We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I've stayed at the Gate Way on a number of occasions, located close to the airport with regular airport shuttles. Friendly staff and fairly good food. Unfortunately there always seems to be some thing wrong with the room after check in. Pulsating lights, remote for TV old and not functioning properly, kettle finicky, room not completely clean. A bit over priced for what you get but that pretty much explains PNG as a whole.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the entrance to the hotel. Road side rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobiecat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. I would also like to extend my sincerest apologies for the consistently poor experience when staying in PNG. The feedback is greatly appreciated as we continuously strive to improve our products and service offering at the hotel - so again, thank you!

Kindest regards

Robert O'Brien
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

Gateway has so much to offer, staying here could not be easier with everything at your fingertips. The airport is close and there is plenty of dining options.

Will definitely stay here again when next in POM!

Room Tip: 800 Executive rooms are the best for individual travel but the pool view rooms are great for familie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we most certainly look forward to being of service to you when you next stay with us.

With gratitude from the team at Gateway Hotel & Apartments!

Kindest regards

Robert O'Brien
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The hotel is located about five minutes’ drive from Port Moresby Airport. I found the Gateway Hotel staff to be friendly and helpful at the front desk and restaurants. However some members of our group commented that certain staff at the reception desk were rude to them. The security guards on the doors were always smiling and friendly.

We had meals in three different restaurants and overall the meals were generally very good.

The room was a good size and clean. However, the toilet cistern leaked and topped-up the water about every 15 minutes, which was disruptive for sleeping overnight. After the second night I reported the leak to the reception desk for maintenance but three days later the fault had still not been fixed at the time of check-out.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am pleased to read that your overall stay was positive, and appreciate the feedback regarding areas for us to improve. Thank you also for acknowledging the team and the service provided to you, again with some areas for improvement still.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we sincerely hope that you'll continue to see improvement when you next choose to stay with us.

With gratitude from the team at Gateway Hotel & Apartments!

Kindest regards

Robert O'Brien
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I typically stay at either the Grand Papua or Ela Beach whilst in PoM once a month, however given a late night arrival and early morning departure, thought I'd try their sister hotel, the Gateway. The Gateway is a typical airport hotel with smaller rooms and tired furnishings. However, cleaning seems to be optional and the previous guest's rubbish and hair was still in the room, on the floors and in the sink. The shower stall itself was a horror - falling apart, disgusting and mouldy. The room ceiling was cracked and needed painting and the air vents for the air conditioning could definitely use some cleaning. The carpeted corridor to my room was covered in dust and what looked to be paint chips. Room insulation is poor and I could hear people in the hallway and the opening and closing of nearby doors - this was a dratted nuisance at 5:00am in the morning. The complimentary internet was out of order and there was no intention to fix this at any time during my stay - several other guests were lined up at the front counter to enquire.

Saddened by the overall stay, as I was hopeful for a better experience, which could transform my monthly transits through PoM.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am indeed disappointing to read of your poor experience while in transit at the Gateway Hotel. As we value our guests feedback, I would to invite you to contact me directly at your convenience to discuss your feedback further so we can ensure improvements in the areas highlighted.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Kindest regards

Robert O'Brien
Executive Assistant Manager
e: ro'brien@coralseahotels.com.pg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I have and continued to stay here due to convenience. For the price you don't get much at all, but then again its the dynamics of the PNG due to limited supply. Nice and friendly staff and basic rooms. Now finally with the addition of Jacksons - the bar there is something to do after work. Its a nice bar/restaurant serving good food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoy the convenience and the friendly service provided to you by the staff. It's nice to read that you also enjoy the Jackson's Rooftop Bar for your enjoyment.

We are always looking for ways to improve our overall services and facilities available to our guests so your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards

Robert O'Brien
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
0.6 km away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
446 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#8 of 15 in Port Moresby
205 reviews
7.4 km away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
172 reviews
3.4 km away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
98 reviews
3.7 km away
Lamana Hotel
Lamana Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: RM446 - RM808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing