We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$450
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Chui Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$482
US$445
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$864
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$722
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$805
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$810
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maji Moto Eco Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$90
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
511
88
12
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
88
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo cornerthe rivergame driveswake up callroom attendantour waiterluxury tentsthe main lodgebeautiful propertygame driverour tour guideelusive leopardshower and toiletwonderful experiencea hot water bottlehippos and crocseach morning
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

A group of about 40 of us recently visited the fairmont mara. Everything from the rooms to the service and food was excellent. There were a few strict vegetarians in our group. Their food requests were very well taken care of. Only downside I feel is the location of the lodge being so far from the main mara game park itself. Also I felt that the guides were not as knowledgeable as guides at other lodges in the mara that I have visited.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank neelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent experience and that you enjoyed the services from our colleagues, our culinary offerings and staying in our tents.
We are sorry to read that your game drive experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Fairmont, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Once again we appreciate your feedback, and we hope we will have the privilege to welcome you again here at Fairmont Mara Safari Club in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Can not recommend this place highly enough. We have just left after spending an incredible 7 nights here. The safaris were wonderful - many excellent sightings (leopard, lion and cheetah on our first drive alone), the camp is absolutely beautiful, but most of all the staff of the Fairmont are exceptional - so friendly, professional and helpful. Special thanks to Jonathan, our safari driver, Victoria our waitress, Gerald the bartender who served us Amarulas with the biggest smile, Wilfred on reception and the chef who prepared food of an exceptional standard. Mundane Ngotho the General Manager has an outstanding team and it is no wonder the Fairmont Mara Safari Club has been voted number one of Kenya's Tented Safari Camps - all should be very proud. See you all again next year

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karendeakin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Karen,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
It was a great pleasure hosting you. We are elated to read that you enjoyed among others; the game drives, culinary offers and the engaging service from our colleagues.
I have shared your feedback with the team more especially your compliments to Jonathan, Victoria, Gerald, Wilfred and Munene who are happy to have made your stay special and memorable.
Once again we appreciate you sharing your experience with us, and we await with pleasure to welcome you back next year.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Three couples enjoyed the trip of a lifetime that we'd talked about planning for years. Fairmont Mara rooms, facilities and staff far exceeded our expectations. The tents are just beautiful, the meals were varied and always delicious, the hospitality was just perfect. Needs are anticipated before they are even expressed - thank you Ntaiya. Safaris are surreal - thank you Wilson. Special events such at the Sundowner or the bush dinner were so well thought out and will be lifetime treasured memories - thank you Vicky. Smiles from the staff begin and end your day, every single day, as each member is ready to make your stay more than you could have dreamed of -- thank you David and Timothy. Thanks to many that assisted along the way -- Steve, John, and all others that took such good care of us to make this such a memorable trip. Every request is met with a "can-do" attitude with the running theme of staff throughout our week being Hakuna Matata -- "No Problem" My only advice is not to wait as long as we did to plan this trip. Get there - now. Hoping to return sometime but until then the memories will do.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank denisecfior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Denise,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to note that in your overall experience, we exceeded your expectations through the engaging service from our staff, luxurious tents, our culinary offers, housekeeping services and the game drives. I have shared your feedback with the team and they are elated to have made your stay special.
We specifically delight in your compliments to Ntaiya, Wilson, Vicky, David, Timothy, Steve and John who are glad to know that they made your stay memorable.
We were honored to host you, and we look forward to your next visit to Masai Mara; it will be our pleasure to extend to you our warm, sincere and engaging service.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

the lodge is in a good location for the gamedrives and the facilities themselves are very good. The staff is excellent and the guides are even better (thanks again John). However a few things to bear in mind;

1. internet is only available in the central facilities
2. there is an additional park entrance fee of 70$/person per day which i wasn't aware of when i booked.
3. the excursion to the Maasai village is a total rip off. You pay 25$ for a 3 minute display of "traditional" dancing and firemaking and are then promptly marched of to the shop where you're guilt tripped into buying "authentic" Maasai crafts which are probably made in China. Don't fall for this.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the river, but the lower numbered rooms are closer to the pool and the best viewing spot.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent experience and that you enjoyed the services from our colleagues, the game drives and our facilities in general.
I have noted your feedback regarding the park entrance fees that is collected to go towards the sustainability of the conservancy which you were not informed about, as well as the excursion to the Maasai village that fell below your expectations. We will work on ensuring that we better our service delivery on the areas that we fell below expectations.
Once again we appreciate your feedback, and we hope we will have the privilege to welcome you again here at Fairmont Mara Safari Club in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

I couldn't fault the service, room, food, facilities or location at all! A really enjoyable break. I would highly recommend this accommodation. Only thing is that the wifi is only available in main area but I didn't find this a problem as it was a comfortable place to relax.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
It was indeed a pleasure hosting you. We have noted that you enjoyed our services, our tents, location and the good food. I have shared your feedback with our team and they are happy to have made your stay memorable. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive to continuously exceed our guest expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews