We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice...except few annoying niggles.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #69 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 10 days, and was mostly happy with the experience. You can't get a better location - this is just a few mins drive from the Forbidden City, and next to the popular pedestrian shopping street Wanfujing. My room price included the breakfast, which was fantastic. The rooms very clean and comfortable, and the staff very professional, helpful and English-speaking.

But there were some issues:
- Organized prostitution. Upon arrival at the hotel, I wanted to have a jetlag-massage...the spa promised to send me a masseuse to my room. I was pretty surprised when the lady turned out to be a prostitute. I was almost certain of this already when I saw her - she was wearing a mini-skirt and high heels, and, indeed, after a few minutes of rubbing she went right into the business. I sent her back, refused to pay anything, and was sent a real massause after a few minutes. The Spa apologized the "confusion". Prostitution is a crime in China and not something an international 4-star hotel should be involved with.
- A/C. This hotel has big issues with the A/C. It is ice cold and there is no way to turn it warm enough. Fortunately I did not need any the A/C in mid-September. Many guests have complained about the A/C in previous reviews so the hotel should really do something about this.
- Internet price. I had to use internet for business and in the end of my stay paid $200 USD for it (i.e. $20/day). Just ridiculous!

Despite this few issues, I am willing to consider staying there again...if the A/C would just work...!

Room Tip: Top Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hulivili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 999 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is most definitely not worth the money. I will not return, Firstly we were not greeted by reception when we arrived. Secondly, room not cleaned to european 5 star standard. Thirdly food/drink prices in hotel are ridiculously high. Fourtly very rude and unfriendly nordic resteraunt manager who appeared to spend his time eating and not servicing guests. Much nicer hotel across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience. And here we want to extend our sincerely apologies. We have taken up your comments with our operations team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps have been taken to avoid any recurrence.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of Crown Plaza Brand and you can afford us an opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks recently at the Crowne Plaza due to its proximity to Wangfujing Street. On positive side the breakfast was lovely, concierge were quite helpful, room was pleasant and gym was a bonus. Unfortunately the negatives far outweight the positives- where do i start! on arrival we received no welcome from a very abrupt front of staff office male member. Welcome package states breakfast ends at 11am, we went down on first morning at 10.35 to be told breakfast was over and we could not be facilitated, this is disgraceful treatment. On the 2nd day we arrived for breakfast at 10.20 and were told that we only have 10 mins to eat our breakfast- again this is unacceptable treatment. One day we arrived back tired from day trip to great wall looking forward to sleep in clean room at 1.15pm to find that the room had not been cleaned, we reported this to front desk- duty manager who informed us that we had a do not disturb light on door, this was incorrect as our light never worked from day 1. The blonde european resteraunt manager was extremely unfriendly and never once greeted us or asked could he assist. On checkout we were never asked after 2 wk stay if we had a nice time, nor did we receive a receipt - very bad customer care. Overall nice comfortable room and convenient location but management should pay alot more attention to customer care.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank alebebe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here. This is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. I am pleased our concierge was helpful to you and you did find your room, breakfast and the gym to your liking.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed at the hotel for couple of nights in Aug 2011.
Location was excellent. Staff spoke perfect English.
Hotel room was nice and well maintained.
Overall it has similar quality and value in compare
to other Crowne Plaza hotels in other countries.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Travel_reviews_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are delighted to note that the hotel’s location and service was perfect for you, it is always our aim to provide all of our guests the feeling like home. We hope that our hotel will become your choice for your future visits to Beijing. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the last 4 days of our 17 day trip to China. It was a great choice. We enjoyed hanging out in the comfortable lobby, the breakfast buffet was wonderful, and my kids (9,9,11,&13) were thrilled to swim every day in the indoor pool. The staff spoke perfect English; one young man was a Chinese American college student spending his summer there. The concierge was incredibly helpful, arranging a car and driver for a trip to the Great Wall, with 12 hours notice! It was the only hotel on our trip that had wifi. Wangfujing is a great location, with lots of stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear guest, Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your end of trip away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the facility and location of hotel impressed you deeply. We also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay .Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#55 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#61 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#79 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM368 - RM626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing