We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,063)
Filter reviews
2,063 results
Traveller rating
1,640
248
82
51
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,640
248
82
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract winston churchill nile wing the oriental restaurant indoor pool original building new wing old world steam room stunning hotel terrace restaurant high tea elephantine island the river huge bathroom watching the sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,063 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2020

I've travelled a lot in my life, and have stayed in some great hotels. This hotel, though, is in a class of its own. I have always loved Egypt and Agatha Christie, and Death on the Nile is my favourite of her novels. To be staying in the hotel where she stayed, and is mentioned in the book, has been a lifelong dream. I was worried that it would be an anticlimax, but the opposite is true. The history, the beauty of the hotel, the views, the service, the food, tha gardens... everything is fabulous. They even gave us a tour of the hotel, including the Royal Suite (which turned out to be right next door to our room). Staying here has been one of the highlights of my life and I will certainly be back.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank grayling38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2020

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent stay at our Sofitel Legend Old Cataract hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

What a beautiful hotel - inside and out. The location is incredibly peaceful and surreal, the reception, restaurant and pool areas with the view on the Nile are just gorgeous.
When we booked, it didn't mention whether the room was in the main (original) building or in the new one. We had booked a Nile view room - and I think that generally means in the new building, but this is information they should give on booking sites so just look out for that if you are concerned as to which building you want to stay in.
The new building is tall and rather obtrusive given the peaceful surroundings - but despite its exterior, our room was stunning. Everything from the decor, to the comfy bed (and pillows - a rarity for Egypt!) to the amazing spacious bathroom (bathtub even has a view on the Nile!), the balcony with an unbeatable view on the Nile. Loads of cupboard space, a separate lounge area, a separate kitchen area (for the minibar / kettle etc).
Only thing I can fault with the room was that the shaver sockets weren't working which was annoying as we couldn't charge our toothbrushes. And when we turned on the bidet, a load of brown water came out as obviously hadn't been used for a while, so maybe worth getting the cleaners to give it a run when they do their daily clean!
The pool area was lovely. Just a couple of observations - the pool was cold, which is a shame as you kind of have to brace when you get in, spoils it a bit.
There were a few tiles falling off here and there so could have done with a bit of maintenance. But nothing that troubled us too much!
All staff were kind, courteous and smiley. The concierge, I believe his name is Sarwat, was brilliant and set us up with some excellent tours and really made us feel like VIPs!
Now the food - nearly always an issue for us travelling around Egypt as I am vegan - was generally very good, but not outstanding. The menu was the same for lunch and dinner, which would get a bit boring if you stayed for more than two days. It lacked vegan dishes e.g. veg dishes...without cheese/dairy!! It would be nice to include a couple of appetising vegan dishes as this hotel seems forward thinking in other ways. Breakfast was decent too. I had a double helping of fruit and some bread with jam. Would be even better if the chefs could come up with something hot for vegans for breakfast. (Toast, sauteed potatoes, mushrooms, tomatoes or local equivalents etc..)
On one evening, we had the romantic private dinner under one of the pagodas. The chef(s) clearly made a special effort for this. Just a few comments - although every dish was delicious, there were way too many dishes and too much food so we only ate a fraction of it. I only hope the leftover food gets used or used in some way afterwards although I guess that wouldn't be hygienic? I ate fish that night as I don't believe there was a veg option for the private dinner, but even my husband would have appreciated less fish dishes and more salad / veg dishes to freshen it up a bit. Our waiter was charming and we had a guitar (well, Egyptian instrument like a guitar) player, which was really nice.
Another thing which would have improved this dinner and even in the restaurant upstairs was to have some anti mosquito repellent / burners under the tables - we got bitten like mad (I was wearing a skirt and forgot my repellent) so my ankles were mauled and still got scars to prove it. Silly me, but it wouldn't hurt to put those burners / sticks underneath each table outside for us fair skinned foreigners whom the mozzies love munching on! Our waiter kindly gave us some repellent but it was too late by that point, so if you go to this hotel and indeed anywhere near the Nile, take your repellent - cover your feet and ankles particularly at night!
If you are in Aswan I wouldn't stay anywhere else, may be expensive but it's definitely worth splashing out on. We'll definitely be back one day soon I hope - and aim on bringing friends and family with us.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2020

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
First of all, we truly thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.
Secondly, we appreciate sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.
At Sofitel Legend, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We would like to notify your good self to be assured that your valuable comments have been noted and communicated with departments concerned; whereby all necessary commitment has been taken.
Thirdly, I would like to shed light on your comment regarding on how to identify the room category at the Palace wing or the Nile wing .If you would like to book a room or a suite at the palace you will find the room category starts with PALACE, for example: PALACE LUXURY ROOM KING SIZE BED GARDEN VIEW, bearing in mind that at Palace wing Rooms are with Garden view only, however Suites are with Garden view & Nile view.
Finally, we greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Sofitel Legend Old Cataract hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan ensuring you another magnifique stay with us.
Best Regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020 via mobile

It was an amazing experience !
Perfect location , beautiful view & professional staff. We enjoyed lunch , it was delicious , the portion was good .

i Would like to thank Mr.Nagy Khalaf for being cooperative and For the great hospitality !

Ms. Sylvana thank you so much for being helpful and friendly .

Thank you SOFITEL Old Cataracte TEAM for the effort and for making this short visit MEMORABLE !

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 62hadeerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour

Thank you very much for sharing this amazing review of your recent visit at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your short visit and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our team members as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

After 2 days in Cairo, and 4 days exclusively cruising the Nile on a Dahabaeh, it would have been difficult to blast my mind and my excitement about Egypt.... then was this 2 nights stay at the Legendary Old Cataract in Aswan...!!!
Our suite was 1104...2 suites away from the mythical Winston Churchill suite... the welcoming from the staffs,especial attention by the Guest Relation Execitive Sawbat was mind blowing. We then went for a Spa treatment, like we try to do every time we stay at a Resort..at the Ols Cataract, it is not just a Spa ... it is a World of pleasure all in itself... we booked a dinner at the terrace of the Churchill suite.... what to say... the view, the service, the food, all made this stay simply UNFORGETTABLE...!!

Date of stay: January 2020
3  Thank OmiA748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
We are so happy to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.
We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the suite we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Fabulous family holiday. The whole staff we amazing in making everything clean, safe, memorable and an absolute joy. Everyone we spoke to enjoyed their jobs at the hotel and it showed in the customer service and atmosphere they have created. Fantastic place. Such a beautiful view and where modern practice meets some old world tradition. Lovely.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 361morganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2020

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent stay. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan was an enjoyable one. We certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews