We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$225
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
eDreams
US$225
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$320
US$222
View Deal
SAVE US$98
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Booking.comUS$225
Trip.comUS$225
StayForLongUS$320
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveller rating
1,658
248
83
51
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,658
248
83
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract winston churchill nile wing the oriental restaurant indoor pool original building new wing old world steam room stunning hotel terrace restaurant high tea elephantine island the river huge bathroom watching the sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We decided to spend 10 days in Old Cataract in Jan 2021 and enjoyed every single minute. First time I stayed in this hotel was in 1995 and I must say the hotel has managed to sustain very high level of service since then.
Chose Nile view rooms and you would not need to switch Travel chanel on TV because your window view will be 10 times better). We stayed in both Palace wing and in contemporary building and it is hard to say which one is better. Room in Palace had that historic smell of the place while room in the new buidling on upper floor had amazing terrace. Both with amazing views. Staff was very friendly, also many thanks to our concierge Sarwath who helped us to get railway tickets to/back from Luxor. Food is good - try lamb and seabass. Intnl wine was rediculously overpriced, so we decided to try local ones.
You can get fellucas down the stairs to have a nice Nile trip and we used it couple of times renting the boat for few hours. The hotel is perfect to plan your one day trip to Abu Simbel and is close to Philae island.
Nice heated open air swimming pool.
Old Cataract is in my top 10 favourite hotels.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vladkhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. It truly is heart-warming to read of our valued guests stays and how our passionate team create memorable moments for them.
Tharwat is so grateful as well for your kind feedback. The entire team are exerting every effort to make every valued guest enjoy his stay at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel legend Old Cataract Aswan again soon for another unique experience with us!
Warm regards,
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

The hotel is very relaxing,room is very comfortable and clean,staff are always friendly ,smiling and helpful.Breakfast was good but need more variety.
This time I came in a business trip but next time I will come with my family.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nour987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 
We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel.
In regards to your comment about the variety at breakfast ,kindly be informed that i have forwarded your comment to our executive chef .
Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit with your family.
Warm regards,
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

In our travels on 7 continents, only a few hotels have stood out as truly unique.
The Old Cataract Hotel is such a place. The hotel's architecture fits perfectly with the location. The view of the Nile from the hotel is truly breathtaking. Although the hotel is over 120 years old, the hotel has been beautifully renovated and restored.
We stayed in lovely hotels in Cairo and Luxor, but neither of them were comparable to
the Old Cataract.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 668francisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Sofitel Legend Old Cataract hotel hotel for your visit to Aswan and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all.

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our hotel .

We are also glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Egypt .

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards,
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Old cataract is perfectly located on the shores of river Nile in Aswan, Egypt. You literally feel you’re in a trip to the past with the beautiful old building, ceiling drawings, vintage furniture and great hospitality.
The room was spacious and the view was just amazing. Highly recommend for family honeymooners.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 488hazemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear Valued Guest
Bonjour
Thank you for making our Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.
We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

We had a very pleasant evening and enjoyed every moment. Very friendly and professional service. Excellent quality of food. Somehow limited choices on the menu but this is very much understandable and justifiable considering the current epidemic conditions.
The view is great and the cleanliness is remarkable.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 965samehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahmoud Fathy, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear valued Guest
Bonjour
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.
We thank you for pointing out the Cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis.
Warm regards,
Mahmoud Fathy
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews