We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”
Review of El Tonsy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Tonsy Hotel
Ranked #41 of 63 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Not sure how people can be voting this so high, this really is one of the worst hotels I've ever been in. I'm only giving it a two because the rooms are actually ok. Clean and quite nice for the price you pay....

However the breakfast was really the worst I've ever seen...disgusting and there was food and cigarette buts all over the tables from the previous night.

The lift is breaking down continually, as the hotel is on the 16th floor, it's a real pain.

There are much better places to stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MattyboyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

The enthusiasm of the people there to serve you and make you having a pleasant stay is so great , rooms are quite new , the view from the roof top is amazing plus something else , the location of the hotel is so close to everything , in walking distance from the museum , metro station , tahrir square and it is surrounded by local shops and restaurant
loved my stay there so much

Room Tip: if you say you are coming according to an advice of someone else that pay you extra attention ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mostafa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a budget hotel in the doqqi area of Cairo. Two metro stations (or 25min walk) away from the Central Maydan Tahrir area. Rooms contain AC and TV (no english channels however). Bathrooms are big, have hot water but quite weak shower pressure. Unfortunately the room was quite small (myabe i got one of the smaller one as i travelled alone). The breakfast isn´t bad and i served in the top floor restaurant which have a nice terrace with e beautiful view of Cairo and the Nile. However i never tried any other melas in the resturante.
The area is in a upper middle-class area just outside the downtown area with lots of returants, juicebars and in the vicinity.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The team was friendly, beds are fresh and clean, towels are clean, bar fridge and TV. Food and drinks are very expensive with 12% service charge and 10% tax charges - you can get cheaper drinks and food close by so it was not a train smash. Overall the hotel was okay, free wifi included

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estellem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My Self and my wife stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our holiday in Egypt. the hotel is located right in the centre of town and the room they give us is over looking the Nile after they knew that we are in Egypt for our honeymoon, they did not charge us any extra that was very nice of them. The breakfast is OK I think they need to improve it a bit more, but they serve you hot drink every morning and that is important for me. We did not eat at the restaurant because we were out most of the time. Rooms were very clean and they give you fresh towels everyday. if you are looking for clean rooms centre location cheap place to stay i would say consider this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.1 km away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
598 reviews
12.2 km away
Mesho Inn Hostel
Mesho Inn Hostel
#58 of 130 in Cairo
27 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sakkara Inn Hotel
Sakkara Inn Hotel
#9 of 63 in Cairo
19 reviews
2.8 km away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#66 of 130 in Cairo
14 reviews
2.1 km away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tonsy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tonsy Hotel

Address: 143 El Tahrir street, Dokki, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: RM74 - RM350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tonsy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL Tonsy Hotel is newly renovated. The hotel is located right in the center of Cairo 10 minutes walk to the Egyptian museum, 2 minutes to the River Nile, 15 minutes drive to the Giza Pyramids, 10 minutes drive to Khan El Khalili Market. The hotel has 25 rooms with A/C, Bathroom, Satellite TV, telephone, and some of which overlook the river Nile. Food is freshly prepared by or chefs. Relax in the bar or on the roof terrace with stunning views of the city and the river Nile. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Tonsy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing