We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for new arrivals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #69 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 31 October 2006

Perfect place to begin a holiday in China. Clean, comfy, modern rooms with huge beds, great bathrooms and good range of TV channels to combat the jet-lag boredom!

Excellent location, it's possible to walk to the Forbidden City & Tinanamen Square from here although it takes a while and journeys at night might be better taken in a taxi.

Although we didn't go into the main restaurant for dinner they seem to have a large selction of fresh seafood there in tanks and the breakfasts were very good. The Travel Centre in the hotel is very good, they will help with just about anything including calling ahead to other hotels for you but be aware that their day trips to the Great Wall etc will include a detour via a jade factory or a porcelain rip-off shop......

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank JoJoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,172 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2006

Really enjoyed out stay here. Booked based upon good reviews on tripadvisor and that you could get good advance room rates and was very satisfied. Comfortable, modern rooms at good prices (if booked in advance, at least). Would recommend to anyone else. Rooms very light, modern and very comfortable - just what you need when you get to a strange city after a long flight. Cable TV channels (HBO etc) are also welcome if you're awake at odds times with jet lag.

Location of hotel is fine. On on Beijing's main shopping strips which is perfectly pleasant. Takes a bit of a walk to get to main tourist sites but taxis are cheap and plentiful in Beijing so whilst walking is pleasant enough don't spend you're precious time walking just to get from A to B (or walk the first few times maybe and taxi from there!).

Only niggles were ridiculously expensive extras at hotel like laundry and internet which is expected to an extent at hotels like this but still comes as a suprise. I just don't think it's neccessary to trip to rip people off so much when they are in the door!

Would completely recommend staying here to anyone going to Beijing.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank m_james_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

After reading millions of review I decided to book crown plaza, beijing. Stayed at the club floor. We got a smoking floor, but didn't even know until our last day. Couldn't smell any smoke. Stayed nights. Beds were comfortable. Not many hotels in China has two double beds. This place did! Our attendants on our floor were very helpful. It's nice to have good service. We didn't have to deal with anyone at the lobby front desk. Everything was done on our floor. I highly recommend this place. It felt a bit like home after being abroad for a long long time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank jtuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights recently with my wife and was very happy with the hotel.

First of all, its important to note that this hotel seems to have recently undergone a complete rennovation, so any past reviews about the hotel aging are no longer relevant in my opinion.

Our room was a standard king room and was beautifully appointed. The room was a fair size, very comfortable bed and it had a 30" or so widescreen LCD TV. It also had very affordable broadband internet (less than $10 per day). The bathroom was trully beautiful, had seperate shower and bath and had the best shower head I have ever had in any hotel, period.

One thing to note. We had rooms on the outside, but there are also rooms with windows onto the lobby atrium. This might bother some people so I recommend they ask for an outside room.

The hotel bar was very nice, and we got a complimentary drink on arrival, but we didn't eat in any of the hotel's restaurants.

The Hotel health club, includes indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna (wet and dry) and some gym equipment I didn't use. They also offer various kinds of massage in your room or in their special massage rooms. My wife and I both had European oil massage which was wonderful, the masseuse was extremely talented.

The hotel's location is probably its best feature of all. Its walking distance from Tiannenmen Square and the Forbidden city (be warned that the Forbidden City is undergoing extensive rennovations for the 2008 Olympics) and for shopping its located right on Wangfujing which is one of the main shopping streets in Beijing with a number of excellent malls and specialty shops. Its also where the night food market is and Snack Street.

After 2 nights we transferred to the China World Hotel since I had 3 nights vouchers for there through my frequent flyer program, but I have to say the Crowne Plaza was probably our favorite of the 2 excellent hotels since it had an atmosphere of being more friendly and intimate. The Concierge were especially helpful in comparison.

The Crowne Plaza gets my warmest recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

This hotel would be hard to beat for its location, price and service. It is based at the north end of Wangfujing where all of the main shops are. Tiannamen Square, Forbidden City and the Night Food market are within 15 minutes walk or a 30 RMB taxi ride. The service was impecable, the food excellent and the atrium is a lovely area for afternoon chinese tea which is beautifully served. The bar is also quite hip and has a happy hour each day. On leaving the hotel, beware of chinese students wanting to talk to you. They are very friendly, however they will all try to goad you to a chinese caligraphy exhibition!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank docfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#29 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,959 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,673 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,506 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#61 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#68 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#79 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM380 - RM630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing