We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good time there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #177 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

I was there with my dad for 4 nights. Nice room, friendly staffs, great location abt 10 mins walk from the station but quite noisy in the morning. There's no supermarket around there only 2 small shops and im not recommend a hotpot restaurant where near the hotel

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Xiu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015

This hotel was quaint and full of character, transporting us to an exotic, other-worldly place. The online photos of the red-painted stair rails are accurate. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and there was always at least one person with very good English. The room furnishings were a little 'tired' and the bathroom was basic but our showers were hot and we slept well so we were happy.

We organised a tour to The Wall 'Jinshanling' with Reception and the tour company were very good and there were hardly any other tourists in this section (take your own breakfast/snack/water/sun-hat/umbrella/money for cable car). We went on a Tues in June and it was very hot and some areas were very steep (either stairs or inclination) - not appropriate for anyone unfit.

We loved the location of this hotel - it was surrounded by many tranquil streets to explore and a couple of walking-distance popular, touristy hutongs full of boutique shops, bars and restaurants. We initially had trouble finding it - one of our electronic maps was mis-leading - make sure you have thoroughly investigated the location if arriving late at night by taxi (and have the name printed in Chinese, not English, to show the taxi driver). Otherwise, it's an easy 8 minute walk from Andingmen subway station.

Walking directions:
5 minute walk from Andingmen Subway Station
Exit A from station.
Walk south (towards Beijing) crossing motorway overpass.
As soon as you have crossed motorway overpass (do not continue south towards shops) you should see narrow park with pathway which lines the motorway. At the entrance to this park pathway you will also see 5 decorative metal rings buried in the ground, and a wooden bench/balcony (30m long) where people sit/rest during the day.

Turn right (west) into this park pathway with trees (park is just about 5m wide and stretches out before you). Continue (west) for approx. 320 paces (passing two minor roads heading south). Next minor road, turn left (south) and in this street you should see the “Imperial Courtyard Hotel” neon sign flashing. Walk 50 paces to the sign, turn left (east) and the entrance is 5 metres down on the right (south). Hopefully the neon sign is always on!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KateP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The Good:

Helpful staff, english speaking
located near the metro
safe area
traditional beijing
nice decor in the rooms
ample breakfast
decent internet

bad
very difficult to find hotel, i had to beg the Chinese people at the metro station for help. Finally the 7th person i asked took pity on me and helped me out.
area is very dark at night,which can be a bit scary
TV channels - only CCTV channels available- No BBC,CNN etc. I dont know if they are banned there?

did not take any tours but if you dont speak chinese i'd reccomend one does so. for the tourist who just knows english beijing can be overwhelming. most people dont speak english.

The metro is really convenient and goes to most places, chinese people are very helpful if they speak english.
guests in the hotels are mostly western, i spotted a korean as well.

This hotel has specific permission for foreigners to stay, many chinese hotels are only for chinese nationals.

Room Tip: just ask for a room on the first floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalaVenkateshwaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

The staff were great as they were last time I stayed here in 2011. The place has rapidly deteriorated in quality though. The shower basically didn't drain at all during a shower. The water would get to the point of flooding the shower slippers and bits of debris would come up through the drain.
Although there was a lot of silicon on the shower it still leaked onto the bathroom floor. Bathroom could also use a good scrub. The rest of the room was reasonably clean.
Linen and towels that were once white are all yellowing. Wallpaper peeling off everywhere.
200RMB for airport transfer.... ridiculous... and the driver tried to extract another 10 for tolls along the way.... after I was assured everything was paid for.
Washing (DIY~ use their machine)
60RMB 3kg
80RMB 4kg
100RMB 5kg
Let's just say that washing machine is a license to print money. In China that's considered insanely expensive. Its really just taking advantage of tourists.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank gobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

The courtyard is easy to access by public transport ( Subway Line 2). I don't have problem to find the place since I have the map downloaded for the taxi driver. Buses to tourist attractions are only 5 minutes walk from the ours yard. The rooms are smaller compared to the pictures. The standard room is small but the Executive room will give you an adequate space for 2 people. The inverter Aircon/heater is working well. No safe deposit in deluxe or executive rooms, but there is one in the luxury room (room 202). The staffs are wonderful, always ready to help with transport and sightseeing advice. During my stay, my mother was having bad cold and cough and Amy has guided us with useful information with pharmacy location. This is the place where you will feel safe and comfortable, in the middle of local residential area. And the bonus: unlimited fast internet access. A good place to experience the local ambience in Hutong, Beijing.

Room Tip: Executive room 107 in first/ground floor or Luxury room (202) in second floor
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank deeganr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#150 of 6,528 in Beijing
104 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#135 of 6,528 in Beijing
175 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#101 of 6,528 in Beijing
427 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,528 in Beijing
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.16 Huayuan East Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM218 - RM344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Beijing, a city with a unique history and a magical aura about it. Imperial Courtyard, an 18th Century courtyard, having been totally renovated to the highest standards, now combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of today and offers the perfect environment for its guests relaxation and is the ideal accommodation for a “get away from it all” visit to historical and traditional Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing