We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$248
Hotels.comUS$248
JW MarriottUS$247
Agoda.comUS$249
Orbitz.comUS$248
PricelineUS$246
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveller rating
984
219
62
34
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
984
219
62
34
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge blt steak ddp the entire staff indoor pool gold member concierge staff subway station fitness center buffet breakfast taxi driver dongdaemun shopping gm platinum sauna basement
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Very very disappointed at the hotel. Front desk check customer service super disappointing and bad. Arrived early and had booked a suite and another room and both with lounge access. Checked in at 10 am but room not available.

After traveling overnight, was expecting the front desk would offer earlier lounge access but he kept on insist that we can’t use the lounge as it’s too early. After telling him that we had a elderly that travel with us, we really hope that we can use it for him to have a rest while waiting for another 4 hours for check in. He reluctantly said ok. I thought there must be a lot of people on lounge that made him so reluctant. When we went up to the lounge; there’s only one or two people with only coffee and water.I really don’t understand why can’t he offer that as that’s what usually what other hotel would have done if early check in couldn’t be honored if the room is included lounge access.

Really not expecting it from jw marriot as a gold member! Disappointing !

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank eewern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kang Jennifer, 마케팅 at JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Dear eewern,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectation. I will certainly look into your comments, and try our best to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Eddie Choi
Front Office Manager
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2022

Very impressed at the care and attention given by staff encountered at the lobby (Sam of Concierge) who not only kindly provided guidance to the restaurant Tavolo 24, but also after the lunch, when we came down to the lobby, offered his assistance by calling a taxi on his mobile app, then followed up by going outside towards the street corner to guide the taxi to the hotel front, and helped us onto the car.  Sam's polite and professional manner reflected the high standard of JW Marriott, and certainly left a good first and last impression of our visit yesterday.  (This is quite different from our experience a couple of years ago at the JW Marriott Seoul in Gangnam where the lobby lacked an atmosphere of hospitality). At the Tavolo 24, I was impressed by Chef J.B. who also was attentive and serving customers at the buffet counter with extra care - providing explanations and suggesting various yummy dishes, pouring gravy, and even taking my full plate to the table for me so that I could get something else for my mother at the table. 
Chef JB and also Tavolo 24's manager's caring service truly enhanced our dining experience.  All in all, the staff we encountered during our first brief visit for lunch (8/23/2022) certainly demonstrated the 5 star caliber hospitality of JW Marriott Dongdaemun Sq., Seoul! 

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Service
Thank yukyungw2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kang Jennifer, 마케팅 at JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2022

Dear yukyungw2022,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our fantastic associates. We will be sure to congratulate them for their efforts!

Sincerely,

Eddie Choi
Front Office Manager
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022

I'm really not sure how so many people are giving this hotel 5 stars!

If you are staying on your own, there's no problem. But if you are staying as a couple, it's HORRIFIC. I am rating this hotel as 2 stars, based on a very likely experience for couples.

The bedroom area is not walled off from the bathroom area, as you might find with a Four Points. But what's far worse is that the bedroom area is also not walled off from the toilet area! The sound travels very well in the room and anybody in the bedroom can hear a pin drop from the bathroom.

Furthermore, there is only one (glass!) door for both the shower area and the toilet! It's one of those doors that swings to close either one. The functionality is just not good for couples.

Finally, for our room in particular (#929), when closing off the toilet area, the glass door wouldn't close all the way, so actually, somebody from the bedroom area could ACTUALLY SEE INTO the toilet area.

And I stayed in an upgraded room, as a Titanium! (Bonvoy members: I burned an SNA for this, what a mistake!) My upgraded room was called "King Bed, Executive Lounge Access, Skyview Room". And my understanding is that the layout is basically the same for the basic rooms, just smaller and/or without the bathtub.

No no no, please think twice before booking this hotel if you're staying as a couple... but don't take my word for it. You can see my 360-degree pictures to get a better idea of what's going on with the space, and then let your imagination easily figure out the rest. I have two pictures that show the two configurations for the glass door. Note especially how limited it goes up to the ceiling, and the lack of a 2nd wall separating the bedroom from the bathroom. (!)

The hotel is right next to Cheonggyecheon, which is great. A very pleasant excursion. The breakfast at "Tavolo 24" wasn't bad, but certainly not one of the best of the Marriott hotels (esp. of this tier) in Seoul, esp. when it came to the variety of hot Asian foods and fruit/salads.

The pool was open during our stay, but the spa and fitness rooms were not (presumably due to Covid concerns).

I live in the Seoul/Incheon area, and come out to Marriott hotels to staycation all the time. I won't be staying here again. If you plan to pay by cash, unless you have a compelling reason to stay here (i.e. you are a Bonvoy member and looking for this location right next to Dongdaemun Plaza), I'd book someplace else.

Whatever you do, if you are staying as a party of 2, don't pay cash for this hotel's "King Bed, Executive Lounge Access, Skyview Room"!!! It will be one of your bigger hotel-travel regrets!!! :-)

There are a couple Marriott hotels to the west, still near the Cheonggyecheon, and the 4P is the better one of those. Book that instead, in my opinion, it's far more comfortable and pleasant for a staycation esp. if you book the 4P's Deluxe Room! And if you're a big JW Marriott fan, choosing between this and the other JW, there's no comparison necessary.

As platinum and above, you'll get the choice of 1000 points or welcome amenities. If you're a couple aiming for a pleasant staycation, no basket of those is enough to compensate for how irritating the room layout is!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chih H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kang Jennifer, 마케팅 at JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2022

Dear Chih H,

Warm greetings from JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your previous stay with us.
We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during our guests’ travels, but we have unfortunately fallen short of that goal for you.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay, and it is regrettable to miss the chance to explain more details about the sky view room upon your check-in.
We will certainly look into your comments, and find the way to achieve our guest’s expectations with our best efforts.
Again, thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Eddie Choi
Front Office Manager
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022

エグゼクティブラウンジは先着順です。 一定人数が入ってくると、これ以上人数を受けずに締め切ってしまいます。 ラウンジの解禁はいたしません。 彼らはエグゼクティブパッケージでお金をもっともらいながらも、ラウンジ特典は特別サービスと言って限られた人数だけを収容します。 これは詐欺です。 朝食は午前9時に締め切られるので、遅れた場合は締め切りです。 士気に満ちたホテルなので、あまり良い経験ではありませんでした。

Executive Lounge is on a first-come, first-served basis. If a certain number of people come in, we will close without receiving any more people. There is no lounge cancellation. They receive more money for executive packages, but the lounge benefits are called special services, so only a limited number of people are accepted. This is a scam. Breakfast closes at 9 a.m., so if you're late, it's closed. It wasn't a good experience because it was a hotel full of morale.

Room tip: Please reconsider your reservation
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seungeon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kang Jennifer, 마케팅 at JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022
Google Translation

Seungeon J様、

この度は、JWマリオットホテル東大門スクエアソウルにご宿泊頂き、誠にありがとうございます。
お客様の大切なご意見とともに、私どものホテルに対するご愛情を頂きましたこと、重ねてお礼申し上げます。
私どもJWマリオットホテル東大門スクエアソウルはホテルは、訪ねて頂く全てのお客様に最高のリラックスと、より繊細なサービスをご提供させて頂くよう日々最善の努力を尽くしています。
我々のJWマリオット東大門スクエアソウルではもっと良いサービスを提供するようスタッフ一同、精一杯努めさせて頂きます。
JWマリオットホテル東大門スクエアソウルにお問い合わせなどがございましたら、お気軽にご連絡お願い申し上げます。
ありがとうございます。

Eddie Choi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2022

I stayed for 9 days at the JW Marriott Dongdaenum in Seoul. The location is excellent for shopping, visiting historic sites, and also taking long walks to people watch. There is a stunning historic gate right outside the Hotel (visible out the window from my room), a stream that traverses the city in front of the Hotel, a few Metro subway stops nearby, as well as numerous shopping centers within walking distance. The staff service was excellent and very attentive. There are 2 major restaurants on the premises, including BLT Steak, if you are in the mood for Western food. I rate the Hotel overall as excellent with just a few items on the downside: the fitness center was not open (due to COVID...), which was disappointing considering other major Hotels in the area had their fitness centers open. Some of the staff seemed a little "green", not being fully aware of the services available at the Hotel. For example, we were told that the jazz club on the top floor of the Hotel, named The Griffin, was not opened at all. As it turns out, it is only open on weekends, which wasn't made clear to us. We would have liked to go there, but missed out. There were other small items, but overall, the service and staff knowledge (as well as their English), is excellent.

Room tip: try to get a room that overlooks the Dongdaenum Gate. It is spectacular.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bogie400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews