We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

At first we had an unfriendly ranger, so we asked for another and he was great! We were fortunate enough to see the wildebeest cross the Mara River and somewhat fortunate/unfortunate (depends how you look at it) to see a cheetah kill and ingest two antelopes within a 2 hour time frame. It was very intense to say the least. It's a trip that we will never forget!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vdubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 391 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Arriving into Kenya at the start of our safari to Kenya & Tanzania we had no idea what a treat awaited us on the 2nd day..Our tour operator was General Tours World Traveler (excellent) and they flew us from Nairobi to the airstrip at the Masai Mara where the magnificent Fairmont Mara Safari Club welcomed us. I'm a travel professional of 30+ years, have stayed at some of the world's best hotels, but no previous experience compared to the opulence, setting and service offered by this Fairmont. The luxury tents all overlooked the Mara river and a huge crocodile was snoozing in the sun just across from our deck when we checked in. The tents are huge with two queen beds, Turkish rugs, ebony end tables and a beautiful, fully outfitted bathroom. The entire staff from front desk to restaurant servers to grounds and tents caretakers were the most friendly and dedicated professionals I've encountered. The guides for the game drives were wonderful and consistently found us the best spots for seeing the most wildlife. The public rooms and the grounds surrounding are works of art. No one will be disappointed by this property !

Room Tip: Not a bad room to be had here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It was great for me and my close friend to be at the club. We were there for two nights but when time came for checking out, we were too reluctant to leave the club. It is the place to be at the Mara. When you step at the Club, you are ushered by great staff with smiles everywhere in the compound, it is incredible. The tents are extremely comfortable and decorated with local Masai style furnishings facing the famous masai mara river full of Hippos and crocodiles. A big thank you to the Mara Club manager Mr. Munene and all other staff especially our tour guide Mr. Anthony, Waiter Mr. Luxon and our room attendant Mr. Cyrus for their dedication to their work and making our stay at the club to be fantactic. Coming back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Beautiful lobby,bar and restaurant. The permanent tents are spacious and so beautiful inside you forget your in a tent. our room looked over the Mara River which was filled with talking hippos, so fantastic! Highly recommend. The electricity goes off from 12midnight to 4AM but your so exhausted from the game drive you won't even notice.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We traveled as an extended family of four adults and four children ranging from 7 - 13 years old. Having stayed at Little Governor's and other camps, we had high expectations of The Fairmont Mara and they were exceeded! The tents are the most luxurious I have experienced, with kings or large doubles, and just next to the river so you can hear the hippos all night.

All of our meals were al fresco on the deck by the river, with adequate buffet options for our picky eaters, and the children especially loved the Masaii dancing in the bar one evening. Our guide was phenomenal, and took us on a special bush walk to see black rhinos, which was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. He also found a gorgeous leopard, who we watched up close for 20 minutes.

The children loved the two hippo-viewing platforms back at camp, and the swimming pool provided a welcome afternoon activity. Having visited the nearby Masaii village, you get the sense that the Fairmont is a good neighbor and part of the community there. We had a magical 3-night stay and wouldn't hesitate to return!

Room Tip: The tents closer to the hippo viewing platform seemed more private, although a slightly longer walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCCBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
60.2 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
40.1 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
46.4 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.9 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
201 reviews
49.2 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
29 km away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: RM1,489 - RM3,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing