We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,063)
Filter reviews
2,063 results
Traveller rating
1,640
248
82
51
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,640
248
82
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract winston churchill nile wing the oriental restaurant indoor pool original building new wing old world steam room stunning hotel terrace restaurant high tea elephantine island the river huge bathroom watching the sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,244 - 1,249 of 2,063 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I am fortunate enough to have travelled widely, and my colleagues often jokingly call me princess for the standard of luxury I prefer to enjoy, but on this trip I could not have been better cared for should I actually have been royalty. The recently appointed manager has been exceptionally kind and has made my stay so special with upgrades to suites with the most fantastic Nile views but more importantly with his understanding and humanity on a personal level. The staff have been, without exception, kind, quiet and helpful, and the guest relations officers genuinely seem happy to have pleased you. Overall, I would say they are attentive yet not intrusive, interested and interesting people, so stop and chat for a while if you have the time. Our stay has perhaps been unusual in that we have chosen to stay here for a week as our destination, and not on route to anywhere else in Egypt, but we have happily filled our time. There it's lots to see; Philae, high

dam, Elephantine and Kitchener islands, the unfinished obelisk and the souk but the hotel itself is just as great an attraction with fabulous outdoor and indoor pools, a spa and the terrace where
you can just watch the felucca drift by. Another reviewer was disappointed with the Terrace menu, but this is essentially the cafe and as such more than reaches expectation. For a grander experience the 1902 restaurant cannot be beaten, with great food, fabulous surroundings and a waiting staff, Samah and Elia on the evening I went, who made the evening special with efficiency, fun and an ability to please which is rare. I asked for a pudding not on the menu and in 15 mins it was placed before me and was delicious.
Yes, there have been troubles in Cairo, but Aswan is calm and the Old Cataract is serene, so do not defer your trip, come now!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed Z, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Exceeding guest expectations is our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such compliments.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and this will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

we friends stayed as a layover from Luxor on the way to Abu Simbel. Rooms were in the new wing: fully refurbished, stunning contemporary design, WiFi, balcony overlooking the Nile bend - i was impressed by the quality!

Please keep in mind this part of Egypt does not have too much luxury to offer, so Sofitel is the top choice and staff working here are extremely proud to work here as well as overly zealous that guests' requests are satisfied. After having spend the whole day in the car visiting various temples in the area at the check-in we were besieged with questions about what we want for dinner and breakfast as well! (All i wanted at that point was a shower!). Due to the very early departure to Abu Simbel, we were then negociating for 20 minutes what could a breakfast box contain, etc - all this is to simply get you ready and patient that staff are really trying to help and keep you happy!
i was a little disappointed with quality of meal in the main restaurant on the veranda - was a very basic mediteranian selection. We ordered a european wine they did not have, but instead of saying so they spent 30 minutes trying to convince us to make another choice - a local Egyptian wine.

Otherwise, is stunning

Room tip: ask for the room in a new wing and view on the Nile. Sundowners on the balcony are amazing!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract on your visit to Aswan.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay with us. We also thank you for the positive review on our hotel and your flattering words.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with one of our restaurants did not meet your expectations. Please accept all our apologies and rest assured that answering the requests of our guests is of utmost importance to us.

We then look forward to your next visit at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have been really impressed by this hotel and its staff. We were upgraded for free to a prestige Nile view suite which was simply wonderful. The pool was beautiful and great atmosphere too. We had dinner at the 1902 restaurant, marvelous interior. The restaurant staff was exceptional. I wish we stayed longer there. Agatha Christie would still like it although the interior looks a bit more modern now. Good value for money. If you travel to Aswan this is the place to be!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talleah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you had been “impressed” by our hotel and that you found restaurant staff “exceptional”
All our Ambassadors work hard to assist our guests and make sure that every guest feels special.

We hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband, nine year old daughter and I stayed for just one night at The Cataract at the end of our Egyptian adventure! We actually left our cruise boat a day early because we wanted to spend a night here. Having booked a room in the new wing, we were delighted to arrive and be told that we had actually been allocated a suite in the old palace wing, overlooking the Nile - wow! The suite was beautifully presented with gorgeous furnishings and crisp white linen. The bathroom was large with a separate toilet and a fabulous shower. However, the best part was the huge sun deck complete with sun beds, chairs and a table. Watching the sunset over this most beautiful stretch of the Nile was something to remember forever. All of the staff were amazingly friendly and a special mention must go to Ahmed the pool attendant who was so wonderful with our daughter. Being Brits, we asked if we could see the suites where Agatha Christie and Winston Churchill stayed and we were given a fabulous tour by the guest relations manager - nothing was too much trouble.

I do take on board some of the comments of other reviewers - occasionally the service was a little slow and some staff members were almost a little too attentive in their efforts to please, but these things did nothing to spoil our enjoyment of what remains a stunning hotel.

Room tip: If at all possible, ask for a palace room or suite over looking the Nile.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

We are delighted to learn your family and yourself enjoyed your stay with us and would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words; it was really rewarding and motivating. Your special compliment about Ahmed working at the pool has been noted and will be forwarded to his attention.

We also took good note of your comments regarding the service and employees which have already been forwarded to the concerned department heads for their action.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We waited three years to stay at The Old Cataract due to the renovations. It was worth every minute of the wait, we stayed in the Old Wing (down the corridor from Agatha Christie's Suite) in the most stunning suite overlooking the Nile. On arrival our welcome couldn't have been better, Amira Gerges made us feel really special and made sure we had everything we needed. All the staff were polite and professional, even down to Mahud the laundry man who took such personal care of us. The restaurants (1902 and Oriental) were quite stunning and the food excellent both in quality and quantity, with the chef's from both restaurants visiting our table to make sure everything was in order. It was a highlight of our fourth visit to Egypt. You will not be disappointed I promise you. GO NOW! EGYPT IS STUNNING WITH LOVELY PEOPLE WHO WILL MAKE YOU WELCOME.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TenbyTravellers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

We are delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. We would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews