We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 6,530 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for nearly a week with my parents in their 'Family' room. The staff would bend over backward to help you with anything you needed, and they were always incredibly friendly while doing it. The hallways and rooms are absolutely charming - traditional decorations and furniture mixed with more modern-ish bathrooms. Breakfast was Chinese and Western mixed - great!

Our room: Having been staying in apartments for the other parts of our trip, the room seemed initially small, but was great for a hotel room accomodating three people. The canopy bed my parents shared was not their favorite, as they are used to larger, open beds. Having two sides with walls bothered them. My bed was comfortable, although we also had to use it for seating if we were in the room. The decorations are beautiful and comfortable. Seating in the room is not super comfortable, but we were fine. It would be better in warmer weather, when you could enjoy their courtyard. We were stuck indoors with our winter visit. Our room was always plenty warm (even hot at times), and we didn't even turn on the blower heater, just left it with the radiators.

The staff: Utterly fantastic! Thanks to all of them for their help, advice, and smiles, jokes, and questions welcoming us 'home' each day! They did things promptly, but were always patient with us. They've got a great group of people working there.

The location: A little farther from things than I thought it would be, but really a good location. The Dongsi subway station is nearby and there are a few sights within 20-30 minutes of walking. Since it is in the 'hutong' area, it can also be worth longer walks to some other things to see. Because of massive amounts of luggage we set up a driver to and from the airport, so he didn't have a problem getting us there (plus, he spoke English). I could see getting taxis to find it if you don't speak Mandarin could be difficult.

Chinese New Year warning: If you go during Chinese New Year, DO NOT EXPECT TO SLEEP! The hotel was wonderful, but we were all sleep-deprived after a week of seemingly non-stop fireworks in the neighborhood. The fireworks are ALL OVER Beijing then, but with the setting of the courtyard sleep was especially difficult to block them out (plus, the cats that live around the courtyard somewhere were miserable and let us all know it after most of the firework outbursts).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hope42morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
There are newer reviews for Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,170 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I arrived on foot from Dongsi Metro Station (line 5) as I had only a light wheelie suitcase. 5 minute walk to the hotel, (walk north then take 4th alleyway to the east - it was labelled in pinyin).

Good: Friendly staff who speak English, upgraded to larger room as it was quiet. Charmingly decorated rooms, clean, free internet on room computer. Very good location if you're going around by metro.

Bad: Radiator was not enough for a Beijing December and the door/window provided no insulation. Turned the A/C unit up and that was ok.

This only reflects one night's stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I loved my 3 nights at the Double Happiness hotel, it was such a great change from staying at the fancy Western style hotels in Chongqing and Chengdu. I didn't want to leave! One word of advice - make sure you have the hotel address/name written in Chinese when you land in Beijing... I only had it written in English and had a hard time getting a cab driver to understand where I was going. The staff at Double Happiness were very nice and helpful and the pub was super cute. Subways were easy to navigate and made me feel like I had a better sense of the city rather than taking taxis everywhere. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LookKidsTheresBigBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed for 4 nights just before the Lunar New Year. The hotel is located in older Beijing and has a great atmosphere. The rooms were extremely clean, and very well appointed. The access to the hotel is a narrow alley-way (like a Hutang) and the hotel has a modest entryway. The hotel is set up where all the rooms open up to a two story courtyard. The staff spoke very clear English and were extremely helpful with laundry, restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. The beds were very comfortable, flat screen TVs, in room computers and wireless, tea service, great free hot breakfast (lots of selections)...all around GREAT value. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel when I return to Beijing!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

As mentioned in all the other posts, the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are unique and comfortable and the staff very friendly. Even with all these qualities, I am still hesitant to recommend to other travelers.

My flight arrived very late on Friday night, well past midnight, and I could tell at the airport that the taxi driver had no idea where the hotel was, even though I should him the chinese map provided on the website. He pulled over and called the hotel for over 20 minutes and it was still difficult to find. Once I knew where it was during daylight, I was able to navigate other taxi drivers with sign language to avoid the same confusion.

I was in Beijiing for less than 48 hours and felt like I was spending quite a bit of time traveling between different sites and the hotel, it's either a 20-30 minute walk to the closets location or the same time on the subway.

I did enjoy walking around a different neighborhood I would not have seen otherwise, but I think if you are in town for just a few nights, it is probably better to stay someplace a bit more central.

There was a lovely courtyard (as in the name) and my room had a private deck, both of which would probably be great in the summer. If you have a week to stay in Beijing, then this place is great, but otherwise, I would suggest someplace else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank abenjamin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,481 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,530 in Beijing
2,933 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,530 in Beijing
769 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#53 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: RM420 - RM1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing