We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$52
US$39
View deal
Hotels.comUS$47
Expedia.comUS$47
Agoda.comUS$39
eDreamsUS$39
CheapTicketsUS$47
FindHotelUS$52
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
125
38
13
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
38
13
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west bank roof terrace nubian village ping pong table guest house family room own bathroom breakfast and dinner spent nights abdul guesthouse ferry nile pounds history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2020

We have stayed in the guest house for two nights in early Feb 2020.

Facing the hill of the Tombs of the Nobles, the guest house is situated at the southern edge of a Nubian village. It has a lush garden in the front that evidently takes a large effort to maintain in the climate and rather stands out in its surrounding environment.

The house and rooms are clean and well maintained (other than the locks in the doors to the rooms that insistently test one's skill and patient to open). With simply equipped but adequate bathrooms, the rooms are nicely furnished, quite and comfortable.

The roof terrace is a very special place overlooking the hill and the city in the east bank afar. Tastefully decorated with a blue as the base color, it's comfy and homey. It's where the guests rest (with free coffee, tea and other fruity drinks) and dine.

The breakfast and dinner offered in house are specially wonderful - it's a home-made gourmet with quite a few touches of a great chef who mixes various styles however retaining the local style as the main theme.

The great chef is no one other than Abdel, the owner of the guest house, who is open, friendly and helpful, a proud Nubian with a deep root in the local community. He is very capable making one home in his guest house!

The guest house is just a 5-minute walk to the ferry which takes 5 LE to cross the Nile to the city center in the east bank.

If into it, one can walk around the surrounding village neighborhood that appears rather plain and basic, observing the folks going about their daily lives.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shiwanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

Our room was comfortable and the food good. We enjoyed meeting our tour guides who went out of their way to get to know us and to let us know them. However, the owner of the hotel was abrupt and surprisingly unhelpful. For instance, he did not show us how to turn the air conditioner on. Moreover, the logistics were poor. He failed to arrange for us to be picked up at the airport at the beginning of our trip. Since we arrived at 3 am, that was inconvenient. He could not be reached and, after 2 hours, we managed to contact the office in Holland to get help. Later in the trip, previously arranged transportation to the airport failed due to miscommunication so that we had to engage a taxi at the last moment.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MDAuldschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

I enjoyed everything about it, it was very welcoming both the host & staff. The location was ideal, it's setting, easy to find, beautiful decor, rooftop dining with delicious meals & great company. The host was kind & generous, I felt at home there.

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank IntrepidExplorer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens) spent 2 nights at this guest house.
Our first night we arrived around 8pm and even though we’d booked the family room we were relocated to another house- a short distance away- from the main guesthouse.
In this house we had 2 bedrooms, each with their own bathroom.
The rooms were clean. The bathrooms were ok but awkward (with the shower spraying across the entire room). However it felt a bit isolated.
The next morning we relocated to the main guesthouse. We were given a delicious breakfast on the rooftop. It was really great.

In the main guesthouse we moved into the family room: 4 beds and a bathroom...only the bathroom was separated from the room by a shower curtain - kind of weird & awkward. We all agreed to use the main bathrooms for our stay!
The sheets and towels were clean. Again the breakfast was delicious. There’s a ping pong table where Abdoul will challenge you to a match or two!
Getting to the guesthouse is quite easy. It overlooks the Tombs of the Nobles. The ferry takes about 5 min,and costs 2 Egyptian pounds. From there it’s about a 5 min walk.

I really appreciated the friendliness of Abdoul and his philosophy at the guesthouse. He insisted we feel at home and provided fruit, water, tea, coffee throughout the day.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kerri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

We stayed at Bet el Kerem for 2 x nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are basic but very clean. Abdel the owner was very hospitable and could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. He arranged a trip to Abel Simbel for us in which was very good value. If you want to make your stay in Aswan more authentic then we would definitely recommend staying at the Bet el Kerem.

Date of stay: April 2019
4  Thank Hillyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews