We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hotel Florinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florinda
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Nice and affordable option to stay right in the heart of Punta. Sure not a luxury hotel, but with clean and spacious rooms.
The downside is that the breakfast area is too small for the amount of people in the hotel. If you want to have a peaceful breakfast go early in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Here's the problem.........
We took the Economy room but even before the porter opened the room door he said 'you can up grade for 15dollars'. I knew we were in for disappointment. We only require a simple clean room with working shower, toilet and a half decent bed....we got that and we also got an ingrained damp/ mold odour that we just couldn't cope with. We don't care what the price is, a room shouldn't smell like that. We looked at the upgrade option and while the odour was less, it was still not good. The next morning we packed up. No Cigar!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The hotel is simple but has all the necessary amenities. Although the rooms were a bit outdated they were very clean. Breakfast was fantastic. The staff was exceptional very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff even prepared breakfast early for us becuase we had a very early departure. The bicyc, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels were a very good bonus. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Split two rooms between five travelers - one was totally fine, the other was in a different building and was a bit subpar. I stayed in the main building double, which was small but ideally located for visiting Punta del Este on a whim. The other travelers were not super-pleased with the tight triple they shared in a connected, older building. A strong breakfast buffet helps start days at the beach (cereal, coffee, breads, croissants, ham, cheese, salami, fruits - all you can eat).

Room Tip: Request the new building...the older building is not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

First impression is that it is a simple and a little outdated hotel but the excellent service makes up for it. It is conveniently situated one and a half blocks from the Playa Brava (there are 2 beaches: playa Brava where the sea is a little rougher - where the surfers hang out- and playa mansa which is quieter), just half a block from the main street (Golerno). It is a very well kept hotel/clean. The front desk staff (Gustavo, Mark, Gaston, and Julio) are all very helpful and most of them speak very good English. An example of the good customer service is that on our first morning the weather was extremely windy and a door in the corridor was blowing open and shut and banging. I reported this to the front desk and within a couple of hours a new lock had been fitted. My husband stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this type of service is exceptional. The hotel provides umbrellas, deck chairs, and beach towels (not full size beach towels). The prices of restaurants in Punta del Este are quite expensive but we found a few good lunchtime places close by recommended by the front desk. One of them is Rotiseria Sabores Saltenos (calle 24 and 25). The other one is located next door and it is more of a sandwich place/catering). There is also a mini market on the same street as the Rotiseria a couple of blocks down that sales good empanadas, sandwiches, and water, etc.
All in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#15 of 65 in Punta del Este
438 reviews
1.0 km away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,258 reviews
0.2 km away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 65 in Punta del Este
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
#12 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,006 reviews
2.6 km away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
570 reviews
3.4 km away
La Capilla
La Capilla
#24 of 65 in Punta del Este
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florinda

Address: Calle 27 entre Gorlero y 24, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range: RM150 - RM814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florinda 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 20 meters ofe the Gorlero Avenue, Hotel Florinda offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and Led TV . Breakfast and free parking are provided. Both the Mansa and Brave beaches are 50 metres away..Hotel was reformed in 2012. Decorated in a maritime and fresh style, rooms at Florinda Hotel feature air conditioning, heating and minibars. All of them are bright.Breakfast including tea, coffee, croissants, breads, fruits, toasts, jam, butter, ham, sausages and cheeses is served daily. Drinks and snacks can be ordered at the bar.Chairs, sunshades and towels are provided as part of the beach service. Free bikes are available to explore the city. Hotel Florinda is 20 km from Capitan Corbeta CA Curbelo International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing