We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$208
US$131
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citytel Inn(Beijing)
US$87
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dongsi Hotel(Beijing)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
42
30
25
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
30
25
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraditional stylebooking sitesmall alleysubway lineauthentic experiencechinese hotelsbus stopstayed here for nightsthe hotel staffandingmenhutongtaxichinaaddresswesterners
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015

This hotel was quaint and full of character, transporting us to an exotic, other-worldly place. The online photos of the red-painted stair rails are accurate. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and there was always at least one person with very good English. The room furnishings were a little 'tired' and the bathroom was basic but our showers were hot and we slept well so we were happy.

We organised a tour to The Wall 'Jinshanling' with Reception and the tour company were very good and there were hardly any other tourists in this section (take your own breakfast/snack/water/sun-hat/umbrella/money for cable car). We went on a Tues in June and it was very hot and some areas were very steep (either stairs or inclination) - not appropriate for anyone unfit.

We loved the location of this hotel - it was surrounded by many tranquil streets to explore and a couple of walking-distance popular, touristy hutongs full of boutique shops, bars and restaurants. We initially had trouble finding it - one of our electronic maps was mis-leading - make sure you have thoroughly investigated the location if arriving late at night by taxi (and have the name printed in Chinese, not English, to show the taxi driver). Otherwise, it's an easy 8 minute walk from Andingmen subway station.

Walking directions:
5 minute walk from Andingmen Subway Station
Exit A from station.
Walk south (towards Beijing) crossing motorway overpass.
As soon as you have crossed motorway overpass (do not continue south towards shops) you should see narrow park with pathway which lines the motorway. At the entrance to this park pathway you will also see 5 decorative metal rings buried in the ground, and a wooden bench/balcony (30m long) where people sit/rest during the day.

Turn right (west) into this park pathway with trees (park is just about 5m wide and stretches out before you). Continue (west) for approx. 320 paces (passing two minor roads heading south). Next minor road, turn left (south) and in this street you should see the “Imperial Courtyard Hotel” neon sign flashing. Walk 50 paces to the sign, turn left (east) and the entrance is 5 metres down on the right (south). Hopefully the neon sign is always on!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KateP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The Good:

Helpful staff, english speaking
located near the metro
safe area
traditional beijing
nice decor in the rooms
ample breakfast
decent internet

bad
very difficult to find hotel, i had to beg the Chinese people at the metro station for help. Finally the 7th person i asked took pity on me and helped me out.
area is very dark at night,which can be a bit scary
TV channels - only CCTV channels available- No BBC,CNN etc. I dont know if they are banned there?

did not take any tours but if you dont speak chinese i'd reccomend one does so. for the tourist who just knows english beijing can be overwhelming. most people dont speak english.

The metro is really convenient and goes to most places, chinese people are very helpful if they speak english.
guests in the hotels are mostly western, i spotted a korean as well.

This hotel has specific permission for foreigners to stay, many chinese hotels are only for chinese nationals.

Room Tip: just ask for a room on the first floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalaVenkateshwaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

The staff were great as they were last time I stayed here in 2011. The place has rapidly deteriorated in quality though. The shower basically didn't drain at all during a shower. The water would get to the point of flooding the shower slippers and bits of debris would come up through the drain.
Although there was a lot of silicon on the shower it still leaked onto the bathroom floor. Bathroom could also use a good scrub. The rest of the room was reasonably clean.
Linen and towels that were once white are all yellowing. Wallpaper peeling off everywhere.
200RMB for airport transfer.... ridiculous... and the driver tried to extract another 10 for tolls along the way.... after I was assured everything was paid for.
Washing (DIY~ use their machine)
60RMB 3kg
80RMB 4kg
100RMB 5kg
Let's just say that washing machine is a license to print money. In China that's considered insanely expensive. Its really just taking advantage of tourists.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank gobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

The courtyard is easy to access by public transport ( Subway Line 2). I don't have problem to find the place since I have the map downloaded for the taxi driver. Buses to tourist attractions are only 5 minutes walk from the ours yard. The rooms are smaller compared to the pictures. The standard room is small but the Executive room will give you an adequate space for 2 people. The inverter Aircon/heater is working well. No safe deposit in deluxe or executive rooms, but there is one in the luxury room (room 202). The staffs are wonderful, always ready to help with transport and sightseeing advice. During my stay, my mother was having bad cold and cough and Amy has guided us with useful information with pharmacy location. This is the place where you will feel safe and comfortable, in the middle of local residential area. And the bonus: unlimited fast internet access. A good place to experience the local ambience in Hutong, Beijing.

Room Tip: Executive room 107 in first/ground floor or Luxury room (202) in second floor
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank deeganr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed 6 days here and 2 at Holiday Inn temple of heaven.

Pro:
- in the hutong area, I met nice locals who are less busy than other districts.
- convenience with many stores around. You may rent an old dirty bike at a bike repair shop. Make the receptionist write it for you in Chinese if you can't. 50 yuan for 6 days.
- biking is super convenient around the hutong. I rode from the hotel to Sanlitun and back and other hutong neighborhood. Drive along with locals. I can breeze through from the hotel to the subway station.
- more local feel. I stayed at a fancier hotel but the area is more commercial so people are too busy to chat with me.

Cons:
- not clean. I had to clean the floors myself. The place reminds me of a glittery Christmas tree with dusts and cobwebs on close inspection.

Direction:
- when you get out of the Andingmen subway station . Look for the small river. There's only one so you won't miss it. Face that river and to your back is your destination. Now you're facing opposite the river, observe the locals as they cross the bridge overlooking the highway traffic. Cross the same way and and observe the tiny park onto your right side where people can sit and hang out ( like in the photos). Walk along the promenade and on be on the look-out for the red flashing sign of the hotel. It's also on a long busy street so it's hard not to miss it. Follow the lights unto the small narrow way and it's there.

Overall, I love this area. This less glittery area is safe but has a more Beijing-feel to it. I was hanging out with real Beijing people and buying their local pancakes. If you are open to new experiences, this is it. There's also hair salons and 24-convenience stores etc....

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank leeann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews