We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good choice for budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #174 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in total. Private bathroom and air-con in room (although slightly noisy and not the most effective) it did the job. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is safe,clean and tidy. The complimentary breakfast was ample to set you up for the day and the free Wi-Fi is very useful indeed. If you are a single traveller looking to meet other like minded travellers I would steer clear. However for couples or people who do not need to meet others and just take in the sights this is great and we would return for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are courtyard facing so noise can be heard throughout. Go for second floor away from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerranceTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in May 2013. Hotel easy to find, in nice surroundings. Loved to walk around the Hutong at night. There is plenty of restaurants and shops (some shops open until 1-2 am)
Hotel itself was OK, I was not expecting Four Seasons for paying under €200 for 6 nights. But in my opinion rooms need to be better soundproofed as you can hear the voices of staff and other guests during the night. Bathroom needs a bit of refreshing (Toilet roll holder was glued to shower cabin and fell off when I closed the shower door).Also there was a problem with the air-con system which was dripping making it impossible to sleep and have it on at the same time- and I mean it was hot! The female staff speak good English but the male receptionist could not understand me when I asked about deposit- which turned out to be 200 RMB. On the plus side nice decor and the fact that you can experience living in a Hutong. Tours can be booked at the reception, however we found it much cheaper and interesting to visit places on our own.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I found this hotel randomly online however it was the best choice I've ever made! The hotel was designed as traditional Chinese style, giving it a sense of how Old Beijing would feel like. My hotel room was small yet very cozy and perfect for one person. The bathroom was clean and they even provided crocs slippers! The staff were amazing and super friendly, especially the girl who worked there in the morning. I had some time to travel in the morning before my flight later that night and she was kind enough to take care of my luggage so I wouldn't have to rush back to check out. The breakfast was really good too, you can choose between western style or Chinese style. I absolutely loved the hotel, even though it was a bit difficult to find. However it is located very close to the subway station. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will for sure come back.

Room Tip: I had a second floor room however it was quiet in the entire hotel so I don't think it matters w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here to get more of our China experience than a fancy western hotel in the modern part of Beijing and it was fantastic!! Staff were great, the rooms clean, and it had lovely hot showers.
It is in the Hotongs, and staying here provides more experience of "China" than any of the tourist stuff you will do. Walking through the narrow lanes on your way to and from your hotel you are more often than not the only westerner among lots of locals getting on with life.
They are generally happy and friendly, and will nod and smile as you go past. We never at any time (even after midnight wandering down darkened lanes with no streelights) felt under threat. As a city it is generally safer than many western cities, with conterfiet 100yn notes being the most common form of theft (shops seem to be pretty good, but taxis drivers seem to be the ones who distribute much of the dodgy currency?
It is nice to be able to buy clothes & shoes etc at Chinese prices in shops where they have little or no english (as opposed to the tourist trap known as the Spice Road Markets where nobody but the silly westeners buys anything - and usually copies or 2nds at highly inflated prices - in that place if you pay more than 40% of the first price you are given you are generally being ripped off - check the not negotiable prices in the Chinese stores and you will see what I mean).
In the area around the hotel there are lots of little family run food outlets with incomprehensible menus and wonderful food (even if it isn't anything like what you thought it might be) - give it a try you will be pleasantly supprised. If not to your taste, there are shopping strips nearby that have minimarts and pizza (if that is what you are looking for when you are in Beijing?).
It is easy to find your way to and from the hotel once you have found the front door (there is a sign above the entrance to the very narrow lane that leads to the front door, but it is smallish and about 15 ft in the air).
It doesn't have the big "all you can eat" type breakfast, but it was certainly adequate and more than I would normally eat and they have real coffee (a proper italian coffee machine and staff who know how to make a good coffee). Rooms were clean, and while the beds weren't western style they were not what I would call "hard bed" and I slept like a baby. Contrary to other reviews I have read, I did have a fridge in my room, and I didn't find downstairs at all noisy.
I thought the rooftop outddor area was delightful and the hotel had a wonderful atmostphere.
Would recommend it for a real look at Beijing (in comfort), rather than the same old same old windows of a large western style hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel is not easy to find, that's the first thing I would say but once you find this gem the staff are friendly and speak English very well. Nothing is too much trouble. The room we had was clean and tidy but don't expect 5 stars and breakfast was fresh cooked daily with a reasonable western choice of breakfast options . The underground is a short walk cheap and easy to use. Well worth your consideration. Tours can be booked at reception for a great price. I was very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#153 of 6,556 in Beijing
105 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#108 of 6,556 in Beijing
428 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#138 of 6,556 in Beijing
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#40 of 6,556 in Beijing
580 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Yonghe Lama Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.16 Huayuan East Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM220 - RM334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Beijing, a city with a unique history and a magical aura about it. Imperial Courtyard, an 18th Century courtyard, having been totally renovated to the highest standards, now combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of today and offers the perfect environment for its guests relaxation and is the ideal accommodation for a “get away from it all” visit to historical and traditional Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing