We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara Crossings Camp
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$926
US$838
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilima Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$516
US$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$534
US$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$574
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,449
US$1,304
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
49
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippos and crocodileshis teamthe riveropposite bankluxurious tentshot waterperfect staygame drivesmasai guardsasante sanaan incredible experiencebush breakfastboscobushesbanksmigrationmarvel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Mara Crossing was in the best location with a view of the river and hippos. The tents were clean and beautiful. The staff were all friendly and there was always plenty of yummy food. The game viewing was amazing and not many other vehicles around. It was a magnificent holiday.Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catriona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I am not used to writing comments, only when i am very pleased, or very disappointed... This establisment deserves a stunning review!
Very private and exclusive location location on the banks of the mara river, with a sundowner area facing the river where a group of hippos resides, simply magical! This is a boutique establishement, with about 10 tents, offering a lot of privacy. There is no mass tourism around, only a few other camps, which we never saw!. This has a direct impact on your game drives, as you almost dont see other cars, the Mara was ours! (i have experienced the other side a few years back, it makes a huge difference not having ten jeeps around the animals spoiling the magic...). It was not that time of the year, but our driver shown us the 2 main crossing points during the migration, and these are just 5-10min away from the camp!
We had everything we needed at the camp, including wifi, running water (steaming hot showers). Lovely lounge/bar area, that was stocked with my favourite poisons! :) The food is very fresh and tasty, we were offered a few suggestion at every meal, including vegetarian, and we had the pleasure of a Kenyan BBQ during our stay. The staff was caring and anticipating all our needs.
A word for the management: you should update your photos here, as they do not do justice to the tents and camp. I understand it has been recently refurbished, i can tell that it looks even better than the pictures here.
Thank you so much for the great time we had, I look forward to returning with my family during migration period! Asante sana!

Room Tip: all are different and well located. Familly tent: living room + two luxurious bedrooms facing the river.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Niccolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Mara crossings is a beautiful little camp (8 rooms) in an amazing location. During migration, this would be one of the best locations as it is less than a 10 minute drive to the main crossing point.

The rooms are comfortable, and the fact the property overlooks the river with plenty of hippos and crocodiles is an advantage.

Staff are friendly and accommodating and the food is very good.

One development point would be the company cars which don’t seem as good as the ones of other lodges.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank kavlashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Flew into Governors Camp Airstrip ( 5160 feet above see level) from Wilson Airport in Nairobi, collected by our guide/ driver and driven to the Mara Crossing Camp - on Mara River - through the plains.
Fantastic camp site, luxurious tents and great views, very tasty food and attention to detail from Charles and his team. Well protected site with guards all night.
Try the picnic breakfast on the Mara Plains.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sushil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had a very satisfying family stay at the Mara Crossings camp in Aug'17 first week. The camp’s location is very nice, the staff was very friendly and cooperative, the accommodation was good and the food delicious. Camp manager Bosco and his team were always attentive to any of our needs.

A special mention for chef Thomas who prepared very good Indian food and went the extra mile to ensure we got vegetarian meals as per our requirement. I could not believe that an African chef could turn out such good Indian food in a camp in the middle of nowhere.

The camp's location is very close to one of the wildebeest crossing points and we saw two successful crossings in our three-day stay. It is also close to lion sightings points and also leopard territory if you are lucky. And of course you can spend hours sitting besides the river watching the resident hippos.

As close to being a perfect stay as it can get.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews