We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$615
US$220
View deal
eDreamsUS$220
PricelineUS$220
Trip.comUS$552
Agoda.comUS$220
StayForLongUS$615
Destinia.comUS$412
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
233
56
6
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
56
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giraffe center rose petals long flight small hotel sheldrick elephant orphanage large bathroom an overnight stay karen safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We were part of a post Fam trip (coming from Safaris) invited by KTB.
In these times of C-19 privacy and intimacy are very important. Also the area located (giraffe center, Karen Blixen house) are nearby.
Rooms are huge and confortable. The staff is friendly and efficient. The cheff is a mastercheff !!! well done !!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavierBarbetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Javier,

Greetings from Sunny Nairobi hoping that you are keeping well.

We are happy that you particularly enjoyed the tranquility and intimate set-up of our hotel. The safety of our guests is always our top most priority and we are glad to have hosted you as guests of KTB. We are glad you also got to enjoy the attractions found within the Karen area to include the Giraffe Center, Karen Blixen Museum, Sheldrick Elephant Trust, Kazuri Beadworks and Matbronze among many others.

Our newly renovated and refurbished rooms are now much more spacious as you have mentioned and we are happy to note that you had a wonderful and cozy stay. Our staff are always happy to be of service to our vast guests that stay with us and they are delighted to hear of your wonderful review of the service rendered to you during your stay. The kitchen team is ecstatic that you enjoyed all the meals we had to offer.

We do look forward to hosting you once again or your guests and making the stay worthwhile in our charismatic True Spirit of Modern Africa.

From All of us at House of Waine, we say... Karibu Tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

House of Waine is a large country house which has been turned into a small hotel and has recently been refurbished tastefully in shades of grey and silver so it looks quite different from some of the photos online. However, I personally feel that this has resulted in a loss of character as it now feels rather bland and 'international' rather than Kenyan.

As the only occupants during COVID we were upgraded to the Malaika suite which is ridiculously huge and sunny with windows on three sides, a large bathroom with both a corner bath and a shower and a separate dressing room. It also had a balcony overlooking the gardens and pool with room for both a dining table and chairs and a coffee table and sofa plus two large, adjustable umbrellas.

Service is excellent, especially Alex on the front desk who was very helpful with sourcing PCR Covid tests and other admin. Despite the tribulations of the pandemic, they still seem to have a large staff working and everyone was friendly and helpful, masks were worn and social distancing observed.

Breakfasts were good and they kindly set up a table for us on the lawn. The fruit plates were variable but that might just be because we don’t particularly like melon! Cereal and bread were basic but the cooked breakfast was excellent. However, while service was very professional, it could also be quite slow with not much forethought. The set lunch was 4 courses which was too much for us so when we ate lunch we asked for a salad, which was perfect. The dinners were also 4 course and felt very old school with a starter, soup course (usually very good), meat or fish with potatoes and veg and a pudding.

However, this is a lovely place to come back to after the hectic pace of the outside world. We spent four days here before going on safari and considered staying somewhere else on our return but, having looked at the alternatives, we chose to return and were delighted that we did. It felt like coming home.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lazzagear,

Greetings from House of Waine in sunny Nairobi. We do appreciate your review of our property and your candor with respect to our ongoing renovations and facelift. We are yet to roll out the new images online as the current refurb is 90% completed. The aim of the soft furnishings was to lighten the heavy feel our rooms had previously and tone done the color blasts by ensuring the room blends with the natural environs of our beautiful surroundings. We still maintain our core value of being a hotel with the Spirit of Modern Africa which incorporates both traditional and modern aesthetics in design and look.

We always want our guests to experience the best we have to offer and are happy that the room upgrade made the stay extra special and brought in the feeling of home. Our staff are dedicated to all our guests and we always encourage them to go the extra mile and ensure that all guest needs are met and exceeded. Alex will be delighted to hear of your kind words.

The English Breakfast we serve is of international standard but we are always happy to customize it for our guests especially in due consideration of dietary requirements. The seasonal fruits offered can always be changed and we will ensure your next visit has all the tropical fruits in our rich country. Our a la carte lunches and dinners are usually vast and we always encourage guests to make their preferences known and not feel that they have to partake of all the offerings. We are happy to note that the meal service experience met your expectations.

We are always happy to have you back during your next visit post-pandemic and we believe that the hectic pace experienced during this visit will be a thing of the past.

From all of us at House of Waine, we say... Karibu Tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Very comfortable, spacious rooms. Located near many attractions and artisan shops in Karen District of Nairobi. What it lacks though is character. Decor, although new, is uninspired and without personality. Much could be done, and the space and the tranquil setting are really lovely.
The garden is impeccable.
Staff were extra extremely attentive and the food was delicious.
The cottage has a more homey feel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank AfricaTravelCentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Assistant General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Dear Africa Travel Centre,

We thank you for your review of the hotel and the analysis of our rooms which you did during your site inspection.

We want to confirm to you that your proposals are well taken into consideration as we are planning soft furnishings for all our 11 beautiful boutique rooms which will be individually styled to give each guest a different experience from all over the world in The Spirit of Modern Africa. The rooms will all have the original and renewed personalized special themes adopted from local cultures and the African continent.

We do encourage you to visit us once again to enable us showcase to you our newly done rooms after May 2020 and assure you a renewed perspective on what the House offers. Our staff are happy to hear of how much you appreciate their service and the food served while enjoying the lush gardens that are home to various indigenous birds.

Please feel free to contribute further with ideas about our rooms by writing to us (mail@houseofwaine.co.ke) and we are more than happy to be of service to you in the future in our usual World Class Style.

Best Regards,

The House of Waine Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

Huge lovely room, blissfully quiet, beautiful gardens, birds including a Turaco outside our room! Great service, highly recommend this hotel as a stopover in a lovely part of Nairobi. Easy airport access - loved it!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Assistant General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Dear Liz,

We are glad to have hosted you for the overnight stay in our beautiful boutique hotel and it makes us proud to hear such a wonderful review of our hotel. The staff are happy to hear of how much you appreciate the service rendered to your during your stay with us.

We are happy to know that you loved our lush gardens that is both quiet and a home for different indigenous birds such as the beautifully colored Turaco. The airport drive has been made easily accessible through the highway bypass and we thank you for recommending the hotel as we look forward to hosting you once again and extending our World Class service with The Spirit of Modern Africa.

Best Regards,

The House of Waine Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

This hotel was booked for an overnight stay after a long flight to Nairobi. We had a pre planned visit to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage early evening and so we checked in quite late. We were given a warm welcome by very friendly staff and shown to an amazing suite. It was very spacious and had a great view of the garden and the pool. We had mentioned to our travel company that this holiday had been booked to celebrate a special wedding anniversary and obviously this information had been passed on to House of Waine. Our suite was strewn with rose petals and the bed was beautifully decorated with over 40 red roses. There was also a very thoughtful gift of a memory book. We hadn’t been in the suite long when a complimentary bottle of bubbly arrived. We went down to eat our evening meal and they had set up a private table for us suitably decorated with hearts. We enjoyed a delicious romantic candlelit dinner. We slept like babies in the sumptuous giant sized bed and feeling refreshed enjoyed our breakfast overlooking the garden. The service here is spot on and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a flight to catch after breakfast to head off on safari. What a fantastic start to our holiday at House of Waine, certainly very memorable and it was just a shame we weren’t staying a bit longer. Many thanks!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C2089DUkimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Assistant General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Dear Kim,

We were happy to have been part of the celebration of your wedding anniversary and appreciate the kind words from your review of the hotel from the welcome to the farewell.

The Malaika Suite that you stayed in is our pride and joy and often referred to as the Grande Dame to signify it's grandiose size. The team is happy to note of your satisfaction with the service rendered together with the surprises and pampering you received. The tranquil and peaceful stays are our signature and are happy that you experienced it all.

While we also felt that your stay was short, we are happy to know that you will consider us for your next special day as we plan to maintain our World Class service extended to you in the true Spirit of Modern Africa.

Best Regards,

The House of Waine Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews