We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Beijing Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #67 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our recent holiday in Beijing was wonderful, thanks in large part to our stay at the Crowne Plaza hotel. We were wary about visiting China especially since it is a non-English speaking nation. Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was instrumental in making our holiday enjoyable, firstly given its vantage location at Wangfujing Avenue, it was easy for us to get to the main shopping areas. It is also very close to the historic attractions of the forbidden city and the Tiananmen square. The staff at the hotel were also very warm and friendly, and could speak fluent English. The staff were very resourceful in helping us organise our daily activities while in Beijing. The rooms were very comfortable and the range of culinary options during the breakfast buffet make us feel very much at home while in Beijing. In short, I strongly recommend the Crowne Plaza hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Valued Customer

We are delighted to hear that your stay with Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing was a positive experience and thank you for acknowledging this on Trip Advisor. We appreciated your nice comments with regards to the hotel location and recommendations. Also, we have shared your comments with our team, recognizing their efforts. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Beijing in the not too distant future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 964 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

Definatly a great deal
excellent loation,almost at middle of everything you need from shops to restaurant or even walking
the rooms are big enough and they were very clean with excellent service
the loby looks great at night so dont get bothered if you get a loby view room as it is actualy nice
recomended for everyone

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear guest

We are very glad to see you had a good stay in our hotel and were satisfied with both our rooms and location. Your comments will encourage us to keep up the high service quality standards and encourage us to even aim higher. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kindly regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Reserved room at this hotel via internet while in Kathmandu. Total cost for three nights at internet rate was USD 321.19. The room was modern, bright and well-furnished. A refrigerator and coffeemaker enabled us to bring breakfast snacks from a nearby bakery supplemented by fruit and juice from Seven-Eleven, also nearby, in order to avoid pricey buffet breakfast. Location close to Wangfujing pedestrian mall provided shopping, eating and entertainment options including nightly line dance in Catholic church courtyard and meals in the seven-story mall, containing about twenty restaraunts, just to the left of the entry to the pedestrian only area.

Room Tip: Fifth floor room overlooking Wangfujing Street offered excellent view of street's activities.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marinite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear guest
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for the time to share your experience. We appreciated your positive comments with regards the hotel location and recommendations. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Crowne Plaza while vacationing in Beijing. The location of the hotel is really excellent for getting around the city. You can walk to the Forbidden City and Tianneman Square or easily take taxi. It is fun to experience the shopping and you can walk to subway lines in about 10 minutes. The subway that comes to this part of Beijing is crazy crowded and it is an experience in itself. I lived in NY and Washington, DC and thought I was used to crowded subways but this makes them look like nothing. Our room was very nice at the Crowne Plaza, the breakfast was good - not as good as some of the best I have had in China, but very good. The desk help and concierge were very friendly and helpful.

One thing worth passing on = the concierge last year recommended a dumpling restaurant a few bocks from the hotel. It is on the block right past the Catholic Church which is easy to find. (This year their were large dance groups of regular Beijingers doing line dancing at the church every night). On the side street right past the church about half way up the street is a little restaurant with the english name Dumplings listed. No one speaks english but they have a menu with english and they work to understand what you want. The dumplings both years have been wonderful. Some of the best we had in China and a nice way to experience some real Beijing food.

Room Tip: Make sure to insist on no smoking - there are floors that are no smoking
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for the time to share your experience. We've shared your appreciation with Concierge. Also, We are very glad to see you had a good memory in our Chinese traditional dumplings. Your comments will encourage us to keep the high standard service quality and even aim higher. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

this hotel turned out to be a brilliant location, on the edge of the mall and within 10 minute walk of Tianneman Square.
The hotel itself is old, the rooms are smallish with king bed, one lounge chair, a poking out desk that spears you in the hip and a business chair.
The bathroom is tiny, old and the plumbing wheezes and clunks away all night. The toilet needs encouragement to flush. The shower is over the bath with a shower curtain, no screen.
Robes are supplied.
Iron and ironing board are supplied
Tea and coffee making facilities.
We changed rooms after the first night because of the noisy gurgling plumbing but the room we changed to was just as bad.
The chair and desk arrangement is probably Ok for a business traveller but it's lousy for a couple as one is perched behind the immovable desk on the business chair while the other is in the lounge chair. It's all a bit of a squeeze to move around and from the lounge chair and business chair you can't see the TV. It can only be viewed when you are in bed.
The bed was reasonable.
Check in was an unpleasant experience. We had just come from Crowne Plaza at Yichang which had been dream service but here at Crowne Plaza Beijing, Ken Yang seemed to go out of his way to be unhelpful and arrogant. So it was a pleasant experience the next day to find that this was not the case with the rest of the staff who were all most helpful and friendly. Most had reasonable English and the concierge desk was helpful. Tour desk was useless so we arranged our own touring either walking or at an office down the road.
The restaurant was very spacious and comfortable with big windows looking out onto the passing parade. It was very inviting to stay longer for breakfast. The breakfast was good, plenty of choices except for the cereals which were all the sugary ones. Although happily one day there was delicious bircher muesli. Eggs were cooked to order as were other things.
It's a really good location. And the hotel may be Ok but we have come to expect a much higher standard in Crowne Plazas around the world so it was a disappointment to experience noisy old plumbing and tiny bathrooms.
So, all in all, the staff are excellent (except for Ken Yang) and the location is terrific. The rooms are adequate but the bathrooms leave a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: If you don't like being blasted by the piano being played in the courtyard each evening, make su...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbo72046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,929 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#82 of 6,531 in Beijing
513 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#59 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
#84 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM424 - RM693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing