended for any occasion!

I missed to take pictures for most of the courses as the aromas was too tempting ‍♀️ but we started off with Chef's special complimentary amuse-bouche, a creamy mushroom soup with 'escargot croquets' followed by the following courses:
1️⃣ Fois gras - terrine & seared with mango & pineapple chutney.
2️⃣ Lobster, gnocchi potatoes & mushrooms - picture below
3️⃣ Memory Maker which is Seabass fillet & gambero rosso cooked on the table - steamed for40seconds.
4️⃣ 7 grade Wagyu fillet - picture below
5️⃣ Chocolate extravaganza

Service: ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ and the wine pairing was on point ☝️
We dined on the terrace, with the spectacular views of the mosque, canal and cool breeze...

Price per person AED 750/- and without wine pairing AED 450/-
With the 'golden circle loyalty program' we enjoyed a 25% discount on the final bill

Thank wanderlustfoodie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear wanderlustfoodie28,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bord Eau also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Bord Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing