We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable 3* hotel”
Review of Zayed Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zayed Hotel
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I organised my Siwa/White Desert trip through an Egyptian Company called Lady Egypt. Included in the package was 'day use' of a room at the Zayed Hotel before catching an evening bus to Siwa, so I only had about nine hours at the hotel.
My room was on the seventh floor facing the park/ square, which I found was a good choice as it was quiet and I was able to get a good rest after my long flight.
I was travelling alone and had a room with three single beds, so I could take my pick. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with clean linen, the paintwork and carpet were a little shabby but very good for a 3* hotel.
The bathroom was very clean with a large deep tub, the water pressure was good and the water was hot, a hair-dryer and lots of soft clean towels were also provided. The air-con, fridge and TV (sattelite with English channels) were all in good working order.
The staff were friendly, helpful and informative about the area pointing out the location of restaurants/banks in the area.
I liked the quirky Egyptian décor throughout the hotel and thought the lobby was very comfy and welcoming, there is a sign in the lobby that states “no food or drink to be bought in from outside” but I was not asked to open my bags when I came back to the hotel with my shopping. You can buy a large water at the hotel restaurant for 7LE, I did not have time to eat in the restaurant but it was clean.
The hotel is in a cul de sac and close to Arabiya st where there are lots of restaurants, coffee shops, fast food outlets, within easy walking distance. From the hotel it took about twenty minutes to reach Downtown by taxi and 30 mins on the way back.
The hotel is fine if you are staying for a couple of days and have transport otherwise you have to use taxis which are everywhere and cheap.

Room Tip: Walking distance to good local restaurants, fast food and coffee shops
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nefertari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Zayed Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

I spent some six nights total at Zayed and found it to be a better-than-average three star hotel. The lobby is decorated like some Egyptian fantasy and is staffed with very friendly people. Unfortunately, I had to run a gauntlet of cigarette smoke in the lobby to get to the elevator; there was just no escaping the smell. The halls and room had some nicely framed art throughout. My room during my first stay was quite large, with a king bed and a twin. Half of the king had a very soft mattress, while the other half was quite firm. The carpet needed restretching but that was about the only low note of the room. I appreciated having a small fridge in the room, and free wi-fi that worked more often than not.

The bathroom had nice fresh towels and a very deep tub with a splash panel covering one end, making it somewhat awkward to reach the controls. Hot water was scalding but the pressure was good. The bath and room were cleaned well every day.

The room I was given on my return from Luxor had three twin beds of varying degrees of firmness. It was as comfortably appointed as the other room.

The restaurant and the breakfast included with the room were another story. The coffee was instant, and the food that should have been hot was not even warm. The burners under the chafing dishes were never lit and the scrambled eggs and potatoes were pretty yucky served cold. At least the cold side of the buffet had plenty of fresh fruit, rolls, cheeses, and yogurt salad. The manager was very friendly but smoked constantly in the restaurant, which seems typical for Egypt wherever I went.

The hotel is situated on a small park just a couple blocks from a busy main road. There are a number of restaurants, groceries, and pharmacies in the area as well as a reliable ATM at the nearby gas station. I always felt very safe walking alone at night here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azbuceadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

an awesome hotel, i would recommend it to anyone destined to Cairo, close to shops, restaurants and other amenities. Has it's own restaurant with great food. Rooms very nice and spacious and the staff are super friendly. Looking forward to my return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's a really neat, cosy and a secure place to stay in with very friendly people. It's near by shops, pharmacies, restaurants. Great room service, and internet availability! I definitely recommend it.
-Abir kadi

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have just spent a couple of nights in this central located hotel with my family and had such a great experinece , I have never seen a spacious room similar to the one I stayed in .

Room Tip: If you book through booking.com they will offer you a free transfer from Cairo airport.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nader Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.0 km away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
0.0 km away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
0.0 km away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#22 of 42 in Giza
541 reviews
0.0 km away
Safir Hotel Cairo
Safir Hotel Cairo
#7 of 42 in Giza
462 reviews
0.0 km away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zayed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zayed Hotel

Address: Nr 42 Abu El Mohassen | El Shazly Square, Mohandeseen, Giza 12411, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Price Range: RM230 - RM289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zayed Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zayed Hotel is located in Mohandeseen Suburb, one of the most decent and high Standard areas about 15 minutes driving from Tahrir Square where the Egyptian Museum is located This modern hotel is strategically located This modern hotel is strategically located also about 20 minutes driving from Giza in a very quiet location overlooking green gardens and city center, the hotel is surrounded by a very popular shopping area, come & book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Zayed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zayed Hotel Cairo
Zayed Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing