We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #14 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2012

No surprise there that this 5-star hotel provides excellent service -- for the price, it better does, even though I bet many people are not paying out of pocket anyway.

The porters were extremely helpful and saved my day after I forgot my passport on the taxi -- because I was so tired after being stuck in the traffic for 3+ hours from the airport! They radioed the front gate and the taxi driver quickly came back with my passport. Thank god!

Nothing to comment on the room, which was perfect. The old-fashioned desk chair was not very comfortable for work though. The maid left a mouse pad for me on the next day after seeing me using a piece of paper on the glass desk as a replacement. Nice little touch.

As is everywhere else in China, food was just wonderful. Service at the restaurant was excellent, for both breakfast and dinner. Again, I can't comment on the price since I didn't pay for it but the menu looked reasonable for the price from what I can recall.

I actually have no idea about the location because we were taken to all business by car service. However, I guess this isn't in a very central location based on the street scenes to and from the hotel. For starter, it is at the corner of to freeways. However, my room up in the 14th floor was absolutely quiet despite the proximity to busy traffic.

I probably would not stay at this hotel were it not for business, not because of the price but more for the location. Unless you drive, there doesn't seem anything to see around the hotel ground. You have to take taxi everywhere and the taxi line in the morning was very long for the week I stayed there. They dispatchers were very efficient and helpful though, as was almost every young man and woman in China. My take of China is that as long as money is on the table, everyone works super hard and the service is simply perfect. The same can't be said for other big cities in Europe and the US.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lutrasimilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 418 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

Great service - the staff genuinely cares and all speak good English.

A couple things that I like in particular
-There's a free shuttle to Zhongguancun Software Park, which is where I need to go. Many taxi drivers don't know about this place, so it avoids the confusion of finding it. It's also difficult to find a shuttle from the software park due to its remoteness. It's a small thing, but makes a difference.
- If you want good western food for breakfast, the buffet is excellent. (The Chinese food is good too, but that's to be expected). It's a little expensive, about 200 RMB.
- Rooms are spacious. Internet is reliable, both wired and Wifi. Don't make you login after the first time, unlike other hotels where you log in every day.

Location is okay. If you want to walk to restaurants, there are some within walking distance. There's not a lot of life in the area though after dark. But, it's the closest good hotel to our office.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This being my first visit to Beijing, I was thrilled to find the Shangri-La Beijing met the standards I've come to expect after multiple stays at Shangri-La resorts worldwide. The usual trimmings are all there, with the service tipping the scales as soon as you walk through the door. The staff in all departments I interacted with were excellent.
Overall, the rooms are staple Shangri-La: all the features I've come to expect for my business traveller needs (comfy bed, good workdesk set-up, plenty of wardrobe space). On the downside, tea/coffee facilities were limited to a single black tea tea-bag (no coffee, milk or sugar to be seen) and the bathroom was looking a little tired and in need of some elbow-grease cleaning. It wasn't dirty by any stretch of the imagination, but it needed a bit more effort on the housekeeping front.
Do make the effort to sample the breakfast offerings in the buffet or via room service, and make the time to try high tea or a sumptuous (and very well priced) cocktail at the Cloud Nine Bar during your stay,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Amazing expeience. Many example of attentive and personal services. Let's share one - while it takes 30 minutes to wait for taxi in the morning, the staff issue me a ticket and encourage me to hang around in the a/c'ed lobby, while they hailed cab from the street. Truly considerate. Wil recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

it would be Shangri-La Beijing.

There is absolutely nothing to complain about this hote. Service is brilliant, Food is good. They would accomodate your every request. I always feel that this is my home away from home. The staff are genuinely caring and that is not a request they would deny their guest.

I must say that for a while I was so spoilt by the excellent service they have rendered to me that I had expected the same of other hotels only to be disappointed.

It is such a shame that these days I rarely stay at this hotel but I do feel that the staff are like my friends in Beijing.

Well done everyone and please keep up the great work you are doing

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing are superb. Try to get the higher floors as you can get to see smog and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,584 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#13 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,175 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#13 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#74 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM531 - RM1,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is ideally locally located on the West Third-Ring Road which is the gateway to your historical exploration of the capital city such as Great Wall, Summer Palace, Fragrance Mountain, Tiananmen Square, Lama Temple, Hutongs, Houhai Bar Street and many more. The hotel is also in the heart of financial and technological district and within close proximity to renowned universities like Tsing Hua University, Peking University, Renmin University, etc. Access to and from the international airport is approximately 30 minutes by car and two subway stations are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing