We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$832
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Chui Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$487
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ol-moran Tented Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maji Moto Eco Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$90
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ashnil Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$678
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Elephant Pepper Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
402
25
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
25
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewst bone steakcarved furniturethe riverarmed guardsgame drivesanimal carvingswild animalsresident hipposshare their knowledgeoff roadparadise on earthevery mealhear hipposroom attendantour honeymoondining areaother camps
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The lodge is located on the Masai Mara Conservancy, where there was little competition for from other lodges to view wildlife. The biggest advantage they have over other lodges is the extraordinary skill of the guides. They are experts at finding all species, including the elusive Spotted Leopard which we saw three days in a row! Our group definitely benefited from the willingness of the guides to share their knowledge of each species, their environment and habits.

The lodge itself was major point of interest. Built in African architecture, the cabins are perched over the Mara River at a location appropriately named “Hippo Bend” since it’s the home to at least 50 hippos. Each cabin is very large and the furnishings are uniquely decorated with hand-carved animals.

Last, but very important is the outstanding staff who are efficient, helpful, friendly and very concerned about their guests. For example, I left behind a small item that was very important to me. The staff sent it to their Nairobi office, and then returned it to me in the USA via DHL.

One noteworthy event occurred after we went out for one of our morning safaris. When it was time to return we went instead to a very remote spot on the Mara to find a complete hot lunch set up for us including table cloths! I’m here to tell you it doesn’t get any better than that.

Room Tip: They are all good. Get one close to the dining facility.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal M, Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Douglas,
We very much appreciate you taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay at Royal Mara Safari Lodge.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed among others; our riverfront luxurious tents with the views, great game viewing at the award winning Mara North Conservancy and the personalized services offered by our colleagues.
Thank you for the great review which we shall share with all our staff and we are specifically delighted in your compliments to our experienced guides, this will go a long way in motivating them to continuously strive to exceeded our guest’s expectations.
We are happy to have made your stay special and memorable and we anticipate with pleasure the opportunity to welcome you back here at the Royal Mara Safari Lodge.

It is our desire to always go an extra mile for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

.





We booked The Royal Mara for our honeymoon, having got married two days before. Having looked at the website and read all the reviews. We arrived with another couple and were the only ones there. When we remarked that there were very few staff around the Assistant Manager said that they had been given time off because it was quiet. We arrived at 11am and given a short briefing together with the news that lunch would be at about 2.30 as they were waiting for the food to arrive. There was no electric hence no WiFi and we couldn't make tea so at about 1pm we went down to the bar to find they did'nt have any beer either. Lunch was served, soup, no bread, a tough T bone steak and fruit, no choice! No alternatives, that was it! This continued for the entire time. The website says lunchtime BBQ's with selection of salads! There were none. It was 9 hours before we got WiFi and the electric was off most of the time.

We obviously complained and on the last night they presented us with a "wedding cake" instead of desert! Which was little consolation. The safaris and driver were amazing and we could'nt fault this but this camp needs some serious sorting out. If you are thinking of going find out if the are full. If they are, you will probably be OK but if you are the only ones there,then my advice is give it a miss. If we could have contacted our agent we would have moved camps but with no WiFi we were stuck.

A thoroughly disappointing experience, one we had been looking forward to for months. The Manager was very apologetic and agreed that they had fallen short on all fronts, a very expensive two days and a spoilt honeymoon!!!
If they cannot operate properly when they only have a few guests then they should just close. In fact we are very angry with this experience.

The lodges are the only thing that are 5* at this camp, the worst thing Being no electric. We realise they use a generator which is expensive but on arrival we were advised that the electric would be on whenever guests were in the camp.

Room Tip: Check that the bed linen is not damp
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal M, Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your review,
We are sorry your expectations were not met, it is always our goal to provide the best.
Welcome again.
our feedback is important to us, it will help us improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Thank you once again to my now friends at the Royal Mara. Not just a room or even a safari, this is an experience to fill your heart for years to come. The room is so comfortable with all of the hand carvings and woodwork and the huge patio that overlooks the Mara River. Every morning upon waking up in this beautiful place I have to decide, "Do I just sit here and look out at the river full of 100 hippos or do I go on safari. Here one really becomes part of the Mara . The food is very good, the grounds and common areas feel like home the first night. Its very safe even though the hippos pass by your room at night to graze. All this said, this isn't the best part of The Royal Mara.
THE STAFF is the best part and that's why I will go back again and again to this Lodge.

Room Tip: All are perfect
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mooremamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal M, Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Moore,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your continued patronage to Royal Mara Safari Lodge and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed every bit of our facilities and services such as our location along the Mara river, the luxury tents, game drives, our culinary offerings, cultural entertainment and the customer service.
We appreciate your commendations for our staff who stood out as being helpful and gracious during your stay. I have shared with them your compliments and they are happy to know that they made your stay special and memorable.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it goes a long way in motivating our colleagues to consistently exceed our guest’s expectations.
We looking forward to welcome you back to Royal Mara Safari Lodge, with more family and friends in your next visit to Maasai Mara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Impresive dedication, very good facilities, wonderfull staff...They really will get the best of your stay. It was the second time I visited them, and if I ever have the opportunity to come back, I will do it there for sure.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view to Mara river. all of them would be perfect
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JORGEVALDES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal M, General Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Royal Mara Safari Lodge.

We take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Royal Mara Safari Lodge and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Masai Mara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Once more I went to Royal Mara and once more I am sure I will go there again. The spirit of the place captures you enterely. The team that welcame us took care of us for every need and even more. The food was excellent, the tent luxury, the driver really professional and my friend Samuel the best guide for the walking safary.
Talk with Josephat to be introduced to the place, the security and do not miss his suggestions. Go to Royal Mara and be there again and again
Stefania

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stefaniadonnabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal M, General Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Stefania,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Royal Mara Safari Lodge Masai Mara.
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and safari. I do hope that these adventures will be memorable for you.
I will share with the team your kind feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another great safari holiday at Royal mara Safari Lodge Masai Mara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews