We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Nice Hotel”
Review of Dann Norte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dann Norte Hotel
Ranked #93 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I selected this hotel based on location and price. North Bogota area, near Zona Rosa. As far as the location, it is next door to a nice supermarket, very upscale with a nice cafe area. Also very close to the Unicentro shopping mall, easily walkable (5 min). Around the corner was El Corral, a nice restaurant chain that had good food and drinks. Bogota Beer Company was also within walking distance along with a Juan Valdez cafe and many other nice restaurants. I felt very safe walking in the area day or evening... Cab rides to Centro, Montserrate, Candelaria and the Airport were very reasonable and did not take too long. I took advantage of the closed streets in Sunday to run with all the other runners and cyclists... the altitude affected me though and I could only manage 4 miles!

The hotel itself was very clean and the room was modern (LCD TV, new stereo system), as was the lobby and bar area. The dining room was nice and I took advantage of the breakfast that was included in my rate. I never had issues with internet access (It's in each room, but I did not bring my computer) as they have 3 computers in the business area you can use. Staff was friendly and helpful. None spoke english (that I encountered) during my stay, but that was not as problem as I can speak passable Spanish.

No AC, but the nights are cool enough. It can be noisy in the morning with the window open (street noise) but they have a nice remote control fan that does an adequate job since there is no humidity.

All in all a great place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steverunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

only spent one night there on my way to catagena. very clean. helpfull friendly staff.
looks like a safe area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weebles_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

My colleague and I spent two nights at the Dann Norte in Bogota, the first in the beginning of our trip and the second at the end of the trip. The location is good, it's right next to Carulla, a big supermarket. At the supermarket you'll also find an ATM and money changer. There are many restaurants in the area and a big shopping mall a short walk (10 minutes or so) away.

Our room was big with a flat screen tv. I found the hotel very quiet.

I tried the "gym" once. It's just a very small room with a stairmaster and a bike and if I remember correctly one or two weigh training equipments. It's quite stuffy and if there's someone else there at the same time, it can be too crowded.

To get to the business center you have to go through the restaurant. There are a few computers and the internet access seemed just fine. It was free to use.

The breakfast was nice, some Colombian specialities and the normal bread and cheese stuff. There's a guy who makes omelettes, etc behind the breakfast spread. I don't think he spoke English. Do note that coffee with milk (cafe con leche) in Colombia is delicious!

Not all of the staff speak good English but they do their best and are very helpful nevertheless!

Like in all big cities, if you take a cab from the front of the hotel it will be more expensive than if hailed from the road.

Do take the time to visit Monserrate, it's a beautiful place with fresh air, a lovely break to hectic Bogota.

I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

The Hotel Dann Norte makes you feel like you want to feel when visiting Colombia, particularly Bogotá. It definitely is my all-time sentimental favorite. Luxury hotel? No...but wonderful just the same. When it comes time to leave, you will have felt that all the staff members were friends who hated to see you go. The breakfasts are teriffic, made to order and starts your day off just right in a peaceful mood. There is great walking in the park in back of the hotel and wonderful restaurants around the corner in the Calle Pepé Sierra.

There are great , responsible drivers in front of the hotel to take you anywhere...some with "alegré" personalities. Ask for Carlos...he's a real gem.

Here's the best part: right next door to the Hotel is where I fell in love with Carulla, a supermarket much like Whole Foods in America, only with better personality. Deli food, chicken on a spit, sandwiches and a great cantina style lunch everyday upstairs. And a wonderful view of Avenida 15 is afforded on the second floor patio while you eat your lunch. LOTS of shopping, bicyclists on Sunday and of course, the wonderful Colombian people. Some other reviewers are dead wrong. Colombians in Bogotá are not rude....they are shy. All you have to do is smile and greet them with "Buenos Diás!"

Leave your snobbery at the airport and head for The Hotel Dann Norte. And hey, when you leave? Leave a 10 mill tip to each of the people who served you breakfast, opened the front door and gave you an extra pad to cover your mattress.

And tell Carlos, the driver, that Mike Harvey from Los Angeles said "Hola."

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travelingwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Great Hotel and on first two nights, they gave me an upgraded big room on the sixth floor (I think 619) with a living room and flat screen TV and nice view of the mountains around Bogota. Bathroom clean and strong water. Then I flew to Ecuador and came back after 3 days, and I was given a smaller room with a regular TV but still clean and very nice bathroom. Staff was very nice and spoke English, and there were cars that you can rent outside to bring you anywhere around Bogota. I opted to go to the Zipaquira saltmine and the huge plaza of Bogota (I think Independencia). Also, there is the very convenient supermarket which has everything beside the hotel ...over-all would stay there again and request for the bigger corner rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JumpingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#25 of 269 in Bogota
728 reviews
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#72 of 269 in Bogota
292 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#24 of 269 in Bogota
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 269 in Bogota
910 reviews
Lancaster House
#39 of 269 in Bogota
1,160 reviews
Chapinero
Casa Real 93
Casa Real 93
#116 of 269 in Bogota
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dann Norte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dann Norte Hotel

Address: Avenida 15 No. 112-09, Bogota 110111, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: RM199 - RM300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dann Norte Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
¡The hotel with experience and excellence! Just 20 km from the El Dorado International Airport, the hotel is strategically situated within walking distance from the main shopping centers such as Unicentro, World Trade Center and the renowned Usaquén district. The hotel has 95 spacious, renovated rooms with anti-noise glass and 6 meeting rooms with capacity for events up to 900 people. The Solarium restaurant offers the best Colombian gastronomy with Mediterranean specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dann Norte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Norte Bogota
Hotel Dann Norte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing