We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$78
US$44
View deal
SAVE US$34
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
Hotels.comUS$78
PricelineUS$78
eDreamsUS$78
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
101
145
104
47
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
145
104
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nubian museum highest hill hotel is located pool area spent one night here abu simbel nice pool call to prayer unfinished obelisk old cataract star hotel nile view elephantine island egypt tour terrace relation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2020

On arrival a man named Georges welcomes you generously with a "you are at home" .... but quickly you understand that you made the wrong choice. The staff is led by a man named NADER, the director. A man who does not know that his swimming pool is disgusting and that filtration does not work (3 pumps out of 4), that the surroundings of the swimming pool are full of cigarette butts and other detritus, that sinks and bathtubs do not 'have more plugs, than the beds are uncomfortable (cross mattress for a double bed that the air conditioning in your room does not work and everything else. This NADER must be put at the door. the hotel is poorly maintained, the elevator breaks down twice in the week .... a shame ... the Basma is a place to avoid. Management is poor and incapable. a man called "Christine" is trying to do ... we do not know what to improve things but in reality does nothing for fear of the big manitou .... mister NADER. We wonder what he is doing at this position. The restaurant is a shame, the service is triple zero, evrything is old, not working.....a shame. I travel in Egypt since 2001....I made around 38000km inti the western desert to discover art rocks. I love Egypt for years. 28 trips.....but with the Basma with reach the summit of the bad Egypt.

Room tip: NEVER book the Basma in Aswan. NEVER USE THE SERVICE OF EBOOKERS.COM a cery bad company. See my comments on Ebookers
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CP69005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2020

We only stayed for a night but the room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but perfectly adequate for a night. Breakfast buffet was quite nice but a little limited in choices. The pool area looked lovely but we didn’t have chance to use it. Only a short walk to the Old Cataract Hotel where we went for a fantastic afternoon tea!

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elagia George, General Manager at Basma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Dear valued Jan,
Good morning From Basma Hotel Aswan.
Thank you for spending your time to share this amazing comment with us.
It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Basma hotel Aswan was an enjoyable one.

we are looking forward to welcoming you again and again with honor.

best regards.

Febronia Fady
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

Just came back from a short but long waited holiday in Aswan. We chose this hotel because of the location and view from the hotel - we weren't disappointed. Yes the hotel needs an update but the service we got was top. Always friendly and eager to help you. Food maybe lacks in variety but was delicious. I saw some reviews saying food should be more international but as long you are traveling in a different continent you should try to enjoy local food. View from the room was amazing and has easy access to the majority of touristic attractions. If we had more time to visit them all would have been great, but we managed only to see Feryal Gardens, Unfinished Obelisk and Elephantine Island (get a public ferry - few meters away from Egyptair office, if you dont find it just ask the local police - they were very friendly and helpful). We had an amazing holiday thanks to Sandy (arranged our booking but helped us with answers not related to her job - big thank you!), Mohamed from reception (hope i got the correct name - very friendly and professional) and last but not least Febronia ( Guest relation with a smile and always happy to help you). Thank you all and hope to see you soon! For me Aswan is the best place to visit in Egypt

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 684adinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elagia George, General Manager at Basma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Dear valued Adinat,

warm good morning from Basma Hotel Aswan.
We would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to ourBasma Hotel Aswan and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your visit and our staff plays a key role to our guests . The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm memories.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards.

Febronia Fady.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

This hotel is situated on Aswan's highest hill, has unique views over the River Nile and featuring a terraced garden. Service is excellent too. Breakfast also good. Staff friendly and helpful. Cleanliness could be better.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Mina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elagia George, General Manager at Basma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Dear Mina,
Greetings from Basma Hotel Aswan.

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent stay with us. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at the Basma Hotel Aswan was an enjoyable one.

actually, we are working on a more quality of cleanliness.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards
Febronia Fady
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

I’ve been here last February 2020. Rooms old and dirty. No shower cup and towels: I had to ask for them, had to wait next day. Furniture old and in bad status: in my bed sheet two small stains of blood. This hotel is 4 stars but it’s a real lie: I guess it was nice when it was opened year ago but it lacks in maintenance.
Morning breakfast too much Egyptian, it should be more international.
The low price should suggest you to be careful while booking it....it could be fine only for 1 night, then go away....

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ViaggiatoreExpert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elagia George, General Manager at Basma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Dear Valued Guest,
Good morning.
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to Basma Hotel Aswan, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay.

we took serious steps to improve our quality. and we promise that you will see the difference in the next visit.
we are looking forward to serving you again and again with honor.

best regards,
Febronia Fady
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews