We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
90
16
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
16
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel ownertiananmen squaresummer palacehutongaddresscabenglishchinasubway
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I don't know how to rate this property as the male receptionists were so friendly, helpful and welcoming but the hotel itself is not a hotel, it's a hostel. If they marketed itself as a hostel, then I would have no problems with the dirt, bugs and smelly toilets.

Pro's /Advantages:

-located right across the road to the train station, a fruit shop and a 7/11 store
-it is an authentic old home, over 100 years old
-male receptionists all very friendly with ok English skills
-nice courtyard space
-simple breakfast offered
-cute decorations

Now, the cons/ disadvantages:

-very hard to find and the area a bit sketchy for newcomers, especially at night as dark
-it is an old home so it is OLD so the rooms are very dark
-friendly reception guys but their lack of English skills show up when you have a problem (as we did)
-courtyard is dirty and packed to the rafters with junk. It's used as a storage area and it's very hard to get around and would be problematic for elderly people
-breakfast offered but it was strictly between 7-8am only and very minimal (plain congee and veggie bao which we balked out when a few flies hovered over the food. For Westerners you get two slices of white bread/toasted with half a teaspoon of jam spread on in for good measure and juice. Coffee is an extra charge) On top of this, the Dragon-lady owner hovers around you whilst you're trying to eat.
-there are loads of clutter and decorations around (from Chinese New Year but that was in Feb). Hence, there is dust everywhere.
-the Dragon-lady owner only turns on the air con in the breakfast area/lobby if she feels it's getting hot so it's very stuffy in the dark,little room
-the family room is not safe for little kids as the 2 single beds are in the attic. Not only is it stuffy up in the attic, the stairs are too steep for toddlers or elderly to navigate.
-the attic also has a window which is covered by a thin sheet so the sun streams in at 5.30am when the sun comes up
-the air con works but it is turned off during the day whilst your out sightseeing. This results in you returning to a boiling room
- there are mosquitoes everywhere
-we found bugs in our bed (dont' think they were bed bugs, just regular bugs)
-the toilet and shower were in the same room. I know this is common but there was no shower screen or plastic screen to stop the water from going all over the toilet
-the toilets were smelly so we turned on the fan all night. The communal toilets were putrid and smelt of urine
-the whole place was dirty and needed a huge wash
-housekeeping is a farce - they don't do anything except to turn off your air con and empty your bin. No new towels offered.
-the towels were stained, yellowing and smelt of cigarette smoke. We had to ask for new ones but they weren't any better.
-the Dragon-lady owner tried to push us to purchase a tour to the Great Wall through her contacts (commission-based obviously)
-there is not so-called tour desk. The Dragon-lady owner is the tour desk and she doesn't speak much English and only offers one tour
-Beds were rock hard (but this is common in Asia so I can't complain about this one)
-there isn't much sound proofing so don't expect a good nights sleep
-the family room was soooo small that we couldn't really move around and it really affected our stay and experience in Beijing. Actually , I think it really ruined it.

Please read all the reviews here. I have tried to remain objective in my review but I really can't recommend this place unless you're a backpacker , on a budget and need somewhere close to city and the sites. Even then, I think for US$150 per night you can find something much much better. Sorry Siheju, you really should read your reviews and clean up your act (no pun intended)

Room Tip: Very Dirty Rooms
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beryl_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Very dirty and small family room. Bedding dirty. Cold in Winter - "instructed not touch the heater". Main bedroom in a loft. Not space to open suitcases on the floor. Bathroom with loads of mould. No windows. Only skylight above main bed. We wanted a cultural experience, but should have at least basic cleanliness. We booked room with breakfast. Was told breakfast is only at 08h30 while we had excursion leaving at 07h00. Reception very dusty and receptionist cannot speak any English.
Location for family not good, Hutong, but very dirty and dark at night and Taxi driver struggle to locate hotel

Room Tip: no, not this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Stayed here in 'family room' which is about a quarter of the size than shown in the promotional photo. The kids were upstairs in two singles and our bed was wedged between two walls downstairs. The steps were very steep - which my two managed but for under 4s would be too dangerous.
Pros: location, right near Xisi station is great, one train to Summer Palace and good connections around city. The courtyard and general feel is quite charming and definitely feels local, but needs work and is crowded with bikes, furniture, stuff! The two staff we spoke to were very helpful where they could be.
Cons: I didn't mind the smallness of the room but it was covered in dust and full of furniture so there was barely anywhere to put anything down. The bathroom needed a massive scrub! They won't change your towels on Sunday so that become a major drama in getting clean ones. Very noisy at night if people are coming and going or hanging in the courtyard. Our 'breakfast' consisted of a hard bun and some tea. We only bothered one day.
This is slightly better than budget accommodation with mid-range prices - work is needed! We were out sightseeing all day the whole time and it worked out okay, but think the price is bit steep for what you get here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

This place has potential but is desperate need of some cleaning and attention to details. Dirt everywhere, ratty curtains and no room clean during our stay. Mattresses very hard and no breakfast included which there should be for this price. Helpful reception and good location were the positives. The common space was dirty and needed someone to clean up the dirty ashtrays and garbage on the ground.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 4Canucksoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cao h, 前厅部经理 at Beijing Siheju Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your review,and we are trying to improve our quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

this courtyard hotel is around 5-10min walk to the Xisi subway, easy to explore around Beijing. a nice cosy courtyard hotel in the Beijing Hutong. 100m walk wil lead you to grocery shop, minimart, eatery shop and pharmacy.

there is a small shop lot selling cigarattes and wines, also a legal agent to sell train ticket, around 5walk from the hotel. buy the train ticket here if you plan to visit Tianjin or etc places in China, with a surcharge of CNY5 per ticket. spend a bit money is better than going down to Beijing Main Train Station just to get a ticket, long queue especially in weekends.

its a bit hard to recognise the hotel location when we got a cab to get there at night. remember to take down the address of the hotel for the cab to find, the hutong looks small but is accessible and big enough for the cab to stop infront of the hotel.

the front desk helper, Ted is really helpful and friendly. he would find solutions and recommend a nice relax itenary for us each day. he also helped to find the better train schedule and code for us, easier for us to buy the train tickets.

this hotel is a typical siheyuan style. we got a triple room, with attached toilet. the double bed was good, but the single bed matress is a bit thin. the room is a bit small for three people to move around, but its consider reasonable for the price we paid. there was one night where we werr super tired after whole day walk, and we accidentally left our room key outside the room, with the door unlocked for the whole night, but nothing ever happen and we slept soundly, for each and every night.

i would definitely come back here if i visit Beijing again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank arwenn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews