We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt out of place and I LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #47 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2013

What I mean is this is the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed at. I couldn't believe I actually picked it out. I decided to pretend that I belong there. The hotel staff was beyond helpful. When we arrived the bellboy showed us all the interesting switches and buttons in the room to operate things like the curtains and TV in the bathroom. Crazy fun.

Then we realized none of our electrical plugs worked in Beijing. A call to the desk had someone delivering us plugs to borrow for our stay. NICE!

As with any trip we were sight seeing and didn't spend a lot of time in the room. This was a room that made one want to spend at least a day lounging around. Big soft bed, reading lamps for the bed, luxurious bathtub, TV with an English speaking movie channel (sorry after 2 weeks in Hong Kong I was missing TV), big desk for your laptop and finishing up those last postcards to mail home.

In the price of the room was breakfast at their restaurant. I was expecting the usual small yet adequate affair and was floored by the beauty of this breakfast. Beauty is the correct word. I'll have to review it on the restaurant site. Again plan some time to just sit and enjoy a luxurious breakfast with French pressed coffee and food from every cuisine you can imagine. Yes, for breakfast. Again after 2 weeks with rich Hong Kong food I enjoyed the simplicity of the yogurt bar with all the healthy toppings I'd want from the cereal and fruit world.

A week comfortably spent seeing the sites of Beijing.

Room Tip: We were told we wanted a big window. Boy was it an impressive site of Beijing day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qoekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric B, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Qoekc,
Very happy to read your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilites and service.
The building you mentioned in picture is China Central Television head office. The shape is quite special:).
All Sofitel Wanda Beijing Ambassadors wish you a Magnifique Snake Chinese Year!
Hope you can visit us again in the future.
Regards,
Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 610 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Modern, rich, and comfortable fit-out and design from the spacious lobby bar to the spacious rooms. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in and I loved the bathroom was pure indulgence. Didn't get to use the pool or gym but I hear they're excellent, too. Breakfast buffet has everything you could imagine and as you'd expect from a French hotel, the croissants and cheese were amazing! L'Occitane amenities in the room. Silk markets are just down the street for those who like to shop. Too bad it was so cold out and I had no free time (work trip).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric B, PA to General Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Ikiley,
Very happy to read your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am very glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilites and service.
Hope next time you could try our pool and gym as well as shopping as it's becoming warmer and warmer in Beijing.
Chinese New Year is approaching. All Sofitel Wanda Beijing Ambassadors wish you a Magnifique Snake Chinese Year!
Regards,
Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Our check-in at reservation was very quick. Their main foyer area was huge and on the wall are Swarovski-crystal peony flowers worth $2million! Mind boggling!

We had a beautiful room. Very tastefully done and the king-size bed was almost a "king, king-size" bed. It was that large we almost got lost in it :)

Didn't want for anything in the room. The shower had a glass wall that separated it from the bedroom which was very different. It also had a large bathtub.

In the bathroom there was a sign “Whilst our tap water is purified it is not suitable for drinking. Complimentary bottled drinking water is available in your room and on request.” I only note this for future travellers to Beijing - which means that you can’t clean your teeth using the water, you need to use the bottled water for everything. After awhile we found it "a habit".

Free Internet in the rooms was really useful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Brissy2,
Happy to read your comment on Tripadvisor.
Wishing you a Magnifique Snake Chinese Year!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

After writing a severe review about my bad experience at Sofitel Chengdu, it would have been unfair not to tell how much I enjoyed my four nights stay at Sofitel Wanda Beijing. The check-in is fast, the staff is competent and helpful. Thanks to the concierge for his useful pieces of advice to reach in time the railways station.
My room was big, nice and comfortable.
There are several restaurants in the hotel but I experienced only the VIC restaurant which has a excellent buffet. High quality breakfast in the same place. Service discreet and attentive.
Perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Michel F,
Merci for your comment on Tripadvisor.
I will share with all Ambassadors and particularly Concierge.
I am sorry to read that your experience in Chengdu did not meet your expectations. Be assured I will get in touch with my Colleagues.
Life is Magnifique!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have been a returning customer at this Sofitel in BJ. I am traveling a lot for business and feel that this hotel is one of the best I am being to. The hotel is very very nice. Very large room, comfortable. Nice gym, great pool and friendly staff though sometime a little difficult de be understood in English. I clearly recommend for business stay or even family stay as not too far for the forbidden city either by subway (line 1 is very close) or taxi. Price is very competitive for the level of comfort / service you will get.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedric B, Manager at Sofitel Wanda Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear bebs59,
A real "plaisir" to read your comment on Tripadvisor. MERCI!
All Sofitel Wanda Beijing Ambassadors wish you a Magnifique Year 2013!
Cedric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#13 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,543 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#14 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,900 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Conrad Beijing
Conrad Beijing
#33 of 6,568 in Beijing
572 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Address: Tower C Wanda Plaza-No.93 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#43 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#117 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM539 - RM956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing