We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$239
US$215
View deal
SAVE US$24
Hotels.com
US$239
US$215
View deal
SAVE US$24
Booking.com
US$239
US$215
View deal
SAVE US$24
CheapTicketsUS$215
Orbitz.comUS$215
PricelineUS$239
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
440
45
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
440
45
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle view base camp masai mara the river game drives walking safari outdoor shower local community great safari asante sana after dark soups wonderful experience national reserve lunch and dinner family tent spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2021

My wife and I just returned from a 3-night stay here, and it was absolutely amazing! Our cabin was a large tent set up inside a solid wooden lean-to with a sizeable balcony in the back looking across the Talek river over to the Masai Mara national reserve. The outdoor shower and the swing sofa in the balcony were our favorites in the cabin.

The best part of our stay here was the food and hospitality. Our attendant at the dining area, Ben, was polite, attentive, and very helpful. My wife doesn't eat meat, but enjoys fish. I eat chicken, no red meat, but prefer fish and vegetarian. Ben brought the chef Enock to meet with us at our table, who took note of our preferences, made suggestions for our meals, and he literally custom-cooked every single of our meals during our stay. Our favorites were the coconut-curry tilapia, and the Indian style lentil soup. Each lunch and dinner was a perfectly-catered three-course meal, served a la carte. The expansive views of the national reserve from the dining area, across the river, and the beautiful sky with the gazelles and baboons in the distance were amazing. After dark, the staff would lit up kerosene lamps hung on the pillars, and lit up wood-burning fireplaces, in the dining area.

There is a wooden bridge over the Talek river that takes you from the dining area over to the national reserve. It is very convenient as you can have your game-drive driver pick you up and drop you, on the other side of the bridge - as you are then right there in the national reserve.

A group of Masai stay up during the night to protect the camp and its residents from wildlife, that often cross the Talek river into the camp. The Masai escorted us back to our cabin after dinner as it was dark. They escorted us early in the morning the day we went for a balloon safari. We never saw a wild animal in the camp, but heard stories from the Masai of leopards and lions being spotted in the camp at night, and driven away.

We would certainly love to go back to the Basecamp during our next trip to the Mara.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 291saikatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, General Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Dear Saikat,

We thank you for having chosen to stay at Basecamp Masai Mara and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your compliments on our Camps and are always helpful staff. Indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We thank you once again for your positive remarks, it is through such interactions that we have continued to improve our service delivery. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on Safari. Couldn't have been more perfect! Firstly, the setting of the camp is just incredible. All the tents/rooms and dining area are right by a river which looks onto the Mara. One of the highlights of the trip was sitting with a drink near the river admiring the sun setting after a long day of safari. At BaseCampuou really feel 'at one' with nature whilst still getting the luxury of 'glamping'. The rooms were big and beds very comfy and clean. The food was good and the people working there were so friendly and chatty.

I will definitely be staying here again when I next go on safari!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annadewinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, General Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2021

Dear Anna,

We appreciate having taken your time to review our camp and for your positive comments regarding your stay at Camp. We are always open to our guest's feedback and views. Our greatest aim is to ensure complete guest satisfaction and memorable moments and we are happy to have matched your expectation. Rest assured, that we will share your appreciation together with the entire staff as a further encouragement within the team to ensure we maintain the best services to our guests. We do hope that upon your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy our camp a little bit longer.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

My cousin and I spent three days at the camp and it was just amazing. The camp is really good located, on our way to the camp we crossed the road of zebras, topi, pumbas, gazells, monkeys.

We stayed in a very clean and spacious tent, we had a view on the river.
The food was also excellent, we always had the choice.

I'd like to say Asante Sana to the chief and his staff for the 4stars meals we ate and a big bravo for the excellent lunchbox, Yummy !!!

I am also thankful to the staff for the support, the kindness during our stay there. YOU PAMPERED US .

If you want stay in a authentic and friendly, the basecamp is the place to be.

Asante Sana !!

Maisha ni mazori Sana at Base camp!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mawak2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, General Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

Dear Mawa,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and are always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We thank you once again for your positive remarks, it is through such interactions that we have continued to improve our service delivery. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020

Based on our description of what we wanted from the trip; our tour provider recommended that we stay at Base Camp whilst in Maasai Mara It was amazing, and provided a huge tent sort of room, with hot showers, and was clean and safe - whilst providing an authentic safari experience. Maasai locals guided us around the camp at night, which was a nice touch and added an additional safety element from lions potentially roaming into the camp. The food was amazing and all of the staff were extremely polite and helpful.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikefodor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, General Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2021

Dear Mike,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020

This camp is out of this world. We spent 3 nights there and hated to leave. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is top notch! The tents were clean and spacious. Our last morning we got to watch giraffes and zebra across the river in Maisa Mara. What a way to have breakfast.

The food is very good with a great variety. Our particular server Ben meet and anticipated our every need. He made our trip even better.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drpod100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, General Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Basecam Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews