We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$156
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citytel Inn(Beijing)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$388
US$274
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,937)
Filter reviews
2,937 results
Traveller rating
2,053
704
140
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,053
704
140
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden wingshang palacechi spaold winghorizon clubsummer palacein room diningfitness centerbusiness tripbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffetroom was spaciousroom ratetourist attractionsindoor poolconcierge staffbusiness center
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 2,937 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Great service - the staff genuinely cares and all speak good English.

A couple things that I like in particular
-There's a free shuttle to Zhongguancun Software Park, which is where I need to go. Many taxi drivers don't know about this place, so it avoids the confusion of finding it. It's also difficult to find a shuttle from the software park due to its remoteness. It's a small thing, but makes a difference.
- If you want good western food for breakfast, the buffet is excellent. (The Chinese food is good too, but that's to be expected). It's a little expensive, about 200 RMB.
- Rooms are spacious. Internet is reliable, both wired and Wifi. Don't make you login after the first time, unlike other hotels where you log in every day.

Location is okay. If you want to walk to restaurants, there are some within walking distance. There's not a lot of life in the area though after dark. But, it's the closest good hotel to our office.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This being my first visit to Beijing, I was thrilled to find the Shangri-La Beijing met the standards I've come to expect after multiple stays at Shangri-La resorts worldwide. The usual trimmings are all there, with the service tipping the scales as soon as you walk through the door. The staff in all departments I interacted with were excellent.
Overall, the rooms are staple Shangri-La: all the features I've come to expect for my business traveller needs (comfy bed, good workdesk set-up, plenty of wardrobe space). On the downside, tea/coffee facilities were limited to a single black tea tea-bag (no coffee, milk or sugar to be seen) and the bathroom was looking a little tired and in need of some elbow-grease cleaning. It wasn't dirty by any stretch of the imagination, but it needed a bit more effort on the housekeeping front.
Do make the effort to sample the breakfast offerings in the buffet or via room service, and make the time to try high tea or a sumptuous (and very well priced) cocktail at the Cloud Nine Bar during your stay,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Amazing expeience. Many example of attentive and personal services. Let's share one - while it takes 30 minutes to wait for taxi in the morning, the staff issue me a ticket and encourage me to hang around in the a/c'ed lobby, while they hailed cab from the street. Truly considerate. Wil recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

it would be Shangri-La Beijing.

There is absolutely nothing to complain about this hote. Service is brilliant, Food is good. They would accomodate your every request. I always feel that this is my home away from home. The staff are genuinely caring and that is not a request they would deny their guest.

I must say that for a while I was so spoilt by the excellent service they have rendered to me that I had expected the same of other hotels only to be disappointed.

It is such a shame that these days I rarely stay at this hotel but I do feel that the staff are like my friends in Beijing.

Well done everyone and please keep up the great work you are doing

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing are superb. Try to get the higher floors as you can get to see smog and everything in between.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel seems to run a very interesting business model - they allot you the worst and oldest room available in the property when you check-in and when you complain about the room conditions, they try to upsell you a 'valley' wing room at double the rate. The scheme possibly works for Shangri la patrons willing to indulge since they throw in lounge access, etc for the valley rooms.
I stayed here with my husband for 1 night. We'd orignally booked for longer but decided to check out and move to a different hotel after 1 night. I've stayed at their property in Hong Kong before and the room/service provided in Beijing wasn't even close. It can possibly pass off for a basic sleep over property but you expect more from Shangri la for the price you pay.
The staff are pretentious and put on a good show of showing concern for your issues with the room as they try to upsell the newer wing.
Location is fine, lounge is alright, service is poor, rooms are depressing, room service is cold (freezing!).

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay a premium, choose a room in the valley wing
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Value Guest: thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Beijing and for taking the time to share your negative comments about the hotel and our offerings. We would like to further discuss the matter with you. Kindly contact our Resident Manager at hakan.ozel@shangri-la.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews