We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
525
90
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
90
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo cornerthe rivergame driveswake up callroom attendantluxury tentsour waiterthe main lodgebeautiful propertyhippo viewinggame driverour tour guidehot chocolateshower and toiletentire staywonderful experienceeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The entire property is stunningly beautiful, and the staff is exceptional. The lovely tented rooms overlook the Mara River, where hippos can be seen. Landscaping on the grounds is gorgeous. The food is absolutely delicious. Our game drivers were very knowledgeable about all of the numerous animals that we saw. Thank you to Jerimiah, Abdi, Henry, Reuben, and Samuel for finding the animals. The early morning wake up knock on the tent with coffee and cookies is wonderful. Hearing the birds singing, hippos laughing, and other sounds of nature is amazing. The Maasai men dancing in the Lobby is interesting and fun to watch. Dennis is an exceptional waiter, as well as Joan in the Dining Room. Hannah is in charge of the Gift Shop that has beautiful items for sale. Dr. Charles is a good doctor on property. My husband and I hope to return in the future. Our stay was exceptional.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank peg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Peg,
Thank you for taking the time out to share with us your experiences regarding your recent stay here at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the engaging services from our staff, staying in our luxurious tents with the view of Mara river, great game viewing, wake-up call with coffee and cookies, culinary offerings and the cultural entertainment.
Thank you for the feedback which we shall share with all our staff and we are specifically delighted in your compliments to Jeremiah, Abdi, Henry, Reuben, Samuel Dennis, Joan, Hannah and Dr. Charles ; this will go a long way in motivating them to continuously exceeded our guest’s expectations.
We are happy to have made your stay special and memorable and we anticipate with pleasure the opportunity to welcome you back here at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

Sincerely,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

It's hard to summarize our experience into words, there are no words really for the magic that you experience while staying here. We absolutely loved our tent and the property was beautiful! How awesome was it to have hippos right below your tent snorting all though the night! Everything is perfectly organized and executed. The entire staff was excellent and made us feel very special and cared for. Wilfred was amazing and catered to our every need. Joseph, our primary server for our stay, he always there anticipating our needs and greeting us with his overtly friendly nature. All the other servers, Marcus, Symon, Dennis and many more were all fantastic as well and all contributed to a most memorable time. The service we received across the board was the best we have ever experienced in our travels. The highlight of our stay of course were the Safaris that we went on and our guide/driver Samuel was the sole reason for this. He blessed us with experiences that has left the Masa Mara in our hearts forever. This was a trip of a lifetime that was unforgettable in every way.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room. These are luxury tents that are all located on the river.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillspoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Jillspoor,
We very much appreciate you taking the time to share with us your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed among others; our tents with the view of hippo filled Mara river, great game viewing and the personalized services offered by our colleagues.
Thank you for the great review which we shall share with all our staff and we are specifically delighted in your compliments to Wilfred, Joseph, Marcus, Symon, Dennis, and Samuel who made your stay memorable.
We are happy to have made your stay special and magical and we anticipate with pleasure the opportunity to welcome you back here at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

Kind regards,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

After a short flight from Nairobi you are met at the airstrip with a welcoming drink prior to the 5 minute drive to your new home.
A warm welcome and you are escorted to your tent. The tents are all placed alongside the River Mara, so you can sit on the decking to your tent and watch and listen to the Hippos, monkeys and birds, whilst enjoying a drink from the mini bar or a nice hot tea/coffee. The tents are paradise!
The Chefs are brilliant, and they will do their best to accommodate any diet. Breakfast is buffet style with a chef waiting to cook you eggs in any style you want! Lunch and dinner are either A La Carte or buffet style, either way be prepared for an expanding waistline before you leave.
There is a small swimming pool to enjoy or just to relax around on the sunbeds.
The evening entertainment could be the local Masai dancing and singing or maybe Jonathan talking about his Masai cultures or the wildlife to be seen, whilst you relax in the lounge with a drink or two if you wish.
Ah yes, the wildlife! That is what I go for time and again, a wonderful addiction! If you are lucky you will see the Big Five, plus all the herbivores, a cocktail of animals grazing on the Savannah, gazelles, antelopes, zebras, giraffes, warthogs and all the other African plains animals. A sight to be enjoyed and never forgotten.
Thank you Anthony for all the incredible game drives, and everyone here for such a wonderful welcome... again!

Room Tip: If walking is difficult ask for one of the tents closer to the swimming pool/lounge areas.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dingull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Dingull,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experiences regarding your recent stay here at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.
We are delighted to read your review and to note that you enjoyed among others; the welcome experience, our location along the Mara river, game drives, our culinary offerings and the cultural entertainment.
We appreciate your compliments to our colleagues more especially Anthony your safari guide, they are happy to know that they made your stay wonderful.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it goes a long way in motivating our colleagues to consistently exceed our guest’s expectations.
We anticipate with pleasure the opportunity to welcome you back here at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

Sincerely,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Our tent was comfortable and roomy and relatively quiet - occasional hippo noises at night. The hot water bags in the beds a night were a nice touch! Food was delicious and a good variety. When large groups present had buffet for lunch and dinner, but otherwise from set menu. Property was easy to walk around and had several Hippo viewing areas. Main lodge comfortable and ample seating inside and out. TIP: Be sure to have USD or KSH available if you go to the Masai Village Visit for entry and purchases; items in the Fairmont Gift shop that are Masai also have to be paid in cash; Balloon landing fee ($100) per person had to also be paid in cash. None of this was noted on the information sheet provided. The best part was the evening game rides - Samuel was outstanding - we saw Cheetahs, Leopards, Lions, Giraffes, Elephants, Wilde-beast, Zebras, Rhinos

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
1  Thank cherie6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Cherie,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences with us. We are very pleased to note that in your overall experience, we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed among others; staying in our tents, our culinary offerings and the game drives.
We specifically delight in your compliments to Samuel your safari guide who is happy to know that he made your stay special and memorable.
We have noted your feedback regarding the details in our information sheet and I could like to assure you that this will be looked into.
We were honored to host you and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

What a great property. The "tents" are luxurious, with the only downside being that we were routinely started by loud grunting from the many hippos just below the hotel (which was awesome, and not really a complaint).

Each and every person was wonderfully helpful, the food excellent and the whole atmosphere sublime. The wifi was spotty, and I wish the main areas had more fans because it does get hot, but having stayed at a number of other lodges on animal reserves in Kenya, this was the only one that felt like an actual lux hotel. The bedding and bathroom really felt like we were in the middle of a metropolitan city, not the remote savannah.

The only gripe I can think of is that the Fairmont is not IN the Mara reserve. We did see some beautiful lions, but the morning we spent in the Mara reserve (through a hot air balloon ride arranged by a non-Fairmont provider) we saw large amounts of elephants, giraffes, lions and even a leopard- which makes me think that the wildlife around the Fairmont is not as wild as the nearby areas. I could be wrong, but its worth mentioning re an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K, Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our food, staying in our luxurious tents and the engaging service from our staff, who have consistently remained our greatest asset. I have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted to read that you had a memorable stay.
It was indeed a great pleasure serving you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Keriga | Rooms division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews