We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$178
View deal
Expedia.com
US$209
US$153
View deal
SAVE US$56
Hotels.com
US$209
US$153
View deal
SAVE US$56
PricelineUS$178
CheapTicketsUS$153
Destinia.comUS$209
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
656
230
50
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
656
230
50
14
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river game drives hot water hippos and crocodiles indian food gift shop fire pit our waiter reception area lunch and dinner the kitchen staff turn down service luxury tents day safari mosquito net bush breakfast every evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

Great to see Ashnil Mara taking steps to keep clients happy even though tourism is in trying times.
Always a warm welcome by the manager and the wait staff.
Some heavy rains during our stay but thats part of the maasai mara magic. Best enjoyed with some lovely hot coffee.
Its great to see that Ashnil have embraced a new chef who is producing some great meals. We were very few guests so the meals are served hot on your table with a set menu.
Food was fresh and refreshingly palatable.
Fantastic service from the wait staff.
Ashnil are also doing renovations to the tents, which was sorely needed. Great to see they have completed almost half the renovations. Hope they attend to the tired plumbing and bathroom fixtures before the peak season.
On that note I hope they keep up the great work, attendance and food throughout the year, and I will be back for sure.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kenyandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Nyamanga, Other at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Kenyandes,

How nice to read your review!

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you again and thanks for the confidence you've always bestowed on us when it comes to choosing your preferred holiday destination.
I'm glad we didn't disappoint in anyway and as usual, you enjoyed every bit of our hospitality.

We're soldering on with the camp upkeep by undertaking renovations despite the turbid situations occasioned by the corona pandemic, and we'll cover even the plumbing issues in the rooms as you've suggested.

Once again thank you very much and wish you all the best, as we wait to warmly welcome you back.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021 via mobile

We arrived in Ashnil to find very welcoming staff members who offered us a drink upon checking in. We were welcomed by the manager who had a great and welcoming personality. We then went on a game drive and found a lot of animals especially lions. We were lucky to see baby Cubs in a pride of 15 lions. Ashnil rooms were clean and were facing the Mara River. Truly spectacular views. Their food is amazing and the customer service is excellent. One of the waiters Mr Amos stood out a lot and made the guests feel welcomed. The staff are very thoughtful as we witnessed them sing and give a cake to a couple celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary. Keep up the great work guys. 5 stars and greatly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hass331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Nyamanga, Other at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear Esteemed Client,

We thank you for having chosen to stay with us and even more for these wonderful review.

It's always our ultimate objective to meet and exceed our customers expectation, of which is accomplished through our gorgeous rooms, sumptuous culinary delights complimented by enchanting services from the staff. I'm glad you found this to be the case and enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you and welcome you back again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

We have stayed at Ashnil some days ago and I has been incredible. Fabulous experience beginning for the phenomenal tents, impecable swimming pool, great staff, fabulous location at Mara river with the hippo in front of the camp, and in the beato of Masai Mara....the Safari games with the big 5 around you....The food is pretty good although perhaps some plates could be better.

But I congratulate to all the Ashnil staff, all they are very nice, kind, professionals, and efficient. But specially I would like named to Daniel, the manager, and Alfred and his wife that helped me to prepare a memorable surprise dinner for my wife at the swimming pool, that we never forget.

We can’t stand for coming back again!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Nyamanga, Other at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Dear Peter,

We thank you for having chosen to stay with us, and more so for these encouraging review.

Its gratifying to note you had a wonderful time and can even singe out some staff who made your stay memorable.
At Ashnil we take pride in our staff who are our ambassadors and will always go the extra mile to make our esteemed guests stay memorable in a special way as you experienced.

We have taken note of the concern on plates and assure you this will be looked at n addressed promptly.

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again or any of your fiends/colleagues you may refer to us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

Great value for money! Beautiful tented camp with big rooms and private bathrooms. The only downside is the limited times where there is hot water. Delicious food that the staff ensured to cater for us being vegans. Hippos right outside. Lovely staff

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank SLM1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Nyamanga, Other at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are grateful for having hosted you, and truly value the feedback herein.

We have taken note of your concern on limited time for hot water for shower and assure you these is work in progress, as are slowly but steadily investing on solar which will address the issue permanently.

We're delighted to note despite this hitch you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the warm hospitality from the staff.

We thank you and welcome you back again to enjoy our ever improving product.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

I spent 2 days at Ashnil Mara camp and both days were perfect. They organised everything with almost no notice and they did it perfectly. Daniel , the manager, was always there to help. The tents are amazing, perfectly decorated, great beds and you can have a view of Mara river and the hippos from your own terrace. The service is perfect and the food too. Truly luxury in the middle of one of the most beautiful natural reserves in the world. Definitely I will go back.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jesuspsmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin Nyamanga, Other at Ashnil Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Jesus,

Wow, thank you for these nice review!

Its truly gratifying to note you enjoyed your stay at our luxurious tented camp and will definitely visit again.

Together with my team, we say a big thank you and look forward to welcoming you back again or any of your colleagues/friends you may recommend/refer to us.

Thanks again and have a bountiful year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews