We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the middle of Cairo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
711 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the middle of Cairo”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Semiramis is well located, next to the US Embassy and close to the main avenues. It has nice restaurants, one barbecue grill next to the pool. For Western women I would strongly recommend going light in the swimsuits since many men from Arabic and African countries are not used to see women wearing small bikinis.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataBiancalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear RenataBiancalana,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I would like to thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

As for the swimsuits issue, we have not received any comment regarding the swimsuits before as the Semiramis InterContinental is an international brand hotel and we receives international guests.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    431
    144
    53
    46
See reviews for
287
315
116
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Initially, I chose this hotel for the location and the good deal they provided for "Club" rooms. The room we got after checking in past midnight and passing through pretty intense security(we could not take our swiss knife with us and had to check it in?)was nice and spacious with a fantastic view of the Nile and the city. Could not ask for better view. The location was indeed central and convenient for the museum and other sites. The hotel also had restaurants and a shopping arcade which was nice.
Now the problem I had with the hotel was the so called "Club" option for which one pays extra. The breakfast was just ok. I found later that you could request falafel and other choices, however, no one mentioned it. Perhaps a little menu of options would be helpful. The tea time was very mediocre compared to some of the other "Clubs", where I enjoyed sandwiches, spirits and other goodies. This "Club" only had pastries. The "happy hour" spirits choices were pathetic. International airlines offer more choice. Only whisky for liquor and couple of beers and wine. The actual food options were good. However, overall I was very disappointed. One of the previous reviews indicated this was the best "Club" service he received. I have no idea where he stayed. Also, service wise there was one server compared to 3-4 hotel people in suits milling about. The lounge area was nice and comfortable, where we got to use wifi. I agree with the previous reviewer- they should provide wifi in the rooms especially, the club rooms. The club eating area also provided a nice view of Tahrir square. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but not the "Club", unless they take it up a notch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear TorontoVa,

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager and I would like to thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

However, we are sad for not being up to your expectations in the club lounge, as this does not reflect our usual standards. You are important to us and your satisfaction is our most important goal.

We have reviewed all food contents with the chef and we are working now on a new setup to be implemented soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance, my email is: [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com]

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were a family of five booked in two adjoining rooms and the hotel went out of their way to ensure that we had a comfortable and safe stay whilst in Cairo. The gym was well used and the balcony overlooking the Nile was sensational. Free wifi in the lobby or cable in the room enabled us to stay up to date with blog updates and news from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Mark A,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I actually moved to this hotel from another (which was awful)! The location is great, the desk staff were excellent. The food in both room service and at the the restaurants (tried 3) was very good. I had a balcony facing the Nile - great view! The room was excellent - comfy bed, great amenities, etc. The only drawback to this hotel is the wifi in the rooms. They have wifi only in the lower 4 public floors, but not the rooms. They have cables in the room for internet access, but for all those who have Mac items (iPad, MacBook Air, etc), this is NOT a good option! PLEASE upgrade and get wifi in your rooms - this is a basic in better hotels today!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okayiguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Okayiguess,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your concern about WIFI connectivity on the floors will be taken into consideration.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We good a great corner suite with 2 balconies overlooking the Nile and Tahrir Square. The views of the Nile, and the constant roar of traffic and night clubs made the balconies exciting, but with the windows closed the room was almost silent. The living room / office area was huge, and the bed room was quite large and quite comfortable. Breakfast in the Club was convenient, and my wife always enjoys drinks and snacks in the club in the evening. Staff was great. And with the view of Tahrir Square from the Club you can get a sense of how the day is going to be. Location was great ... on the Nile, close to the Square, close to the Metro. I will definitely return. And yes, despite the disturbances in Cairo, this hotel feels perfectly safe and perfectly secure.

Room Tip: I am a frequent guest at InterContinental Hotels and a member of their Ambassadors Club. It costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear WISEGUY572,

Thank you very much for your review on the Semiraimis InterContinental Cairo. It was a pleasure reading that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that you will always consider the Semiramis your home away from home where no effort will be saved to render each and every stay a most memorable one.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo.

I remain,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 km away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,419 reviews
0.5 km away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.7 km away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
2.5 km away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price range (per night): RM654 - RM899
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing