We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!!”
Review of Waves on Bukura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waves on Bukura
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Waves on Bukara is a magical place. John and Janet are consummate hosts who look after every need. John picked us up at an ungodly hour from the airport and cooked beautiful dishes (vegetarian for us) and lovely breakfasts by the ocean. The staff are lovely too!! And it would not be the same without Sam, Zephyr, Ralph and maxie. They made us feel at home. Thankyou waves on bukura for a lovely stay xx Thanks so much from Oscar and laura..

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2016

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Nautilus room on our way to Tanna. I had read the excellent reviews from others who had also stayed at Waves so thought it would be a good place to start our holiday. The owners are just the most beautiful people who take you into their amazing home and treat you like family. From the moment Jeanette picked us up from Vila airport we felt totally at ease. John and Jeanette's home has four bungalows right on the beachfront at Devils point. The bungalows are really well maintained and perfectly set up reflecting lots of island style. The resort style home has a pool and open bungalow right on the beachfront where you have breakfast. The breakfast is provided in your tarrif and is exceptional. Other reviews are spot on - breads, pastries, home made jams, cereals, fruit, juices and coffee - all supplied and brought to you as you sit watching and listening to the ocean just meters from your feet. A fantastic way to start our vacation!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie Miche... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at Waves on Bukura, we enjoyed our stay. John and Jeanette are wonderful hosts, and offer such a lovely place to stay while visiting Vanuatu. We truly recommend enjoying a few sumptuous dinners cooked by John whose French cuisine is superb, and his 'creme brulee' was the best we have ever had! We will certainly return, and we highly recommend Waves on Bukura.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We stayed at Waves on Bukura for one week with our 2 teenage boys and we all had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. The hosts John and Jeanette are very welcoming and we very much enjoyed their wonderful french cooking. It was so lovely to sit looking out over the beach while we had breakfast and the kids loved swimming in the blue hole in the reef. The cascade waterfall, zorbing, zipline and Hideaway Island are all close by as well as the Beach Bar which is great for a drink and pizza. We definitely recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who is looking for a nice and quiet holiday away from the hustle and bustle of town (which is only 20 mins or so away). We have booked in for our holiday next year and can't wait to go back and stay at this little piece of tropical paradise again. Thank you John and Jeanette and your pooches for making this holiday an absolute treat that we will never forget and we will see you soon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apatasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Had an amazing time in Port Vila, which was greatly due to the warm hospitality of our hosts, John and Jeanette. They could not have been more helpful and we very much enjoyed the friendly conversation and helpfulness of this lovely couple. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable. We appreciated having the option of dining out, preparing something for ourselves, or joining with John & Jeanette and other guests for a beautifully prepared meal and dessert. The scenery is stunning. The continental breakfast each morning by the ocean is an amazing way to start the day. The pool is a welcome retreat on a beautiful sunny day, and the staff are very helpful, friendly and a pleasure to talk to. Combine all this with a free laundry service and free wifi and you can't go wrong! Granted, you will be about 15 minutes drive out of town, but John and Jeanette are very helpful and willing to assist in taking you wherever you need to go and will drop you off on their way to town and you can catch a bus or taxi back, or call them if you get stuck. We loved our stay at Waves On Bukura and wouldn's consider staying anywhere else. Thanks for a great visit!

Room Tip: Oceanside and extremely relaxing. Fall asleep listening to the waves hitting the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
8.5 km away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
226 reviews
10.3 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
10.7 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
556 reviews
12 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves on Bukura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves on Bukura

Address: Lot 54 Devil's Pt Rd | Bukura Plantation, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range: RM 365 - RM 622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves on Bukura is a small retreat of only 3 villas on Bukura Beach.We have our own whitesand beach with an inter-tidal reef with a blue hole as well as a BBQ beachhut and inground saltwater pool.We are a bed and breakfast / maison d'hotes where we try to offer our guests a more relaxed and peronalised view of Port Vila and surrounds.We offer comfortable spacious 1 bedroom villas with a range of dining options, cook for yourselves in your villa kitchen or in our BBQ beachhut, or let us pamper you with a lovely "french cuisine" home-stay dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waves on Bukura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On Bukura Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing