We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals on the last nights open before July”
Review of Bord Eau

Bord Eau
Ranked #122 of 2,171 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$100 - US$250
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bord Eau is the ultimate restaurant for French fine dining in Abu Dhabi. In the setting of a chic dining room that boasts opulent fabrics and furniture, the chef de cuisine prepares seasonal fresh produce flown in from France and serves each dish as an artistic expression. Bord Eau offers a superb a la carte menu and for the ultimate Bord Eau experience, the blind tasting menu is a must. Quiet instrumentals and a warm ambiance complement the rich gastronomy to create an intimate dining experience. To maintain a peaceful environment, children under 12 years old are not permitted in the restaurant.
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We had two very good meals in this restaurant, which shut on Weds 31st of May (during Ramadan) for a month. Other restaurants in the Shangri La remain open (Pearls and Caviar was shut for our stay however). It is pricey but the service is first class and the food (and wine) delicious. Limited menu but all that we tried of a very high standard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of our restaurant! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

I have to start by saying that this Restaurant does not come cheap. It is not for the faint hearted. But if you like superb food, served by impeccable staff, with a warm and friendly atmosphere, in beautiful surroundings, then this is the place for you. At the end of the day a restaurant is all about the food and each course was absolutely delicious. The main course of lamb could not have been better - seriously. I will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear John G,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Last time i have been to that restaurant 4 years ago and decide to try it again. Beautiful ambiance, delicious french cuisine and attentive waiters. Thumbs up! My favourite of all times

Thank iren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear iren,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and went to the restaurant. Initially though it was quite formal but was in keeping in traditional french style. Free champagne on arrival, free starter for my wife, food was really good. I had the lamb which was very soft. Great wine too, we like fiano which is Italian but was very nice! Highly recommended!!!!

Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlfBremer1, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Neil C,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it makes us very proud of Bord Eau! We truly do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Shangri-La Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This is one of my hard-to-do reviews. But due to the outcome. I have to give the place a One.
We signed up for the Special Bubbly Dinner. We had eaten at the other Shangri-La hotel restaurants and we excited about the set 3 course meal and Champagne pairing.

Unfortunately, we will be sadly disappointed. This was more of a Wine/Food Tasting and Not a dinner.
First: There was a dress code which we did not have a problem with. We started at 7pm for the Welcome Reception. The Sommelier Eric was very personable and nice. He visited with each of the guests and answered any questions we had. The Canapés were nice and paired perfectly with our first champagne.
Around 8pm (ish) we were seated. Over the next two hours we were served three courses that fell off the mark. The champagne and food were delicious. The problem was the amount. Two asparagus for the appetizer and a finger of veal for the main. There was more in the strawberry dessert. We were not the only ones complaining. But that night was a set meal. No other food was offered.
Unfortunately, we pay more for this package that if we had done the hotel's buffet. We left and walked across the lobby to the bar and ordered food to eat. After four glasses of champagne. I needed food. Lesson learned.
When we checked out of the hotel, the receptionist gave us a 20% off the meal. But it still does not change, the food and wine were not worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank comst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bord Eau also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Bord Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing