We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
US$140
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
US$158
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City View Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cairo International Hostel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$26
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo(Cairo)
US$191
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$165
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
48
16
9
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
16
9
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh level of securitygrand hotelwi fiswimming poolopen buffetroom serviceclean roomscinemaluxurypalaceproximityconferencegymlounge
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I booked this hotel as it was close to the Exhibition Centre. Stayed four nights. I travel a lot for business in the Middle East, and stay in many hotels. The Almasah management is poor, and the staff have no concept of customer service, and just don't care. So many things that are necessary for a business visitor don't work. It's a 3* hotel masquerading as 5*.
Beautiful large gardens with trees, shrubs, and lawns rising up a hill. The paths are lit at night. Several restaurants in the grounds used mostly for functions. They are often 'fully-booked ', even though there are many empty tables.
The room rate stated that there was free wifi in the room. That did not exist. Numerous complaints produced just excuses. I had stand-in at the front desk, and said I would not leave until I got a result. An IT man knew the problem, and installed a router in my room from a wired ethernet port in the room. However the server worked only once in a while. Complaints achieved nothing.
Nice clean room, ( 300 series ), overlooking the pool, but noisy until late at night from music at the pool.
At 7 am one morning I was woken up by the room door being opened. A tall man, maybe Netherlands from his accent. He apologised that the key that the desk had given him opened my room. Later I complained to the desk. They said it could not happen. I was making it up ! Not a hint of an apology.
The hot water comes from an electric flash heater. That works off and on, producing dangerous variations in water temperature. For safety I switched it off.
The cable TV worked for a few hours, and never again. Complaints achieved nothing ( no surprise there ! )
Laundry does not get delivered back to the room. Arriving back late after business meetings needed numerous phone calls to get the laundry back. Took hours to sort out.
I could go on and on ! It's like a training video on how not to run a hotel ! It's difficult to describe the staff attitude. It's like as if they have done something wrong, and been forced to work in the hotel as punishment, but don't want to be there, and have no intention of doing any more than someone forces them to do.
Decent management and staff could transform the place. It's owned by the Army.

Room Tip: Don't stay there !
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theroadtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedahamid, Manager at Al Masa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review, we appreciate your feedback.

We regret that we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay and please accept our apology for any inconvenience that occurred. We will notify the problem with our operations staff and they will look into performing better in this area since we constantly aim to provide excellent service and it is unacceptable to hear that you were unhappy with your experience.

We hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.
Best Regards
Al Masa Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

At Al-Masah hotel , had Iftar in Ramadan with family at the Aqua Marine restaurant one of the restaurants in the hotel , open Buffet eat as much as you can too much varieties from meat chicken and fish and lost of carbs, but taste is regular nothing special, very expensive place though, after Iftar went up the mountain for drink at the Bergola lounge which is outdoor seating with a great view and nice weather and the drinks is the normal juices and caffeine drinks , good shisha(argela), too expensive place too. Will be back again(I think).

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Islam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedahamid, Manager at Al Masa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Al Masa Hotel, It is always a great pleasure to welcome & host you at our property, and we hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future At AL-Masa Hotel.

Best Regards
Al Masa Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

A super grand hotel, with an amazing lobby and staff who are bit weak on English skills but manageable. It's like owned by the military hence the safest as you find guards and personal everywhere for safety reasons, Was a bit annoying that we had to use the side entrance instead of the main one as some governmental meetings kept happening in the main lobby at all times hence gave a fair bit of cardio.

It's in Al Nasr city which was like 5 minutes walk to the exhibition Centre where we were supposed to attend hence was ideal for work. It's a bit distant in location from the tourist places but getting an uber wasn't at all difficult.

Loved the hotel as it had an amazing bowling alley of its own with an inhouse cinema and quite a lot of other stuff which we left for next time to discover!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Nuaym91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedahamid, Manager at Al Masa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Al Masa Hotel, It is always a great pleasure to welcome & host you at our property, and we hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future At AL-Masa Hotel.

Best Regards
Al Masa Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I went to hotel, bad securitiy check , bad mood in reception . they said open you case, give votka bottle to us. alcohol is forbiden in hotel ..........hahaahah, stupid rules.
I ask for a taxi , they not call a taxi, leave hotel soon .
never go this place again and NEVER ADVİCE no one .

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kemal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedahamid, Manager at Al Masa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review, we appreciate your feedback.

We regret that we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay and please accept our apology for any inconvenience that occurred. We will notify the problem with our operations staff and they will look into performing better in this area since we constantly aim to provide excellent service and it is unacceptable to hear that you were unhappy with your experience.

We hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Best Regards
Al Masa Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

the hotel is so elegant and fabulous the rooms are so clear and large the bathroom is new and very clear.the breakfast is so rich and so delicious and elegant.there's four restaurant with amazing food and many garden.The spaces are vast and there's two pools.the stuff are amazing and respect you so much the hotel is so cozy and it makes you feel like you're in a palace. i give this hotel 7 stars

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedahamid, Manager at Al Masa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Al Masa Hotel, It is always a great pleasure to welcome & host you at our property, and we hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future At AL-Masa Hotel.

Best Regards
Al Masa Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews